Customer Reviews for

The Rabbit Factory (Lomax and Biggs Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Who says size doesn't matter - a must read!!!

I gave The Rabbit Factory my highest compliment I turned off a Red Sox game to read. There are a few must-have mysteries on my reading list ¿ John Sandford's Lucas Davenport series, Jeffrey Deaver's Lincoln Rhyme series, Ridley Pearson's Lou Boldt series. Lomax and B...
I gave The Rabbit Factory my highest compliment I turned off a Red Sox game to read. There are a few must-have mysteries on my reading list ¿ John Sandford's Lucas Davenport series, Jeffrey Deaver's Lincoln Rhyme series, Ridley Pearson's Lou Boldt series. Lomax and Biggs are great, and I'm looking forward to their next case. There's a new must-have on my list: the next Marshall Karp book.

posted by Anonymous on May 23, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wish I hadn't bought it.

Wish someone had mentioned the rabbit was a pedophile. Sorry I wasted my money. Ended up deleting the book after a few pages.

posted by 2772427 on December 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2006

    Who says size doesn't matter - a must read!!!

    I gave The Rabbit Factory my highest compliment I turned off a Red Sox game to read. There are a few must-have mysteries on my reading list ¿ John Sandford's Lucas Davenport series, Jeffrey Deaver's Lincoln Rhyme series, Ridley Pearson's Lou Boldt series. Lomax and Biggs are great, and I'm looking forward to their next case. There's a new must-have on my list: the next Marshall Karp book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Read This Book

    Perfect blend of mystery and humor with fantastic characters. Read this book and you will not be disappointed. Then go out and buy Blood Thirsty. I am anxiously awaiting Marshall Karp's next Lomax & Biggs case!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Great Read!!!

    I loved this book! I bought it one day and never thought too much about it, until I picked it up one day last week and couldn't put it down. I highly reccomend this book to anyone who likes murder mysteries!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2007

    A reviewer

    As a kid of the 1950s,I'd look forward to the Saturday morning westerns and serials-Not since then have I looked forward to such a great story--Written with sensitivity to make you laugh and cry and yearn for more--The saddest part of this book was that it ended--the shortest 600 pages I've ever read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2007

    So Good, You Should Buy the Hardcover Edition

    This book is so good, you should buy the hardcover edition. Stop reading this review and order it. And get his second one, Blood Thirsty, too. You'll never regret it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2007

    Excellent

    This was an excellent book. I took it with me for my week long trip scuba diving in Key Largo. Needless to say I wasn't sure which I wanted to do more, read or scuba dive. An excellent book that you don't want to put down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2006

    Amazing!

    This book was fantastic. An addictive novel that entertains until the last page. It's the perfect mix of a murder mystery and a comedy. How this book hasn't become a permanent fixture on the bestseller list is a mystery to me.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2006

    When this many pages isn't enough

    Watch out James Patterson. You coached him well. At the same time both exciting and very funny, twisting and turning to the end. What a breath of fresh air. Let's hope we see more!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2006

    Excellent book

    I was a little overwhelmed by the number of pages in this book. Once I started reading, I could not put it down. I finished it in three days. Some parts made me laugh out loud. Wonderful author!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2006

    Great Mystery from a New Author

    I am just over 400 pages into this new novel, but I am going to quickly write this and get back to it. All I can say is that it is one of those books that makes you wake up at 3AM because you just have to find out what happens next! I am thoroughly enjoying this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2006

    You won't be able to put this one down. Nor should you

    I lost a day and a half of a lovely holiday weekend, glued to the sofa reading this novel. A page-turner, if I've ever read one. There are a host of delightful characters: everyone who shows up on the scene -- no matter how briefly -- is deftly and amusingly drawn. The plot keeps turning: everytime I thought I knew where it was going, I didn't. As enjoyable as it is intriguing and suspenseful. A great read summer read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2006

    Leaning forward in my seat while falling down laughing

    A friend sent me Rabbit Factory. Provocative, tantalizing and laugh out loud funny are words that rarely go together but they do for this book. Every time Karp softens you up with a laugh he does a quick shuffle and slips in a plot twist that makes you wonder how he can be so deft. My family (wife and two teens) are negotiating for who gets to read it next. It's that rare gem - devilishly clever, irresistibly funny and satisfyingly emotional.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2006

    exciting and witty

    Marshall Karp has written a clever,tongue in cheek detective story which introduces Lomax and Biggs, the wittiest detective team found in any novel. The story is fast-paced and fun I couldn't put it down until I finished.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Wish I hadn't bought it.

    Wish someone had mentioned the rabbit was a pedophile. Sorry I wasted my money. Ended up deleting the book after a few pages.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2006

    My favorite authors, move over.

    I was a bit daunted by 600 pages, but not to worry, each one was worth the time. If you like the humor of Mash, this is your book. Eagerly waiting for the next volume.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2006

    i look forward to this rabbit writer reproducing

    If you're averse to detective novels and 'beach read' sounds a little too Gidget-y for your taste, this is a book for you. Lomax and Biggs are indeed seasoned detectives. And The Rabbit Factory is far from The Brothers Karamazov. But Marshall Karp has woven together a plot which speaks fluently a mutt dialect that's equal parts Elmore Leonard and Frank McCourt (just wait for that last chapter, folks). Hard-nosed with a sharp humor and a soft heart, this book is difficult to punch holes in. Let's just hope Det. Karp hasn't turned in his gun and badge just yet.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2006

    Great new author

    I just finished Marshall Karp's new novel, 'The Rabbit Factory'. It was one of the funniest and best books I've ever read. The only problem was, even at 600 pages, it wasn't long enough. I will anxiously await his next Lomax and Biggs novel. I hope he writes fast and gets it on the shelves soon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2006

    Good old fashion detective story

    This book is a page turner. I was so engrossed in the story that I forgot about myself for a while. This would be a great summer read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2006

    The Rabbit Factory - A Factory for Laughs and Suspense

    Marshall Karp's new novel is funny, complex, mischievous, playful, sad and over 600 pages of just plain fun. A brilliantly constructed whodunit that makes you want many more murders, so the characters continue to entertain and fascinate us. Let's hope that this Rabbit multiplies, so that this writer produces many more opportunities for us to spend time with his detectives. Buy it. Read it. Enjoy it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2006

    Dead Bunny: Hilarious New Novel

    Marshall Karp's The Rabbit Factory is a wonderful, witty new thriller. Biggs and Lomax are the best pair since Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid. This is a riveting yet tender book, with enough suspense and wry humor to keep you going right to the end. Great Father's Day gift!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4