Customer Reviews for

Rabid: A Cultural History of the World's Most Diabolical Virus

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Truly fascinating subject approached simultaneously from a scien

Truly fascinating subject approached simultaneously from a scientific and cultural viewpoint. You won't be able to stop reading.

posted by Morin on July 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

A poorly written and rambling account of a fascinating subject

It is usually best to read books on scientific topics which are written by an expert in the field. Bill Wasik (wired magazine) and Monica Murphy (veterinarian) are certainly not experts and Rabid suffers for it. You will find very little insight into the disease that ...
It is usually best to read books on scientific topics which are written by an expert in the field. Bill Wasik (wired magazine) and Monica Murphy (veterinarian) are certainly not experts and Rabid suffers for it. You will find very little insight into the disease that you could not find in an hour of google searching (which is exactly what this book is...a compilation of random information centered around one topic from people who have no independent knowledge to source from). The pointless off topic ramblings and irrelevancies (the backstory of Saint Hubert for example) and constant use of unnecessary words (eg. "Perhaps it is fitting, then-karmic, even, if we may borrow from a different creed...") leaves the reader rabidly sprinting down the page in search of on relevant fact on the topic of rabies. Don't get me wrong, I like tangents and "bar facts" but not if they are irrelevant, uninteresting and horribly written.

posted by Cubis on August 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 21, 2012

    Truly fascinating subject approached simultaneously from a scien

    Truly fascinating subject approached simultaneously from a scientific and cultural viewpoint. You won't be able to stop reading.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2012

    A poorly written and rambling account of a fascinating subject

    It is usually best to read books on scientific topics which are written by an expert in the field. Bill Wasik (wired magazine) and Monica Murphy (veterinarian) are certainly not experts and Rabid suffers for it. You will find very little insight into the disease that you could not find in an hour of google searching (which is exactly what this book is...a compilation of random information centered around one topic from people who have no independent knowledge to source from). The pointless off topic ramblings and irrelevancies (the backstory of Saint Hubert for example) and constant use of unnecessary words (eg. "Perhaps it is fitting, then-karmic, even, if we may borrow from a different creed...") leaves the reader rabidly sprinting down the page in search of on relevant fact on the topic of rabies. Don't get me wrong, I like tangents and "bar facts" but not if they are irrelevant, uninteresting and horribly written.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2012

    Good read.

    Good read.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Fun read.

    An excellent look into the history of a disease that has followed man for millenia. References range from classical mythology to cuttung edge biomedical research.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2013

    I learned something. The historical accounts, especially from an

    I learned something. The historical accounts, especially from ancient history, were 
    Fascinating to me. A good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book. It gives you insight into the cultu

    I really enjoyed this book. It gives you insight into the cultural effects of this hideous disease and how humans have tried to make sense of it over the years. I liked getting a historical reference of just how long this disease has coexisted with mankind and the types of circumstances in which it spreads.

    I am particularly interested in viral transmission and the whole neural connection/receptors so I found the mention of research at the end fascinating. I hope more money will go toward research into how it works in the body (human and other animals) and how we can harness the virus' power to reach the brain with therapeutic agents that can't get through any other way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Boredom !not the book

    I'm so bored ! I need a nookfreind !
    Here's my email adress : baker_patrick@bellsouth, ( supossed to be a dot )net

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Interesting disease history and culture interwoven

    A truly fascinating book. This non fiction account explores rabies from the ancient Greeks to present day. I liked the hodge podge nature of the book with interesting anecdotes throughout. The section on the life and work of Louis Pasteur alone made the book worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    Thorough and readable

    This book tells not just the history of the rabies vaccine, which most already know. It also goes into historical accounts and folk cures, rabies myths and legends, and the psychological underpinnings of our fear of rabies. One particularly interesting chapter tells how rabies came to an island that was previously rabies-free, then relates how difficult it was to try to manage the outbreak.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Interesting and fun to read, with just enough humor and horror m

    Interesting and fun to read, with just enough humor and horror mixed together. As a veterinarian and a scientist the discussion fell a bit flat but as an avid amateur medical historian there were many entertaining moments. A great overview for the average reader on the history and cultural implications surrounding rabies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1