Customer Reviews for

The Race (Isaac Bell Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 171 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(76)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable and fast-paced read

I haven't quite finished the latest Isaac Bell venture, but I am so loving it. The historical aspect is particularly intriguing, and the return to one of my favorite Cussler characters is a joy. The plot is developing very nicely, and I can't wait to reach the inevita...
I haven't quite finished the latest Isaac Bell venture, but I am so loving it. The historical aspect is particularly intriguing, and the return to one of my favorite Cussler characters is a joy. The plot is developing very nicely, and I can't wait to reach the inevitably fascinating conclusion. A must-read for airplane buffs.

posted by KellyET on September 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

no way

let's see. An e-book has no paper, ink, bindings, etc., but costs more than a book that does! outrageous! electrons must be in short supply. I'll wait for the library. SO much for switching to the "inexpensive" electronic format.

posted by Misled on September 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 171 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    Enjoyable and fast-paced read

    I haven't quite finished the latest Isaac Bell venture, but I am so loving it. The historical aspect is particularly intriguing, and the return to one of my favorite Cussler characters is a joy. The plot is developing very nicely, and I can't wait to reach the inevitably fascinating conclusion. A must-read for airplane buffs.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    #4-NOT SO GREAT

    After having read the first 3 Isaac Bell series, which were fantastic-they grabbed you from the 1st page, this one #4 is quite a letdown. I've been waiting for months for its release. It was Very, very boring from beginning to end. I have read every previous Clive Cussler book ever published & they have all been wonderful!!! Not so this one. Boring!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    The Race

    I have read every book written by Cussler. I am very disappointed in this one. The first half of the book was very slow. I almost decided not to finish it but I had to finish it. The second part around page 200 really started to pick up. BTW The term is not JURY RIGGED. It is JERRY RIGGED. I am so tired of people and the ignorance of the English language in this country.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    Cost

    Cussler is a amazing author. Love my nook. Yes e-books are kinda pricey, but its still a good 10 to 20 dollars cheaper. Plus portability is amazing.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointed

    The sequel to the other three Clive Cussler books is quite a disappointment for me because all the other ones were smash hits while this one is just plain boring. Seriously? Cussler could have done much better knowing he produced a LOT of good ones, I really hope the next one would be much more okay.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Good story

    Not as intriguing as Cusslers many other books but with a new
    co-writer, Justin Scott. I am not finished with this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    Real good

    Love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Fun read good action!

    My first Cussler novel and would describe it as a fun adventure set in an interesting time in american history Cussler is a good writer and pages fly by I really enjoyed reading The Race !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Kim

    "Yerp." He laughed. ((Kk))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Plague

    Does that mean you're new to Rp?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Josh to alene

    Wrong josh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Alena

    I did when my other friend died and it just hurt bc afte thats all i remembered and judith was my BFF so itll be hard but i guess ill go for the 2 of yall lolz

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    Josh

    Are u here anymore

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Annabeth

    What happened?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    I have been a fan from day one I have enjoyed everyone of your b

    I have been a fan from day one I have enjoyed everyone of your book. I was especially thrilled reading The Race, when I came across your character Lionel Ruggs. Its not a common name. Where did you come up with the name ?

    Wayne Ruggs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Fun Reading

    I have always enjoyed the Isaac Bell series. Fun, light reading with lots of twists to keep it interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    constant action as always

    as usual,the aedventure wants you to keep on reading to see what happens next.never a dull moment.if you like fast action,this is the book for you.I give it a thumbs up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    One of cusslprsp One of cusslers best

    Good historical and tec chnical content woven into a good tale

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    good story

    well wrote and good story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    Another great read

    I enjoyed this book very much. Isaac Bell is a great character and Clive Cussler is an phenominal writer. I definately recomment this book to any adventure reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 171 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9