Customer Reviews for

R Is For Ricochet

Average Rating 4
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I enjoyed "R"

I started with "A" and am up to "R". I will be ordering the next couple of books for my nook soon. I look forward to each book as if I was catching up with an old friend. I enjoy Kinsey's adventures, issues, and spirit. I am upset that the alphabet has so few letters le...
I started with "A" and am up to "R". I will be ordering the next couple of books for my nook soon. I look forward to each book as if I was catching up with an old friend. I enjoy Kinsey's adventures, issues, and spirit. I am upset that the alphabet has so few letters left. I have enjoyed the ones I have read and look forward to the ones that I haven't. Thank you, Sue Grafton, for this series.

posted by justmeJW on September 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wearing Out?

I have read all the Kinsey Millhone mysteries and eagerly await each new one. However, I was very disappointed with the 'R' of the series. Kinsey does so many stupid things that it is unbelievable. What happened to the tough Kinsey? She comes across here as naive an...
I have read all the Kinsey Millhone mysteries and eagerly await each new one. However, I was very disappointed with the 'R' of the series. Kinsey does so many stupid things that it is unbelievable. What happened to the tough Kinsey? She comes across here as naive and just dumb. The ending is a bit foggy as well. I do hope Grafton gets back on track with 'S'.

posted by Anonymous on April 6, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    I enjoyed "R"

    I started with "A" and am up to "R". I will be ordering the next couple of books for my nook soon. I look forward to each book as if I was catching up with an old friend. I enjoy Kinsey's adventures, issues, and spirit. I am upset that the alphabet has so few letters left. I have enjoyed the ones I have read and look forward to the ones that I haven't. Thank you, Sue Grafton, for this series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    R is for Reba

    Reba Lafferty is one of my favorite 'criminals' so far in the Kinsey series. Although there are times you want to figuratively wring her neck, she is such a fun sidekick that you forgive her.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2006

    Loved it, loved it, loved it!!!

    Two days ago I was whining re Q is for Quarry and Cheney's 'marriage'. WOW I wish I had waited to read R is for Ricochet. I would have liked to see Kinsey kick Reba's butt from here to the moon throughout the entire book, which made the ending very satisfying. And Cheney Phillips is my idea of a sexy leading man. Good Lord, their interaction took my breath away. I dearly hope this guy is the one for Kinsey. He is good enough for her and she is definately deserving of this smart, sweet, endearing hunk. I read this in under 24 hours, a record for me with a Grafton novel. So, if anyone is keeping record, I vote for a Kinsey/Cheney ride into the happiness sunset by the end of this series. I have become a very devoted fan of Ms. Grafton and Kinsey Millhone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2005

    ANOTHER GRAFTON GREAT

    I think this is the best LETTER yet! I've read everything...A-R...and they just keep getting better. Grafton has done a superb job of devloping Kinsey into a believable and likeable character. I don't know what I'll do after I finish 'Z is for...?'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2004

    A Great Read

    This is my first Kinsay Millhone book and I couldn't of been more impressed. I loved the personalities and the writing. A great book and it does deserve the current slot, #1 New York Times bestseller.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    RedWing

    He paded in. "Rasperstar?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    To Rasperstar

    Mde I join? - Featherpelt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Midnightfang

    Id like to be deputy. I am a female.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Monica

    Heyo. I is at BN rite now. Idk wen Mom will come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Kinsey rocks

    I have loved these books...can't wait to read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Asheleys tcg training room.

    Where she battles against computer and herslef to get better at tcg. How do you battle with yourself? Simple. Set up 2 decks. 1 for you and another across from you. Battle against the deck across from you and dont ke yourself win.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    Raley

    Im here....srry bout tht.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2006

    Darker Sunlight. Expanded Class & Syntax. Qtr Pounders Stable

    What I enjoy most about Grafton¿s signature lead in is her suave philosophical tidbits about the truly big issues in life. In this case Kinsey was narrating her usual, a classic detective novel, neon-light soliloquy, about most of us never really learning anything to the point of making life, habit, or behavior changes. She¿s moaning the moan about the backfire guarantee of most romantic choices people repeatedly make, and about her twice fried and burned, marital non-status. Easily shifting beyond the intro blurbs, riding w/Kinsey in her V-Bug to the scene of her new client¿s abode, I looked around the mansion and studied Nord Lafferty, the debilitated, elderly rich man hiring kinsey. I read through the enlightenment that he wanted Kinsey to pick up, at a local prison, his only daughter, Reba, who was being released. After listening to the warning from the client that his daughter was rebellious and difficult to deal with, and his explanation that he had been recommended to Kinsey by one of the retired cops who had cancer (with whom Millhone had worked with in ¿Q¿), I closed the covers of the book, wide-eyed, feeling slightly depressed and tremendously impressed. Recalling the scene I had just read, I wondered why it felt so quietly angry and lacking in light (even though those scenes around meeting Nord took place during a bright, hot, sunny California day, the emotional temp felt like death on a holiday). I would no longer feel condensed when Kinsey stepped into her cute, miniature, remodeled apartment, next to her landlord (a well-maintained, highly active man in his 80's). Her environment had expanded, but the expansion was (partly) into a wider, dark, frigid, hostile, degenerating world. I had noticed something else in those early scenes, beyond the subtle ¿space expansion¿ of setting and plot Grafton had conjured. I noticed that the author¿s syntax had kicked up several notches in painting the crisp clarity of a view of the world only Grafton could create. Her wordsmith ability had always been gutsy and grand. Now it was that, impregnated with what felt like an underlying, edgy realism, which worked into Sue¿s plot/scene-complexity as an addicting spice upgrade. Of course, Grafton¿s humor was still there, along with the warm scenes from her personal life around Henry & siblings, Rosie, and Cheney. AND, the various romances wove perfectly, flickering bright/dark/bright, into the thematic structure, applied with Sue¿s signature genius carried through the last page and lingering.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2005

    You go girl!!

    I love Sue Grafton and can not wait until S is published. So glad to see Kinsey in a relationship, it's about time she finds love. I for one wish Kinsey happiness. She was a little off character in R, but still a stong gal none the less!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2004

    More Cheers For Kinsey!

    I must say I was disappointed in some of the 'professional' reviews. Kinsey has become a 3+ dimensional character, as has her home town and friends and neighbors. In the latest book, not only is it a good story for the sake of the story, but a good story about life and how things are not always what they seem, and how despite whoever, or whatever you are, where you come from, it is all about looking for golden nuggets, and accepting them. Life is to be enjoyed, laughed at, poked fun at, and when appropriate, taken seriously. Thanks for the Alphabet Series, the sheer enjoyment, and things ponder. I am looking forward to the next book! I have all the books, A-R, in my home library-and re-read them frequently.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2004

    Super book

    Really enjoyed R is for Ricochet. Enjoyed it much more than Q. Looking forward to seeing where Kinsey goes with the romance.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2004

    JUST ANOTHER NY TIMES BESTSELLER?

    Alright, I've been on a mission (much like A.J. Jacobs with his Brittanica) to read every book in the NY Times Bestsellers list to see if any of them come up to par with my all time favorite book, Toilet: The Novel by Michael Szymczyk. Well, I'll be honest, I liked the da vinci code better than this one, but, overall, this was a great book, and despite what some of the other reviewers have said, I would definitely recommend picking it up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2004

    R Rocks!

    Sue's books have always gotten better with each book and R is no exception. It is wonderful, a very hard to put down book. Another winner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2004

    S G stands for Superb and Great

    Santa Teresa private detective Kinsey Millhone is hired by wealthy Nord Lafferty to pick up his daughter at the California Institute for Women and get her through the first few days of freedom. Out on parole, Reba takes to Kinsey and the two women go out to dinner together when her former boss Alan ¿Beck¿ Beckwith arrives at the restaurant. He invites himself to have a drink with the two women and Kinsey knows she has been set up by a pro.<P> She pretends to leave but watches them making love in the back seat of Beck¿s car. Kinsey does not understand this tryst because he is the person Reba embezzled the funds from and never made restitution. Reba believes that she and Beck are going to run away together but the Feds are closing in on him for money laundering. They have pictures of Beck in bed with her boss¿s friend and regardless of the consequences, Reba is determined to get even with him but the authorities want Reba to help them their way . Kinsey wants to stop her before she goes too far and is put back in prison but can she get through to the woman she has come to care about in time.<P> Readers are not going to believe what happens to Kinsey in R IS FOR RICOCHET. She becomes involved with a man and it looks like the relationship might last at least one more book. Even though Reba breaks the law and the rules set down by her parole officer, readers, like Kinsey, cannot help but care for the vulnerable waif with steel for a spine. Once again, this author shows that S G stands for Superb and Great.<P> Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2