Customer Reviews for

R Is For Ricochet

Average Rating 4
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I enjoyed "R"

I started with "A" and am up to "R". I will be ordering the next couple of books for my nook soon. I look forward to each book as if I was catching up with an old friend. I enjoy Kinsey's adventures, issues, and spirit. I am upset that the alphabet has so few letters le...
I started with "A" and am up to "R". I will be ordering the next couple of books for my nook soon. I look forward to each book as if I was catching up with an old friend. I enjoy Kinsey's adventures, issues, and spirit. I am upset that the alphabet has so few letters left. I have enjoyed the ones I have read and look forward to the ones that I haven't. Thank you, Sue Grafton, for this series.

posted by justmeJW on September 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wearing Out?

I have read all the Kinsey Millhone mysteries and eagerly await each new one. However, I was very disappointed with the 'R' of the series. Kinsey does so many stupid things that it is unbelievable. What happened to the tough Kinsey? She comes across here as naive an...
I have read all the Kinsey Millhone mysteries and eagerly await each new one. However, I was very disappointed with the 'R' of the series. Kinsey does so many stupid things that it is unbelievable. What happened to the tough Kinsey? She comes across here as naive and just dumb. The ending is a bit foggy as well. I do hope Grafton gets back on track with 'S'.

posted by Anonymous on April 6, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2007

    Not My Favorite

    I'm a big Sue fan and this was the only alphabet book I had missed. It was rambling I have to agree with the other reviewers. I am anxiously awaiting 'T'. It started out great though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2005

    R is for rambling

    I am a big fan of Sue Grafton and could not wait to read 'R'. However, I was disappointed because I felt the story dragged on a bit. Also, I hated her relationship with Chaney. I hope they break up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2004

    Losing steam

    R is for Ricochet wasn't as good as I expected. The story seemed too forced at times and I'm not sure I will be getting S.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2007

    Not bad

    I love Kinsey Milhoune. I could be friends with this no nonscense character with a knack for trouble. This one was a bit slow moving to me. Maybe because it was a white collar crime rather than the usual murder. Focus wasn't really on Kinsey either which is new.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2005

    Not Grafton's best work...

    Let me preface by saying I love the Kinsey Millhone series. I actually started with 'L is for Lawless,' which was in the donated book library at my former job. I read it at lunchtime in about 3 days and promptly went out to buy letters A through F, then tore through the rest of the series. Kinsey is one of my favorite female characters of all time (tough, smart, independent, no kids). So it disappointed me a little to love every single one of Grafton's novels until this one. I felt it didn't have as much action or snappy little plot twists as previous novels, and I wasn't very interested in the Reba plotline with her ex-boyfriend the kingpin, which seemed like it was stretched to become more than it was to fill up pages and create a sense of mystery and action. The only mystery to me was why Kinsey was even bothering with this person. Kinsey allowed herself to be pushed around by the Reba character, by Henry's brother, even by that woman who was 'caring for' Reba's father (Lucinda? or something). The Kinsey I knew had a lot more spunk, and I expected a little more from her. And maybe I'm paranoid, but I kept expecting the relationship with Cheney Phillips to blow up in her face (sorry Kinsey). I think she deserves a good man, but where I liked Robert Dietz and genuinely wanted them to get it on and get along, I was wary of Cheney's motives and thought his sudden burning desire for her hit a slight false note. And she should know better than to get involved with: 1) a cop 2) a pretty boy with the face of a Greek god. The only pretty men in her life have screwed her over royal, and being married to a cop didn't work before. I guess I'd just rather see her with someone more rough around the edges. Overall, the book was okay, definitely not Grafton's best Millhone novel. Every one I've read thus far I've wanted to read again, but 'R' might collect dust for a little while. My mom, who I turned onto Grafton, agreed with me. She said it seemed to drag on, too. And the double-double cross at the end (no spoilers, I promise)? Also hit a false note with me. Read it and you might agree with me. It's worth reading this one just to catch up with where Kinsey is at this point in her life and for the few high points, but I'm hoping 'S is for Silence' is a big improvement over this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2004

    Not memorable

    I love Sue Grafton, however I read this book about 4 weeks ago, and I can't even remember what it is about. I tend to get stuck that she is writing the book back in the 80's. She needs to move into the current century.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2004

    R is for mediocRe

    I hate to say 'mediocre' about anything Sue Grafton writes because she is one of my all time favorite writers, but RICOCHET ricochets, going into territory Grafton isn't the strongest in handling, I guess. Kinsey Millhone just doesn't seem herself, not all the time anyway. But if you love the alphabet series, you won't regret reading this one. It's still good. It's just not great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2004

    Fun, easy -- every great series has a slow point

    Every series has a couple of books that sort of treadwater, and this is one of them. Not as crisp or juicy as the best of them, it still makes for a pleasant way to pass the time. Certainly worth reading if you're a long time fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1