BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

RENT [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack]

Average Rating 4.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This Soundtrack Is GREAT!

    The music in this CD is amazing. I love the music of Rent and I recommend it to a mature audience, but anyone who love musicals and just a good story. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    rent soundtrack

    this is amazing i love ths movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Musical I've Seen In Years!

    Rent is one of the best movie ever made. It has true character. It has a great cast but also has a great story line. It is about poor people who are living day to say with HIV and Aids. It taught poeple to apperciate life. Whatever is wrong with your life there is probably someone out there who has a worst life. So it was truly a great movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    EXCILENT MOVIE/SOUNDTRACK!!!!!!

    RENT was such an amazingly good heartbreaking story of true friendship and love. I would strongly recomend having parental supervision while watching RENT because this movie is rather inappropriate for anyone under 13.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fantastic

    This is a very well put together musical. it is very good. the singing is amazing. i wouldnt be suprised that these actors and actrsesses go far. they have very good voices!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Rent

    The soundtrack is really awesome. I'm a really big fan of Rent. The music is awesome. I really enjoy listening to it. I sing to it all the time and love acting out the parts and what not. It's cool and fun and great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Absolutely fabulous!

    This soundtrack has got to be my favorite - and I'm a true blue junkie when it comes to musicals. The original Broadway cast is outstanding. The songs have a life all their own. Rosario Dawson's voice is the cherry atop the sunday - strong and riveting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing!

    This soundtrack is AMAZING! i love it soo much more than the OBC its more emotional and the original members (idina, adam, anthony, etc.) bring more richness into there roles and emotion into their song. I think that Tracie and Rosario were amazing replacements for daphne and fredi! I really recommend both the movie soundtrack and the OBC soundtrack they are both AMAZING!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    loved it

    I liked it alot. its not the same as the original, but then neither is the movie - its supposed to be a little different. a worthy choice :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Clearer and More advanced

    While many people are very used to the Original Broadway Cast, and even partial to it, I feel that this album is better. All of the vocalists have improved a great deal, except Anthony Rapp who is still as good and lovable as ever. The new Joanne and Mimi are fantastic, much better then the original ones. The artists also didn't get stuck into their old habits, but took the liberty to change things. There are new harmonies that make the ears tingle, especially the ones between Adam Pascal and Rosario Dawson. The Limited edition CD covers also make them quite enjoyable to collect. My friends and I are trying to hunt down all of them, although we're having quite a hard time finding Mark and Roger.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Stunned!

    I was floored by how amazing this Soundtrack sound. I was worried it wouldn't measure up to the OBC. Now, I think I might say that I like this one even better. The newcomers were just as good as the people they replaced, and the ones from the OBC sound even better, especially Anthony Rapp and Idina Menzial. I loved every second of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AMAZING!!!!

    In going to see RENT, I had no idea what to expect. Needless to say I was pretty blown away by it all, and it is now one of my favorite movies, if not my favorite. The music is a reflection of this and I prefer it to the OBC, as I think it is richer and sang with more emotion. Examples of this are found in song like, "One Song Glory", "Rent", and "I Should Tell You". I thought Roger was AMAZING!!! As was Angel, and Mimi too. This is one of my favorite CDs, and I listen to it all the time!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Rent Rules!

    This story is about hypocracy and intolerance of some and love for those who "fit" into the molds we make. One of the characters is rebuffed by a homeless person in the same way that he later rebuffs a job offer. The group becomes intolerant of one of it's own who persues his dream and instead of working together to help the homeless the two groups fight and argue. It's a story about every person on the planet and while the movie is different then the play they are both terrific.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    PRETTY CLOSE

    Alright I will say it is not as good as the obc but it is still very close. One thing I like better is Rosario Dawson(Mimi) and Traci Thoms (Joanne). Rosario's voice much more on key and sounds way more like a club dancer would sound. Traci sounds and looks much more the the part of a lawer. The part I did not like was Rodger he tried to hard to sound different from his original part. He sounded just fine in the OBC he should have stayed the same. Every one else sounds just fine particuraly Mark and Maureen. I did love this CD and would recomend to any one who liked the OBC. favorite songs: Seasons of love A & B, Rent, You'll see, Today 4 U, Llight my candles, Tango: maureen, Out Tonight, Another day, over the moon, La vie Boheme A & B, Take me or leave me, and What you own

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Viva La Vie Boheme

    This album deffinetly brings a new light to the musical Rent! This album does bring new musical sounds to the songs, however I believe this album brings more acting within the songs than the original. Keep in mind that when the original cast had begun they were still piecing things together due to dear Larson's death without finishing the story. By now the story has been developed and will be different in some way. I would definetly recommend this CD to everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Same but Different...LOVE it!

    Of course it's slightly different than the Broadway version, but it's fantastic. The music seems more current..fuller. I like having 2 versions of the same musical to choose from. And I think, 10 years later, you can hear the maturity and confidence in the performances of those cast members reprising their roles - in particular, Anthony Rapp, Idina Menzel, Jesse L. Martin and Adam Pascal. Again...LOVE IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing!

    My sister and I went to see the movie as soon as it came out. The music was great and we had to get the CD as soon as possible! Cd is great and the performances couldnt have been better...hope everyone has a chance to own such a wonderfu Cd...its a masterpiece!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AWESOME!

    i never thought i would like rent but i was so wrong! i love everything about the movie and the soundtrack!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Unbelievably Great!

    I'm not sure that the other reviewer's listened to the same album I did. Sure the Original Broadway Soundtrack is great, but this is too! This recording is just as powerful and moving. No one should expect a 100% match to the original cast album, heck, it's been a few years. Some of the changes are improvements to the original. Although I was skeptical of Rosario Dawson at first, she immediately won me over. This album is a perfect 10. I can't wait for the movie to be released.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    hum ho

    Ok, this is more of a comment towards the other commenters. This isnt the OBC. Obviously, these wonderful people arent going to sing everything the same because it has been how many years since the original recording? You cant judge any of the new in comparison to the old, so stop trying. Its just personal preference, and neither of them suck or whatnot. Theyre all amazing. Now, on to the real review! I love this soundtrack. Dare i say that i love it more then the OBC? I think I do dare... Granted i miss angel's part in "you'll see" but all in all, ive grown fond of the less bitter and angry roger, and the new mature sounding mimi. Musically it is fantastic, each song has so much more depth and emotion now, and its definitely going to be more appealing to a newer/younger generation of Rentheads :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2