Customer Reviews for

The Race (Isaac Bell Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 171 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(76)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable and fast-paced read

I haven't quite finished the latest Isaac Bell venture, but I am so loving it. The historical aspect is particularly intriguing, and the return to one of my favorite Cussler characters is a joy. The plot is developing very nicely, and I can't wait to reach the inevita...
I haven't quite finished the latest Isaac Bell venture, but I am so loving it. The historical aspect is particularly intriguing, and the return to one of my favorite Cussler characters is a joy. The plot is developing very nicely, and I can't wait to reach the inevitably fascinating conclusion. A must-read for airplane buffs.

posted by KellyET on September 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

no way

let's see. An e-book has no paper, ink, bindings, etc., but costs more than a book that does! outrageous! electrons must be in short supply. I'll wait for the library. SO much for switching to the "inexpensive" electronic format.

posted by Misled on September 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 171 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Great read

    Couldnt put the book down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    Clive Cussler is just the greatest. I have read most of his books and have not found a bad one. The Race is terific, especially if you like the old days of flying machines. A great read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    I love all of Cussler's stuff but to me, this series is seriousl

    I love all of Cussler's stuff but to me, this series is seriously off the rails. I did very much enjoy the first two books of the series but was left not really wanting to finish the last two including "The Race". To me, it's pretty obvious that Cussler hasn't had much at all to do with this series which is unfortunate. I am writing this review as a result of seeing the next release becoming available now. I will probably not even buy the newest book, The Thief. Actually, the same can almost be said about the Fargo series as well. It has had some good moments but a lot are forgettable. I am still very much in love with the Oregon Files series and think Juan Cabrillo is a great character as well as Kurt Austin. I realize Cussler is getting up in age and simply cannot be writing these books. Therefore it is up to the author to keep each series alive. Too bad really because Isaac Bell deserved much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Once again Clive Cussler entertains us, but this time with his knowledge of flying. This is another winner in the Isaac Bell series although I though this was not as good as the other 3 books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Really good! Isaac Bell is back!

    Really well done, Clive Cussler strikes again with intrigue and mystery!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    Isaac Bell......enough said

    I have read most of CC's novels and the Isaac Bell series are by far my favorite. Keep them coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Far from Cussler's best

    More than a little beyond believable. Historically inaccurate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2011

    Enjoyable - But not up to Standard of Books 1-3 in the Series

    This was a quick read, but the mystery was not as complex, detailed or the book as long as Books 1-3 in the Isaac Bell series. I waited for months for this one - and was done in like 2 days. Disappointed - not quite up to Cussler standards. Will hope for better things in Book 5 !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    Cussler & Co. at their best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    Cussler met my expectations!

    After reading Cresent Dawn, and throughly liking it, Cussler suceeded with holding my attention on this book too. This wss exspeciqlly facinating due to my love of avaition.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    Intriging reading. Keeps you thinking until the end

    Very good reading. Shows us the hard life of our pioneers in the aviation field. Would highly recommend "The Race".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    I have'nt finished it yet, Too busy.

    I think this is well written and keeps you in touch even tho I put it down for quiite a while.

    I reccommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2011

    Great book

    Cussler & Scott did very good on this book and series. You had my interest until the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    great read

    Classic Cussler

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    Recommended

    a great series that brings to life the way people lived at the turn of the century

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    Mr. Cussler never let's you down. What a fun read.

    A great cross country romp. I love the Issac Bell series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    Outstanding ! Another great Isaac Bell story.

    As usual, the tail keeps you interested until the unexpected end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    Not very Racey!

    I am beginning to feel that this is formula writing. Change the names, certairn plot lines, and viola! a new novel. Too many characters and they all "sound" the same. Come on Clive, let's get back to Dirk Pitt and friends doing what they do best, getting pulse rate up and a desire to get to the next page. Good book but!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2011

    Recommend-a good read.

    The Isaac Bell series has been enjoyable. Having read every Cussler book, I feel Cussler's Dirk Pitt and The Oregon Files series are of higher caliber. The Race is still worth the $$.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2011

    OK

    Not what I expected

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 171 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9