Customer Reviews for

Radiant Shadows (Wicked Lovely Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 439 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(215)

4 Star

(135)

3 Star

(63)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

COME ON!!!!!!!

Really? Are you serious?!? I waited forever for that book to come out, and this is what i get?!?! Don't get me wrong, the book had its high points ( i love Ani and Devlin). But Keenan has gone missing. And they only mention it once! Ash is not in the book and Seth hasn'...
Really? Are you serious?!? I waited forever for that book to come out, and this is what i get?!?! Don't get me wrong, the book had its high points ( i love Ani and Devlin). But Keenan has gone missing. And they only mention it once! Ash is not in the book and Seth hasn't changed from when he was a mortal. I expected Seth to be more emotional and dark and scary and FORCEFUL! he never even talks to Ash! Donia is also not in the book. With Keenan gone shouldn't she be upset!? Melisssa Marr is great, but this book was one big let down. It was the PENULTIMET (spelling?) the next to last and nothing is coming together. The last book will have to be pretty long to make up all this lost time.

posted by 3500154 on May 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I was sadly disappointed

I am a HUGE fan of the Wicked Lovely series, and I have bullied each and every one of my friends into reading the books. I anxiously awaited RADIANT SHADOWS and then...I felt an enormous let-down. After the ending of FRAGILE ETERNITY, I expected (1) to see Seth grow a...
I am a HUGE fan of the Wicked Lovely series, and I have bullied each and every one of my friends into reading the books. I anxiously awaited RADIANT SHADOWS and then...I felt an enormous let-down. After the ending of FRAGILE ETERNITY, I expected (1) to see Seth grow as a faery (fight/hunt with the hounds/be more emotionally agressive towards Ash and not such a door-mat); (2) some sort of closure and finality already with the Keenan/Ash/Donia/Seth love quadrangle; (3) a greater change with the faery courts. I guess I should have anticipated a move like this after reading INK EXCHANGE, yet I was still unprepared for what I read. I felt the plot was thin and contrived at times (too many unanswered questions: Irial's fate? Jillian? The creation of YET ANOTHER faery court? And Keenan's MISSING--the Summer King is MISSING and it's only mentioned briefly in the book? No one cares??? What's Ash been doing during this time? Is she looking for him? Has she thrown Seth aside for Keenan?) Being the penultimate book in the series, I felt like Marr was all over the place with this book. I hope she regains her momentum for the last and wrangles back her readers who fell in love with the series in the first place.

posted by 1083351 on April 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 440 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2010

    I was sadly disappointed

    I am a HUGE fan of the Wicked Lovely series, and I have bullied each and every one of my friends into reading the books. I anxiously awaited RADIANT SHADOWS and then...I felt an enormous let-down. After the ending of FRAGILE ETERNITY, I expected (1) to see Seth grow as a faery (fight/hunt with the hounds/be more emotionally agressive towards Ash and not such a door-mat); (2) some sort of closure and finality already with the Keenan/Ash/Donia/Seth love quadrangle; (3) a greater change with the faery courts. I guess I should have anticipated a move like this after reading INK EXCHANGE, yet I was still unprepared for what I read. I felt the plot was thin and contrived at times (too many unanswered questions: Irial's fate? Jillian? The creation of YET ANOTHER faery court? And Keenan's MISSING--the Summer King is MISSING and it's only mentioned briefly in the book? No one cares??? What's Ash been doing during this time? Is she looking for him? Has she thrown Seth aside for Keenan?) Being the penultimate book in the series, I felt like Marr was all over the place with this book. I hope she regains her momentum for the last and wrangles back her readers who fell in love with the series in the first place.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    Eh

    While Melissa Marr continues to be an excellent writer, and I enjoyed all of her books up to this point, Radiant Shadows was a disappointment. Maybe it's just me, but I couldn't really connect to her characters, and the story dragged on. Normally I read a book straight through without putting it down, but this one I got bored eaily and it took me several days to finish. I want to know more about Seth and Aislinn, and while they do make appearances in the story, it's as if Marr has brushed them aside to introduce these new people she's more excited about. Maybe I've just started to get bored with the fey, and the world she's created, but I do believe that Radiant Shadows could have been much, much better.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    COME ON!!!!!!!

    Really? Are you serious?!? I waited forever for that book to come out, and this is what i get?!?! Don't get me wrong, the book had its high points ( i love Ani and Devlin). But Keenan has gone missing. And they only mention it once! Ash is not in the book and Seth hasn't changed from when he was a mortal. I expected Seth to be more emotional and dark and scary and FORCEFUL! he never even talks to Ash! Donia is also not in the book. With Keenan gone shouldn't she be upset!? Melisssa Marr is great, but this book was one big let down. It was the PENULTIMET (spelling?) the next to last and nothing is coming together. The last book will have to be pretty long to make up all this lost time.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Karin Librarian for TeensReadToo.com

    In order to understand the specifics of all the characters in this story, it would be best to read the other books in the series: WICKED LOVELY, INK EXCHANGE, and FRAGILE ETERNITY.

    RADIANT SHADOWS picks up where FRAGILE ETERNITY leaves off. As per their agreement, Seth leaves Sorcha in Faerie so he can return to his life in the Mortal world. Everything starts disintegrating soon after and provides a backdrop for the rest of the story.

    Ani, Gabriel's daughter, is struggling with her role in the Hunt and controlling the way she feeds. Unlike her siblings, Ani can feed from both mortals and faerie since she feeds on emotions. Life for Ani becomes extremely complicated when Bananach takes an interest in her and orders her to kill Seth. Not knowing what else to do, Ani decides her only option is to run.

    Devlin, the brother of Sorcha and Bananach, is sent to the Mortal world to look after Seth. Sorcha is obsessed with what Seth is doing and worried for his safety. The trouble is, Devlin gets sidetracked when he runs into Ani at a night club. Devlin and Ani are connected, although the specific connection is unknown - all Devlin understands is that he can't resist Ani.

    Melissa Marr continues to hold readers' attention in this, the fourth book of the WICKED LOVELY series. Aislinn doesn't play a role in this installment because Keenan is missing, forcing her to focus her attention on the Summer Court. Faerie is in danger due to Sorcha's actions, and it is up to Devlin and Ani to put it right - but Bananach (War) is determined to see death and destruction everywhere.

    Can they save Faerie before War destroys everything?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Installment- I devoured it!

    In the fourth installment of The Wicked Lovely series, I'm quite happy to say that as always, Melissa Marr doesn't disappoint! This installment brings more attention to the "background" characters and doesn't focus on Seth and Aislinn. Instead, the reader is taken into Ani and Devlin's developing relationship, as well as Marr's continued beautiful and alluring magical writing that will capture your heart. I'll be honest; Ani's character didn't particularly strike me in the beginning. She struggles, and her character voice annoyed me at times with the constant complaining of "not fitting in". But you know, if you think about it, that makes a character REALISTIC. As the story played on, I grew attached to her strength and determination, and fierce protection over her loved ones. Devlin, I loved. I adored. He was mysterious. Beautiful. Marr crafted his character wonderfully, I thought. And I always love Irial and Niall! They are so tempting... sexy... ;) The dialogue throughout the entire novel is so smooth, rich, and easily read- yet artistically done and poetic. I don't have many complaints when it comes to Melissa Marr's The Wicked Lovely Series, and once again, found myself ravishing every page through this installment. I can't wait to read the next- and final installment: Darkest Mercy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2010

    Okay, But Not Worth It

    Radiant Shadows by Melissa Marr starts with Ani, a half mortal and half faery who is trying to find her place in the strange world she was born into without a mother. Devlin is a faery that works as a faery leader's assassin and who had been sent to kill both Ani and her mother, but for the first time in his life he had not had the heart to kill someone. Melissa Marr does a wonderful job at describing these interestingly complicated characters and showing the battles they face within their own minds. She uses beautiful words to help you picture just how intricate the faery world is and how it is seen from the perspective of all of the different characters. The theme of love versus the darkness that haunts them and the dangers of being together keep the story incredibly entertaining. Ani, with Devlin surprisingly at her side and against the ones he was born to follow, being hunted down as a resource to be used for creating chaos among the leaders of the faery world is a creative conflict. You would think it would make the story excitingly fast paced, but no. Most of the story is spent in Ani's car driving away with Devlin as fast as she can. There is not really any turning point and there is absolutely no suspense at all. Nothing all that amazing happens until the last few chapters of the novel. This was not a great addition to the Wicked Lovely Series and the first three were much more worthy of my time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Radiant shadow

    First it was Aislinn, then it was her best friend Leslie, after was about Seth, Now its about Ani. Ani is the sister of Rabbit and Tish from the tatoo shop.
    Melissa Marr a great book and series writer has brought us into Faerie and showed us of the glam behind the glam of the faerie people.
    Its Ani's turn to stand next to her father as a hound and not just a half mortal half human. With devlin being bound to his sisters by their blood, he is to keep her away. But Ani being the daughter of the Dark court, anything is possible.
    This is a book you would want to read after what happen to Aislinn, Leslie, and Seth. This book shows you what happens after they have gotten away or stayed in Faerie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Radiant Shadows is sharp, edgy and I loved it!

    This book is the best installment in the Wicket Lovely series to date. It brings all the characters from past books into the story and adds some captivating new ones. It awakens the storyline and gives the series a huge shot in the arm. The edgy attraction between Ani and Devlin was wonderful and the plot was a total page turner. I kept finding myself wanting to stay up later and later to read more. This is a keeper. Twilight fans that love Jacob will love this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2014

    The length of time it took me to finish this book makes it seem

    The length of time it took me to finish this book makes it seem as if it was difficult to get through or perhaps unenjoyable. That could hardly be further from the truth. In all actuality this is probably my favorite in the series thus far. Summer has simply been taking it's toll on me and I've not had as much reading time as I'd anticipated. All that blather being said, I did truly enjoy this installment of the Wicked Lovely series. I missed Aislinn, but I really enjoyed getting to know Ani and Devlin more. I also enjoyed seeing a bit more of the relationship between Niall and Irial and how Seth has been faring. It was a sad book at times and even confusing at times as far as how everyone was going to relate to each other and how things would work out. I'm still on the fence about that part because of the details that were left open, however I'm lucky enough to have book 5 waiting for me. If you're a fan of the series at all, you must read this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    Great

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    This book brings up more questions than it settles, but I think

    This book brings up more questions than it settles, but I think that it's all a setup for the finale in the next and final book.
    Read that one and have your questions answered!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    this is the freaking best dipiction of the fey world and aislinn

    this is the freaking best dipiction of the fey world and aislinn and seth are ment to be for ever he gave up his mortality to be with her but it got very complicated along the way .niall reminds me of my cousin in description and personality it really spoke to my fantacys about how the fey really work

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Read it

    Loved it, one of the best series ive read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Misunderstood

    I almost didnt read this book because alot of reviews said it was off topic and off base but i loved this book. Out of all the books so far this was my favorite. It branches out from just your normal courts. A really good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    AMAZING

    For me, this was the best book in the series! It takes you into other courts besides Summer and Winter. Devlin is one of my favorite characters! Even though you don't see some old favorites, its good to learn more about the High Court. I was a little dissapointed with Fragile Eternity, so this book was a breath of fresh air for me! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommend

    My least favorite book in the Wicked lovely series, but I'd still Recommend it to almost anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    Radiant Shadows

    Well after reading Radiant Shadows the fourth installment of the wicked lovely series by Melissa Marrs I first must say for those who are following this series this book barely mentions Ash or the summer court that being said I thoroughly enjoyed learning more about the Dark court and the high court. In this story we learn more about Devlin and Ani. Devil a fairy made from two powerful fairies has spent his life taking orders and being in control till he meets Ani a Halfling of the dark court. When they meet again after many years their connection is instant and we are taken on the ride of how their bond plays out. We also learn exactly how important both Devlin and Ani are to the survival of Fairies the magical land where Sorcha the unchanging queen has ruled since the beginning. This book kept me intrigued from beginning to end and I was surprised how it all ended up. Marrs has pulled me into this world of fairies and I’m excited to see how it will play out. If you haven’t read this series yet I encourage you to start because it is a captivating story and well worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    highly recommended

    It's sexy dark fantasy that still has a happy ending. I couldn't put it down. Some books are easy to read, they hold your interest the whole time. This is one of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I end up loving every single character...

    The Wicked Lovely series has held my interest by how all the characters play important roles. Radiant Shadows continues to do so by focusing on Ani and Devlin and how their choices may change Faerie for the good or bad. The backstory of Ani is revealed and questions are slowly answered. As much as I enjoyed this book I did feel like it was a bit...dry. I didn't feel like it was something I wanted to stay up all night to read. I think it's because I'm so set into the whole Ash, Kennan, and Seth thing going on that I don't want to read about any one else.

    Ani was first introduced in Ink Exchange and I didn't think much of her. This book really shined more light on Ani and the struggles she's going through to survive. Ani is a halfling of the Dark Court and must feed off of both emotions and touch. She's a new breed that can feed from faeries as well as mortals, but is starved of both touch and emotions from the protection of her father, Gabriel. Ani is daring and impulsive. She's also caring as well as impulsive which makes her unpredictable.

    Melissa Marr does such a great job at entwining the stories of different characters. When I read the synopsis I wasn't sure how Devlin had anything to do with Ani or even how they knew each other. The consequences of Devlin's past is now catching up to him and it involves Ani. I really don't like spoilers so I won't go into it too much, but Devlin made some choices that saved Ani's life and changed his future.

    Even though Radiant Shadows was more focused on Ani and Devlin it became one of my favorites because of the strong character developments. The story continues to turn from page to page and as usual, Melissa Marr has left me wanting more. I will be continuing the series by reading the last book, Darkest Mercy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    exiting

    this book was really good, but of course all the books in this series have been teriffic. i didnt think i would get interested in the cheracters in this book but i definatley did. i really liked the charecters because they seemed to be the mysteriuos ones in the series i could not wait to find out what was the destiny for these cheracters!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 440 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22