Customer Reviews for

Rachael Ray 365: No Repeats: A Year of Deliciously Different Dinners (A 30-Minute Meal Cookbook)

Average Rating 3.5
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Rachel Rays' 365 Days, No Repeats

I love Rachel Ray, and I love this cookbook. Her meals are always so practical, and this book is no exception. If you love good food, made quickly, and are looking for fresh ideas, this is your book.

posted by MNflutist on April 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good Cookbook - but not Great

Just as with her show(s), she can make quick meals out of the most complex dishes but what is missing in her cookbook is detail and pictures. Otherwise it is simple and nice to keep around when you want to try something new and easy. Perfect for the novice (those who do...
Just as with her show(s), she can make quick meals out of the most complex dishes but what is missing in her cookbook is detail and pictures. Otherwise it is simple and nice to keep around when you want to try something new and easy. Perfect for the novice (those who don't need pictures).

posted by PBWriter36 on September 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted November 27, 2010

    It is what it promises to be

    This is not a gourmet cookbook. However, it is a great tool for meal planning and breaking yourself of a rut with the midweek cooking. I like that she has lots of variations of several of the recipes. And yes, there is a lot of text in the book but Rachel really comes through in the writing. Another complaint about the book that I've seen is that the recipes contain lot of chopping. This is true but once your ingredients are prepped the meals themselves are very quick to prepare.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2009

    Rachel Rays' 365 Days, No Repeats

    I love Rachel Ray, and I love this cookbook. Her meals are always so practical, and this book is no exception. If you love good food, made quickly, and are looking for fresh ideas, this is your book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2006

    A Real Cookbook

    This is one of the best cookbooks that I've ever owned. It includes a variety of foods (beef, pork, poultry, fish, seafood, and vegetarian), so it could work for everyone. Most of the ingredients (99%) are easy to find in small towns (though I can't seem to conjure up arugula or andouille sausage). I've been cooking dinners out of this book for about a month now, and have liked all but one (too spicy). It's realistic, it uses good food, and it doesn't take all night to cook them. Way to go Rachel!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good Cookbook - but not Great

    Just as with her show(s), she can make quick meals out of the most complex dishes but what is missing in her cookbook is detail and pictures. Otherwise it is simple and nice to keep around when you want to try something new and easy. Perfect for the novice (those who don't need pictures).

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2007

    Yum-o Recipes!

    I have seen a number of Rachel's shows, liked the recipes, and decided to buy this book. Let me tell you--the recipes are awesome!! I love the Balsamic Glazed Chicken, in particular. Yes, the recipes may take a little longer than a half hour when you first prepare them, but once you have cooked your favorite recipies 1-2 times, cooking them again is a snap. One thing I didn't like about this cookbook is the 'spin off' recipies, with the 'take out', 'swap', & 'add'. It made things too confusing when you're trying to make the recipe. I ended up writing out the whole 'spin off' recipe to ensure I didn't miss anything.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2006

    YES YES YES!

    Finally, Rachael has put out an awesome cookbook. I practically have dog-earred half of the book with recipes I want to try! This is a book primarily of main dish entrees. Yes there are dozens of master recipes with variations, but to me, the variations did feel to me that they would taste completely different. If you love to cook but are in a dinner rut, this is the book you need to spark the idea for tons and tons of dinners. The other reason I adore this book is because all recipes are scaled for 4 servings. This is perfect for my husband and I because we won't be stuck with tons of leftovers. Way to go Rachael! With regard to the lack of pictures, other classic cookbooks like the Joy of Cooking contain no pictures what so ever. This cookbook doesn't need pictures. The recipes are not overly complicated so I don't need a picture of the final plated dish to figure out what I'm doing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2006

    GREAT BOOK!!

    This is an excellent cookbook!! I am always hesitant to buy new cookbooks without a recommendation, but I'm so glad I did. Rachael Ray also gives good hints for making these meals well and quickly. I have made many recipes from this book and I have yet to find one that didn't turn out well. They are delicious and healthy!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2005

    Gotta Love Rachel Ray!!

    Love the fact her recipes have 'real' ingredients in them.....Love the book and love her show!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2005

    Looking forward to the rest of the year!

    Great meals and easy recipies! So far I've enjoyed everyone I've tried. 350 to go!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2009

    Fell apart

    I have purchased many soft cover books and have not had any problems. This book fell apart after one week of browsing through it. It is a great book but is now in shambles.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2007

    For Cooks In a Hurry

    I love Rachel Ray's 30-minute cookbooks and her 30-minute show. The recipes I've tried are easy to make and taste delicious.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2006

    Not User Friendly

    While still a fan of Ms. Ray I found this book very difficult to navigate. The index is practically useless, try looking up carrots and you'll see what I mean. Try to find a side dish in the index as well and you'll see what I mean. If I am in the mood for spinach, I want to look in the index for a spinach recipe, which is not the case with this disappointing book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2014

    It all takes about 45 minutes to an hour

    These recipes are great and full of flavor, though not typically a friend to your waistline. I have found after preparing around 40 of these recipes that 30 minutes is the actual cooking time. It doesn't include prep, and sometimes there is a lot of it. Including prep, I find I spend 45 minutes to an hour. Anything that includes "supermashers" (mashed potatoes) will take 90 minutes.

    I highly recommend the thai basil chicken and steak and pepper hash with supermashers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Too conceited Too conceited

    Idont know how she gets rated a cookas she never took lessons comes naturally but she gets on my nerves as she pbromotes healthy cooking she uses too much salt and theres is just so mugh chop meat yo can eat write a bio not a cookbook as there ate plentof cook booksa

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Not impressed

    Unfortunately, most of the recipes call for an item I wouldn't typically keep in stock

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Rachel Ray vs Guy Fieri

    I think Guy Fieri is better than Rachel because he is good at cooking.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2011

    Do not recommend.

    I returned the book. There were no pictures, and the recipes were not ones the recipient would have used.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2009

    Only five pages of color.

    No photo for her recipe. If you want to find a book of cooking with a long long guide to cook and no photo to see, this is the book you looking for. Oh, disappointed cause I want to know what i cooking.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2007

    Not in 30 minutes!!

    I tried several of the recipes and they took much longer than 30 minutes to prepare more like an hour. I use this cookbook on weekends only.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2006

    Not Worth It

    I just ordered this book and was immensely disappointed. I expected to find uncomplicated dishes that I could make after dinner, instead there are a bunch of complicated, oddly placed together ingredients and disinteresting recipes. I'm sorry but 'spinach and goat cheese chicken rolls', 'halibut soup'?, and 'spicy pineapple pork' sound neither appealing nor tasty to me. I dont exactly come home from work thinking: lets make some pineapple pork tonight! Save your money and go elsewhere! The majority if not all of the recipes are complicated requiring 20+ ingedients and seem unappearling. I like Emeril and Paula Deen...

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5