Customer Reviews for

The Race (Isaac Bell Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 175 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(78)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable and fast-paced read

I haven't quite finished the latest Isaac Bell venture, but I am so loving it. The historical aspect is particularly intriguing, and the return to one of my favorite Cussler characters is a joy. The plot is developing very nicely, and I can't wait to reach the inevita...
I haven't quite finished the latest Isaac Bell venture, but I am so loving it. The historical aspect is particularly intriguing, and the return to one of my favorite Cussler characters is a joy. The plot is developing very nicely, and I can't wait to reach the inevitably fascinating conclusion. A must-read for airplane buffs.

posted by KellyET on September 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

no way

let's see. An e-book has no paper, ink, bindings, etc., but costs more than a book that does! outrageous! electrons must be in short supply. I'll wait for the library. SO much for switching to the "inexpensive" electronic format.

posted by Misled on September 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 175 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2011

    Recommend-a good read.

    The Isaac Bell series has been enjoyable. Having read every Cussler book, I feel Cussler's Dirk Pitt and The Oregon Files series are of higher caliber. The Race is still worth the $$.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2011

    OK

    Not what I expected

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Isaac Bell's adventure is another hit!

    I have always been an avid reader and fan of Clive Cussler's books. His newest hero, Isaac Bell, brings our early American history to the forefront. The adventure of flying in the early 1900's was truly death defying. Isaac's adventures stir the imagination and have your mind racing to finish the book. Looking forward to the next adventure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2011

    Excellent

    Very easy read. Always exciting, on the edge of your seat reading as with most of his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    good read

    enjoyed this book very much

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    Typical Bell well worth reading.

    Went to Smithsonian Air and Space after reading this was intersesting to see the actual planes made by some of the book characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I have read all 4 of the Isaac Bell series and will read others as they become available. Cussler is a technology writter and uses the technology of the day to base the Race around. As usual, there is a hint of the future without spoiling the story, but adds a little "sauce for the goose". Make sure you enter the last third of the book with a little time on your hands as you will not want to put the book down. A good read with a surprise around every corned. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    Seriously?

    What happened? The excitement of having a follow up book after I read the first three was killing me then when I finally got hold of the book and read it I did not like what I read. More please!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    Cussler at his best!

    Clive Cussler set the standard for action-adventure novels with his Dirk Pitt series and it is safe to say the Isaac Bell series is another stellar example of Cussler's work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    Disappointing!

    Usually a fan......but not this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    Good Read to distract you for a while

    While I agree that this wasn't the best in the series, it still was an enjoyable distraction for a few hours to read. I always look forward to the next Cussler book, and after so many there are bound to be some better than others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2011

    Up, up and away...

    An interesting story about man's (and Josephine's) early quest for flight. Kept my interest up, but was not nearly as exciting and intense as Bell's adventures in "The Wrecker". Thought the race itself was a bit disorganized, with a lot of distractions such as weather, the wedding and the sabotage. The competition between participating flyers was thought out well, but did not come through as real. By the end, it was nearly a race of one. Overall not a bad read, but not one of Cussler's best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2011

    wait till price drops!

    This book series got off to a good start but has traveled downhill quickly. This book had a great chance to tell a good story that hasn't been told in many years and in my recollection never in the United States. It apparently was written hastily and without much forethought to fight scenes and other points of entrigue. I could go on and on but I will forbear.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    FUN

    Clive Cussler has a collection of collaborators and each of them adds to the joy of reading his books. 'The Race' gives a history of aviation in America in the guise of a air race. Once again Isaac Bell saves the day-but this time, not in a car.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 175 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 9