Customer Reviews for

Rachael Ray's 30-Minute Get Real Meals: Eat Healthy Without Going to Extremes

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Count on Rachel

Another good cookbook from Rachel Ray. Time saving advise that helps working women survive a hectic schedule.

posted by Anonymous on November 20, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Just OK

Disappointing - one chapter devoted to appetizers and another completely to dips? A chapter for dips? Some recipes have ingredients like "A can of crushed tomatoes"; with NO can size (14 oz. or 28 oz.???). Having cooked for a long time I could figure it out by the ot...
Disappointing - one chapter devoted to appetizers and another completely to dips? A chapter for dips? Some recipes have ingredients like "A can of crushed tomatoes"; with NO can size (14 oz. or 28 oz.???). Having cooked for a long time I could figure it out by the other ingredient ratios but a novice might be stumped.

The other issue is this is suppose to be an approach to healthy and lighter eating without going low carb. There is no calorie or nutritional information, how is it deemed healthy and low calorie and by whom?

posted by 4090681 on December 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2010

    Just OK

    Disappointing - one chapter devoted to appetizers and another completely to dips? A chapter for dips? Some recipes have ingredients like "A can of crushed tomatoes"; with NO can size (14 oz. or 28 oz.???). Having cooked for a long time I could figure it out by the other ingredient ratios but a novice might be stumped.

    The other issue is this is suppose to be an approach to healthy and lighter eating without going low carb. There is no calorie or nutritional information, how is it deemed healthy and low calorie and by whom?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2006

    Very quick and easy, my kind of a meal

    Rachel has done some nice books in this serious of fast cooking. I decided to get this one since my new thing is healthy eating. Great stuff and as the book says, 30 minutes is what it takes. Enjoyed it thanks.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2005

    A lifesaver!

    I insist on cooking meals for my four children, so finding something with variety isn't always easy, i love rachel's show on the food network! some of the meals were quick but tasted like they were quick meals, i recommend the book, ecspecially for anyone pressed for time, its better than eating fast food. my children overall liked most of the meals, good job rachel!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2005

    Very Good and Fast

    I am not much for cooking that takes hours. I have watched Rachael's show and decided to try this book out. I love it. The meals really take 30 minutes and are good for you as well. Rachael includes simple instructions as well as where to buy the ingredients in the grocery store. I recommend this book for parents and anyone who does not want to cook forever to have a good meal.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2005

    Count on Rachel

    Another good cookbook from Rachel Ray. Time saving advise that helps working women survive a hectic schedule.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2005

    Another star for Rachel Ray

    Tasty, easy recipes along with Rachel's great chatty humor and down-to-earthness!! For simple but delicious comfort food, this is the book for you!! My 5 year old granddaughter always wants to know if it's time for Rachel!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2009

    Recipes good but hard to find

    The recipes are tasty but it is hard to quickly find what you want to cook without going through an entire section. I like a cookbook with a good appendix which this does not have. In this book, you have to look at all the recipes in a section to find something that will work with ingredients you have at home. You can't just look up Burgers and get a list of pages that have burgers or chicken or pork or mushrooms. It makes it difficult if you cook by shopping sales of the week. The lack of this feature has severely limited my use of this and the other Rachel Ray cookbook I own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2005

    RACHAELRAY DOES IT AGAIN.

    Iam a huge fan of Rachael Ray and now we can eat healthy with out going to the exterme ,now the bisest of familys can eat healthy and fell good about it the meals sound so good rachael ray you have done it again you truly rock .joanna.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2005

    rachael ray is a hit

    i am glad/happy to know that i can eat healthy without going to extremes. i am a diabetic and need to eat healthier. she is so full of energy and perky. i enjoy watching her on tv's food network.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2005

    Rachael Does It Again!

    What can I say? I truly love this woman. She never fails to deliver a book full of recipes that taste outstanding and that anyone can make. All of her lower carb options are fantastic. My family and friends are once again blown away by the quality of food I can make in 30 minutes or less by using this book. I would highly encourage any type of cook (either brand new to or an old friend of the kitchen) to add this book to their collection. You won't be dissapointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2005

    Who can resist the Girl Next Door?

    OK, the recipes are very simple -- but isn't that what the average working person wants these days? And yes, the recipes appear to be pretty healthy. Use this one during the week when you have less time and are more diet conscious. Pick up a more adventurous cookbook when you have a little leisure time on the weekends -- and don't mind blowing the diet! Yes, cooking can be fun!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2005

    Rachael Ray does not disappoint

    Another excellent Rachael Ray book. Not for the gourmet chefs out there, but perfect for people who want to make quick healthy meals. My family has been on the South Beach Diet for awhile and we are not too strict about it anymore, so this book is perfect for us. It is good for those who are trying to eat less carbs but aren't willing to be nuts about it. I use low carb pasta (Dreamfield's) in her pasta recipes and they turn out great. I am a Rachael Ray cookbook addict! The Korean Flank Steak is one of the best recipes for grilled steak I have ever had.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1