Customer Reviews for

The Race

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2010

    Why is it??

    Why is it that the only group Americans will tolerate people slamming are Christians? This book would have been pulled if he talked about ANY other group other than Christians. Can you imagine if Patterson's evil villians were doing this in the name of Mohammed, or for race or sexual preference? People feel they can offend Christians without any consequences.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    Great read!

    Very well written!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    Race to the Finish!!

    This book is current, easy to relate to if you follow the political climate today, which isn't difficult since that is all they talk about on cable news. But fitting for the times. I am enjoying reading this book, anticipating the next step of the Corey Grace. I recommend this book to anyone who loves drama, and this book is filled with it. Good job, Mr. Patterson!! Please don't give up the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Good read...

    I was pleasantly surprised - it was a good read. I enjoyed the characters and the plot was interesting. It was nice to have a plot where two characters who had diverse political worked to accomplish their objectives in a positive manner instead of attempting to get ahead by attacking the other... I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys politics and political intrigue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Political Junkies Fave

    Read it during the 2008 election and found it highly entertaining. Perhaps best suited for folks who are somewhat politically-minded.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2008

    Too Much Politics, Too Little Story

    Patterson is one of my favorite authors, and his Protect and Defend is one of my favorite books. It was a superb story of a president and a Supreme Court nominee, in which the subject of abortion and a trial involving that issue are background. The characters are principal, and the issue is sceondary. In The Race, a senator aspires to be his party's preidential nominee. The story itself, about the senator and his budding romance with a famous actress, is secondary to the political maneuvering of all of the characters in the book. As interesting and well written as the story was, the political details and machinations detracted from the otherwise excellent book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2008

    Read at your own risk, it sucks

    Don't read this book, it is slooooow. I'm half way through and have to force myself to keep going. It has got to get better, besides I paid good money for this book and refuse to trash it. Maybe if this was not an election year it might fly, but I doubt it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2007

    If You Understand Politics !!!!

    After 8 years of college, I thought there would be few things I couldn't understand. Boy was I wrong. The greediness, backstabbing, lying, fabricating and hatefulness of people goes a long way in a novel such as this one. The main plot line and main characters were easy to like and understand, but the subplots were complicated and it seemed like each chapter brought in more strange characters. Richard North Patterson is an excellent author,but the 'Race' seemed to be one of my old textbooks in political science class. I don't think I'm going to vote in the next election, it seems that no candidate is honest and selfless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2008

    Behind the political scene - more truth than fiction?

    Another great story by Patterson - Exile, his last book about the Palestinian-Israeli conflict was a humdinger, too. This story traces the leading Republican candidates for the presidential nomination through the primaries. It's a good mix - the evangelist, the puppet and the war hero who, just to give him an 'edge', falls for an African-American actress in the middle of it all. Most intriguing is the in-fighting and behind the scenes manuevering - not a pretty sight. I like to think that Patterson's dirty tricks came from his creative, fertile mind - but when you see the credits at the back of the book, and see who advised him on all things Washingtonian, you will fear that there is truth involved! Since you can read this book and keep one eye on CNN and FNC at the same time, you will find it all blending together in the mix-master of politics - and you'll wonder, like I did, whether The Race was really a unique peek through the looking glass at what really goes on. For me, it just solidified my convictions that politics as usual have got to change. Our good guy in this story finally did the right thing, and, a tribute to the story - we didn't know about it until those last few pages. Well worth the read. Can't wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2008

    An Eye Opener

    A good book if you are at all into politics. RNP shows just how down and dirty politicians can really be. Win at any cost or at anyone's expense. The American voters are the big losers in the game of politics. Read it and be shocked, or not. I read it in a couple of days. Good reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2008

    Another Great Political Smash From Patterson

    I'll be the first to admit that I'm not really into legal thrillers, which is what Patterson usually writes. However, when it comes to political fiction, Patterson hits it out of the park! The Race focuses on Senator Corey Grace (R-OH). He's the kind of Republican, I wish was actually running for the GOP presidential nomination in 2008. He's a great senator, an honest man, and a genuine war hero to boot. The book focuses on his maverick campaign for the Republican Party's presidential nomination, and his budding romance with African American actress (and liberal Democrat)Lexie Hart. If you're a political junkie, this book is definitely for you. There are great chapters regarding Grace's campaign in the South Carolina primary, and his (and others') back room wheeling/dealing during the GOP convention. There are only two problems I had with the book. I felt things kind of dragged when the book changed focus from the campaign to the romance angle. Thankfully the book is still so riveting that you can get past those slow chapters quickly. My second problem is that RNP lets his own political views shine through sometimes. Those views are more often than not, anti-Republican. It was enough to make me roll my eyes from time to time, but I think even most Republicans will find the book riveting enough to ignore it. I seriously could not put the book down, and flew through it during my Christmas break from work. If you're a political junkie, pick up The Race. You won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    Patterson preaches and expounds on every political, racial, moral issue in one fell swoop - too much, it's boring!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    TIMELY AND TERRIFIC

    Corey Grace is the perfect presidential candidate. He's a decorated American hero, a Gulf War veteran who survived months of captivity and torture. Now 43 and a senator from Ohio, he's honest, conscientious, completely truthful, and movie star good looking. Unfortunately, he only exists between the pages of Richard North Patterson's timely, compelling new novel The Race. Grace is the ideal person to win his party's nomination, or so many tell him. Most would appreciate it if he wouldn't be quite so truthful and would be willing to pacify his powerful enemies in some small ways, but he's still an A-list contender. He is not a man without issues - a younger brother who idolized him committed suicide, his marriage failed, his only child, a daughter, is a stranger to him, and he grew up with remote, hard scrabble parents. In addition, he finds himself attracted to Lexie Hart, a beautiful actress who visited him to enlist his vote for stem cell research. An actress would be bad enough, he is told, but she is an African-American actress. She, too, has issues, experiences in her past that haunt. Once Grace decides that he will work to become his party's nominee, he finds himself in mixed company - others vying for the Republican Party's nomination are Bible-thumping Rev. Bob Christy, and Senator Rob Marotta, a man who sees Grace's arrival in the Senate as 'easy as his smile, greased by an act of heroism that seemed to induce an uncomfortable self-doubt in those never called on to be heroes.' In addition, Marotta is controlled by a campaign director who gives added meaning to manipulation and machination. However, when photos of Grace and Lexie are made public it seems his chances are doomed until terrorists break into an office building and Grace performs an amazing act of heroism. Then, as an adviser tells him, 'This is a transcendent moment,.....It's like Giuliani after 9/11 - a remission of all prior sins.' From that point on Patterson ratchets up his narrative to an unexpected conclusion. In this intriguing political novel the author leaves no cards unplayed - racism, terrorism, gay rights, media control. The Race is a timely story and a terrific one. - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2007

    Richard North Patterson does it again . . . .

    Richard North Patterson doesn't need me to tell him what an excellent author he is, but I can't help but say how much I enjoyed THE RACE and marvel at how well he told this story which made it a real page turner . . .hard to put down sort of book. I would also be willing to state that both THE RACE and EXILE have been the most enjoyable books that I have read so far in 2007 . . .I can hardly wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2007

    A must read......

    This isn't your usual Richard North Patterson mystery. This book is an eye opener into the political arena. I found I was turning the pages at quite a clip. A great book for the this Presidential race period. Another hit....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A great political thriller

    During the Gulf War, Air Force pilot Corey Grace survived his jet¿s crash and months of incarceration and torture from the enemy who ignored the Geneva Convention. He became a media darling as a real American hero. Over the thirteen years that have passed since his ordeal, Corey has become the Republican US Senator from Ohio and considered one of the 50 ¿sexiest men alive¿.------------------- Corey is running for his party¿s presidential nomination. He has a reasonable chance of winning, but his handlers fear his telling the truth is harmful to his chances as much as his willingness to cross the aisle to work with the Democrats. His chief rivals are Senator Rob Marotta who is willing to pay the price of doing whatever his handler ¿The Darth Vader of American politics¿ demands including stretching, omitting, or misleading the facts and Christian fundamentalist Reverend Bob Christy who considers Corey a heretic is also working against him. ----------------- With all the ethical and hypocritical issues coming out of DC and with rigging the executive branch to further a party over the country, Richard North Patterson¿s latest thriller feels genuine. Turning Gore Vidal¿s The Best Man upside down, Mr. Patterson makes the case that an honest person, even the greatest American hero, cannot easily win a party nomination for president because the other side plays loose with the facts and the media does not confront their swift assault in a timely manner. Readers will appreciate this exposure on honesty is the last choice in American politics.------------------ Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2