Customer Reviews for

Radiate

Average Rating 5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Caution: Some language in this book may not be suitable for all

Caution: Some language in this book may not be suitable for all readers.

¿So I only have one word to describe this book. Awe! I am totally in awe of the strength and courage of Hayley! Radiate is the story of Hayley Matthews who in her senior year of high school wants...
Caution: Some language in this book may not be suitable for all readers.

¿So I only have one word to describe this book. Awe! I am totally in awe of the strength and courage of Hayley! Radiate is the story of Hayley Matthews who in her senior year of high school wants to do something more with her life. She has been in the high school band and made it through most of her high school years unnoticed. But she is tired of blending in. She wants to finally stand out! To be noticed. To do something MORE! So she trades in her trumpet for a pair or pompoms. Despite the challenges of being a cheerleader, she pushes herself to excell in her sport. Little does she know that her body is fighting against her. After a few weeks of practice, she notices a pain in her leg, but thinks that it is from all the extra exercise from practice. So she ignores it as best she can and keeps pushing forward, until one day she notices a knot on her leg and finally tells her parents. After a couple doctors appointments, and harsh diagnoses, her mother calls in Hayley's uncle who is a doctor to get his opinion. He tells them that he believes that she has osteosarcoma. He helps them to understand some of the things that will be involved in fighting this disease and helps them find a doctor he feels will be the best match for them. Hayley says goodbye to her friends and heads to the UAB Hospital to begin her fight. Though she spends most of her summer there, she tries to stay optimistic. She doesn't allow herself to feel sorry for herself or wish her diagnosis on anyone else. She is going to fight this. She is going to win! Even after her surgery, she continues to prepare herself for the cheerleading season ahead. She will not let cancer stop her! She watches videos of her squad practicing their routines. She even goes to a practice with a local squad that came to visit her in the hospital. She is determined that she will be part of her squad and be the best cheerleader she can be. With all her focus on doing this, cancer never even has a chance to consume her mind. She never really lets it in. But there are so many obstacles that she is going to have to over come. Will she be able to find the Something More she was looking for? Will she continue to be able to be a part of her squad after she surgery? Well I guess you will just have to read and find out, cause that's all your getting out of me!!!

posted by MamaLee1983 on April 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Chey

I LOVED THIS BOOK

posted by 17132793 on February 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    Caution: Some language in this book may not be suitable for all

    Caution: Some language in this book may not be suitable for all readers.

    ¿So I only have one word to describe this book. Awe! I am totally in awe of the strength and courage of Hayley! Radiate is the story of Hayley Matthews who in her senior year of high school wants to do something more with her life. She has been in the high school band and made it through most of her high school years unnoticed. But she is tired of blending in. She wants to finally stand out! To be noticed. To do something MORE! So she trades in her trumpet for a pair or pompoms. Despite the challenges of being a cheerleader, she pushes herself to excell in her sport. Little does she know that her body is fighting against her. After a few weeks of practice, she notices a pain in her leg, but thinks that it is from all the extra exercise from practice. So she ignores it as best she can and keeps pushing forward, until one day she notices a knot on her leg and finally tells her parents. After a couple doctors appointments, and harsh diagnoses, her mother calls in Hayley's uncle who is a doctor to get his opinion. He tells them that he believes that she has osteosarcoma. He helps them to understand some of the things that will be involved in fighting this disease and helps them find a doctor he feels will be the best match for them. Hayley says goodbye to her friends and heads to the UAB Hospital to begin her fight. Though she spends most of her summer there, she tries to stay optimistic. She doesn't allow herself to feel sorry for herself or wish her diagnosis on anyone else. She is going to fight this. She is going to win! Even after her surgery, she continues to prepare herself for the cheerleading season ahead. She will not let cancer stop her! She watches videos of her squad practicing their routines. She even goes to a practice with a local squad that came to visit her in the hospital. She is determined that she will be part of her squad and be the best cheerleader she can be. With all her focus on doing this, cancer never even has a chance to consume her mind. She never really lets it in. But there are so many obstacles that she is going to have to over come. Will she be able to find the Something More she was looking for? Will she continue to be able to be a part of her squad after she surgery? Well I guess you will just have to read and find out, cause that's all your getting out of me!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    Emotional

    The book cover gives you the idea that the book is about a cheerleader-well she is, but not the average high school cheerleader that you see in movies and such. Hayley Matthews has a dream to be popular. And now she is. But then she is diagnosed with cancer, and she finds out that you dont need a boyfriend to be popular. And you are very fortunate in many ways. This book is very inspirational and is a very good read for Young Adults

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Inspiring and emotional read

    Hayley is such an inspiring character. She's so positive and I'd hope that if I ever got cancer, I could keep that kind of attitude. This is more than a book about cancer though, it is a book about survival, the bonds of family, and about living to fight another day so that you can do what you love. Hayley was so strong, and it kinda inspired me to be a better person. She went through so much more than I have and I've been much more down than her, but I love that she still made time for others, and didn't get so focused on herself.
    I related to this book because even though there is nothing wrong with being a "band geek" or a "jrotc nerd" which was exactly what I was, and mostly happy about it, I wondered occasionally how the popular side lived. It was neat to read about someone crossing that divide, being able to fit in and loving what she does.
    Not only is Hayley a great main character, I also enjoyed Lora and Gabriel. They rang true to me, and I would love to have friends like them.
    This book is very emotional at times, I was tearing up at a few parts, and I think that Ms. Gibson did a good job being descriptive, moving the plot along, and making me connect with the characters.
    It made it even more awesome that Ms. Gibson wrote from experience and her personal life, and the foundation that she started.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    Inspiration & Courage in the face of Cancer!

    Reading Radiate was an emotional experience for me. The emotions expressed in the book are so much the ones I felt going through my own battle with cancer. She captured the experience & emotions as only someone who has been through the experience can. She brought the reader into the story & showed the strength, courage & even the faults survivors go through in dealing with the disease. The quotes she used throughout the book inspire hope & can be applied to everyday goals. I would recommend this book to anyone going through a rough time & in need of a shot of encouragement. This book truly inspires! ~ Maria (8 yr survivor)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2012

    Best YA book in a loooooooooooooong time!!!

    I've read all of Marley's Ghost Huntress books and really loved them. Had no idea I could love something even more but I did with Radiate. This book is totally wow. I mean, it's good as a YA book with rich, relatable characters and a premise that is totally believable. And then I find out it's based on Marley' - the authors - real life story and her battle with cancer as a teenage cheerleader. That means she knows where she's coming from and what she's talking about. I thought the swirling emotions going on with Hayley were extremely real and true to her situation. Of course she's going to have good and bad days when she's fighting cancer but she approached things in a positive manner 'cause all she wanted was to get back to cheerleading which totally made sense for a kid that age. I think this book will mean a lot to teens going through any kind of hardship like difficulties in school, an illness of their own, troubles at home, etc., as well as adults who can see what their kids go through and how they react to adversity. If I could give this more stars, I would. Ten of them. Twenty even. Buy the book. It's amazing and uplifting and heartwarming and REAL. Kudos to Ms. Gibson for opening her heart and sharing this very personal story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2012

    A wonderful read, very uplifting!

    A wonderful read, very uplifting!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    I've been hearing about this book for months and have been dying

    I've been hearing about this book for months and have been dying to read it. I was able to get my hands on a couple early from Marley at an event. Once I started reading I just couldn't put it down.
    A fictional story based on the real events that happened in Marley's life, the reader connects with the characters. I've always loved Marley's characters because you can connect with them, and understand them.
    I've already recommended the books to friends. This is an amazing and inspiring story of how not to give up with faced with adversity and to keep going even when faced with something that is bigger than you.
    A truly uplifting story that should be read by cancer fighters and cancer survivors.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2013

    Read this book you absolutely will not regret it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Read this book you absolutely will not regret it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2012

    Awesome read, really inspirational! While I'm probably not

    Awesome read, really inspirational!

    While I'm probably not the target demographic for this book (I'm a 33 year old Male!) have to say I enjoyed it immensely. You will find yourself rooting for Haley the whole time. I've been going through some tough times in my life, although nothing like the challenges Haley faced, but her story inspired me to look at things in a different way.... and that with a positive attitude many things are possible. If you like cheerleading or just want to read something inspiring, this book is for you! It would also make a great gift for teenage readers, as well!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Love!

    I absolutely loved this book. Hayley's positive thinking is so inspiring and this book really makes you think. Cancer is a serious illness and this book really shows how positivity and a caring, loving family can get you through anything.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    This is an amazingly inspirational story! Hayley is a strong yo

    This is an amazingly inspirational story! Hayley is a strong young woman and she's a true role model. A great read for all ages!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    I Loved Radiate! Haley is such a strong character, especially wi

    I Loved Radiate! Haley is such a strong character, especially with what she has to go thru. It's very inspirational, even if you're fighting other health issues besides cancer. Marley must be a strong person going thru this as a teen. Marley is a great writer & I'd read her books anytime!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    My Overall Thoughts/Impressions: First off, I'd like to thank ne

    My Overall Thoughts/Impressions: First off, I'd like to thank netgalley and the publisher for sending me an e-galley of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.

    Secondly, I'd like to say I was hesitant to read this one. Somebody very close to me was diagnosed with cancer several months ago. This person is now in remission and is expected to make a full recovery. However, ever since then I've avoided reading books or watching movies about cancer.

    This book was an exception. I had heard such beautiful things about this book and decided that I needed to check it out. I started this book not knowing what to expect. I ended up loving it. This book didn't make me cry, instead it left me impressed by how strong people can be. Hayley Matthews endured this whole experience with a grace and a determination that I know I couldn't have possessed while facing such an immense challenge.

    The story read so flawlessly. I even had to remind myself at times that I was just reading. It just felt so real. I enjoyed reading this book immensely and know it will stick with me.

    In Summary: A poignantly written book that I absolutely adored reading and one that I definitely recommend to fans of young adult realistic contemporary fiction.

    Warnings/Side-notes: Some swearing and instances of strong language and references to alcohol. However, for the most part fairly clean.

    The Wrap-up: This novel wasn't anything like I thought it would be and yet it was so much better. I think that this novel was powerfully written and beautifully portrayed.

    Love,

    Danica Page

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Inspiring!!

    Hayley is a great character and I think its a very truthful look at how someone goes through a diagnosis of cancer. Marley actually says she wrote this based on her own dealing with cancer as a teen and I can believe it. The emotions are raw and you feel drawn to keep reading page after page to hear what happens next. There is some strong language used in the book, but it fits with the raw emotions that are felt, so I can kind of see its use. What I love is how strong she is, how she is driven to make cheerleading not just an activity, but a reason for her survival. If that ever happened I can only hope to have Hayley's courage and outlook. She is a character that anyone can love.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    This book gets you at the core. It tugs at your heart and bring

    This book gets you at the core. It tugs at your heart and brings tears to your eyes. Hayley Matthews is a fighter, plain and simple, and she won't let anything stop her from her goal of being a varsity cheerleader. Now, people might think this is a vapid or shallow goal, but when you're a teenager and achieve the accomplishment of high school "royalty" like being a cheerleader, this is big business. Now imagine doing that, but being tamped down by cancer. Cancer! Not many of us would be able to handle cancer the way Hayley did. She faced it head on, never letting it get the best of her, or breaking her. Sure, she has her moments of "woe is me" and letting the tears flow, but overall she handles it with determination, a can-do attitude, and the desire to never let it knock her down. Great secondaries in her parents, Nan and Jared, her partner, Lora, Lora's uncle, Ross, and the boys, Daniel and Gabriel. I hated putting this book down and when I got to the end and read the note from the author's mother, I was astounded to see it was based on the author, Marley Gibson's, own battle with cancer when she herself was a high school cheerleader. Cheerleading is a tough enough sport without throwing in the challenge of cancer. I applaud Hayley Matthews and I applaud Marley Gibson for bring the YA genre a book that has teeth, one you can sink yourself into, cheer along, and radiate. Well done and highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    Bluepaw

    I want a little sibling

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    Greysky

    Where are all the kits? I posted here last night d no reply?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    Farrah to the newborn kit

    A plump, motherly brown shecat ran in. She curled around the kit, and licked it, keeping it warm. She found two strong sticks roughly the size of a kits leg, then washed the wounds. She tied dock, marigold, and the stick together tightly with cobweb, as a splint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    to all

    Goodbyeleaving the in active clan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2