Customer Reviews for

Rae of Hope

Average Rating 4.5
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic Read!

Rae Kerrigan is fifteen years old and goes to a boarding school where she learns some shocking secrets--secrets that leave her questioning her family history. I loved Rae's personality as well as all the friends she meets at her new school. Her crush is sexy...and unava...
Rae Kerrigan is fifteen years old and goes to a boarding school where she learns some shocking secrets--secrets that leave her questioning her family history. I loved Rae's personality as well as all the friends she meets at her new school. Her crush is sexy...and unavailable but I was rooting for Rae every minute! The tatùs are beyond super cool, giving the teens supernatural powers depending on the shape of their marking. They receive this special marking on their 16th birthday. I really enjoyed watching the kids use their powers and learn how to control them. The books is gripping and will keep you turning the pages like me! It's such a fun read with a solid plot and a fantastic cast of charaters I fell in love wth! I can't wait for book 2!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars without a doubt!

posted by DonnaJohnson on September 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

YA paranormal romance

Overall, a good story. I enjoyed the charactors and the story line. The editing errors were numerous to the point of interferring with the ability to just read and enjoy the story. I would like to read the sequel to find out how the story ends, but i am not sure I wi...
Overall, a good story. I enjoyed the charactors and the story line. The editing errors were numerous to the point of interferring with the ability to just read and enjoy the story. I would like to read the sequel to find out how the story ends, but i am not sure I will, because of the poor editing.

posted by Deb-NH on August 16, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    First of all, I hate to say this but there’s something abo

    First of all, I hate to say this but there’s something about this book that constantly reminded me of Harry Potter series. As much as I try to avoid making comparison blindly between the two books, the resemblance just seemed obvious. However, I’m not going to emphasize on the similarities, rather I’d like to focus on the uniqueness Rae of Hope possessed that makes the book beautiful in its own way.

    The plot was just okay for me. It didn’t impress me much, very usual yet it was enjoyable and the drama kept pouring in. There’s so much anticipation as well as apprehension within the story that will keep readers glued to the book. I particularly loved the twists toward the end of the story which no readers will see coming because it brought some sort of wicked surprise factor to the book. And of course not forget to mention the love-triangle and who doesn’t like a good love-triangle in a story? In the case of Rae of Hope however, there’s plenty of innocent crushes going on that sets the tension within the friendships. That’s the one thing I found completely unique about Rae of Hope. When other YA novels have their heroin unpretty, sullen and weak, Rae is attention-grabber and the male students just can’t get enough of her. I only wished she would flirt with each a bit just to make the romance aspect a little more interesting. Wanita May wrote the story in third person perspective and it was great since most YA authors tend to use first-person to narrate their stories. The writing was absolutely flawless and put together with vivid descriptions of both Rae’s emotions as well as the setting. I have no particular favorite character but all in all, Rae of Hope had great characters line up, each had their own persona and charisma. I wished I had a classy but generous roommate like Molly back in college. Also, the villain in the story was so unpredictable that I had hard time guessing who is bad or good.

    Wanita May ended her story in a typical romantic scene rather than a cliffhanger. Still, there’s more to expect in the future from this series and it would be interesting to find out what will become of Rae, Devon and the rest of the characters in another school term at Guilders. I would recommend this book to fans who enjoy Harry Potter series and Imogen Rose’s Initiation.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Rae of Hope was the first book I have read by WJ May and it won&

    Rae of Hope was the first book I have read by WJ May and it won’t be the last..I instantly liked Rae and found myself engulfed in her story. The story was intriguing and pulls you right in. I love the idea of the tatu’s and learning what they meant, what each tatu shape stands for and how they were a huge part of the past that Rae never knew about.The journey that Rae takes grabs you and takes you along for the ride!

    I can’t wait for the next book to see what happens next year at Guilder Boarding School!

    Froggy for Froggarita's bookcase

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful, Unique Story!!!

    Rae doesn’t remember what started the fire that took her parents lives and led her to live with her aunt and uncle. It’s nearly 10 years later, and that night is still one big question mark. When she is accepted into the Guilder Boarding School in England, she hopes she will finally receive some answers. Turns out, they’re not the answers she expected. Rae soon realizes that Guilder is no ordinary boarding school. It is a school for the gifted... the supernaturally gifted. Her classmates all receive tattoos, or ‘tatus,’ on their sixteenth birthdays. Tatus that come with special powers and great responsibility. And Rae’s sixteenth birthday is only months away. Along with that unexpected shock comes the revelation that both her parents were inked and gifted and that her father may not have used his powers for good - not exactly the sweet sixteen she had in mind. Even worse? All eyes are on Rae, scrutinizing her every move, but never asking the one question they all want to know: What exactly did she inherit from her father, and what will she do with whatever gifts he passed on to her?

    “‘You can’t undo the past. The sins of the father are the sins of the son, or in this case, daughter.’”

    Will Rae be able to prove them wrong? Rae of Hope is a coming-of-age story with a paranormal twist. Kudos to W.J. May for creating such a different and intriguing young adult story.

    I really enjoyed Rae’s classmates. They were all rare individuals, and it was so much fun learning about their different inks and what abilities they possessed. They had great interactions with one another and were very well-developed characters. I found myself suspecting every one of Rae’s peers as the potential “bad guy,” only to be completely shocked when the antagonist was revealed! I love being surprised, and I really enjoyed this unique story. It had a very X-men-meets-House of Night feel, while still maintaining its wonderful originality. I definitely look forward to the next installment and to finding out what happens to Rae and her friends.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    W. J. May’s Rae of Hope blends J. K. Rowling’s Harry

    W. J. May’s Rae of Hope blends J. K. Rowling’s Harry Potter with the Casts’ House of Night and television’s Heroes and X-Men to imagine a school for the powerful hidden away in the English countryside. Rae’s parents died in a mysterious fire when she was a child. Now living with an Aunt and Uncle in America, she’s surprised to find herself invited to join the very select and curious Guilder boarding school. But many more surprises await as she learns about her past and what being “the girl who survived the fire” means to her future.

    I’m not sure I’d ever thought of Manchester and Edinburgh being at “different ends of the country,” nor of blindfold chess being like “some twisted live action game” with unknown rules and goals, but perhaps my Englishness and my family’s chess-playing background are holding me back. Rae, of course, is held back by her American-ness, easily assuming she’s being put down by those cliquey schoolkids, determined to go it alone, and, like any teen, failing to see the subtext. The story’s intriguing, and the burgeoning attraction to boys is natural, but the voice has a teenaged awkwardness that grates sometimes, and some word choices feel rather odd to my English American ears.

    Like the Philospher's Stone in Harry Potter, Rae of Hope covers Rae’s first year at Guilder and ends with the summer. It’s an interesting start to a series, with special powers neatly tied to mysterious tatus (not quite tattoos), all the fun and pain of growing up, sweet tinges of romance, divided loyalties, and the hope of more to come. Are the sins of the fathers truly inherited with the tatus, or can a fiery girl blaze her own unique path? I guess we'll have to wait to find out.

    Disclosure: I received a free ecopy of this novel from the author in exchange for my honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Rae of Hope started off as a great book, and guess what? It neve

    Rae of Hope started off as a great book, and guess what? It never got boring! It was filled with great ideas, and I certainly loved the fantasy in it, and everything felt great while reading this book. Not too much drama, not too much romance, and not too much fantasy either. I just felt like everything was a perfect measure.
    Rae is an awesome protagonist. Her uncle suddenly tells her that she got a scholarship to Guilder Boarding School. Not only to find that it wasn't any normal school, but she was also considered to be the "star" or the "famous" one in the school, because of her past!
    I loved the idea where every teenager gets marked by a tatù! I just loved the feeling of finding out what tatù Rae would be marked with, and what she could do with it! The idea of the tatù's felt brilliant to me!
    The characters all felt real to me, and the story wasn't fast paced or slow either. The suspense was great, and the ending wasn't a cliffhanger either (thank God). It was a fun, and interesting read! I definitely can't wait to get my hands on the second book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2015

    This is an interesting series book 1.  New plot (to me), editing

    This is an interesting series book 1.  New plot (to me), editing problems though. I find them all and eBooks seem to have a lot of them.  Will get the next book for sure. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2014

    Must Read

    I loved this book. A must read. Very well written with a great story line. Read all the books, they are all great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2014

    enjoyable

    Reminiscent of Harry Potter. A special school for "gifted" students. It was well written and had enough plot twists to keep your attention. The absence of course language and explicit scenes make it very suitable for young readers as well as mature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A Fun, Unique Story!

    Rae of Hope is so good, you will not want to put it down. I love when the setting is at a boarding school. In this book it's Guilder Boarding School in England. This is one of my favorites now, can't wait to see what is next.

    Rae is a fifteen year old living with her aunt and uncle in New York. Her parents were killed in a fire when she was six. One day she receives an acceptance letter to Guilder Boarding School. She is wondering how they even heard about her. She packs up and leaves behind the only place she has known for the past ten years or so. Rae has no idea what is in store for her when she arrives. She meets her new roommate Molly. Molly is very into fashion and never stops talking. She also meets some more girls in her dorm. The boys are gorgeous but she only has eyes for Devon. Rae soon find out that this is no normal boarding school. Everyone here is gifted, they receive a tatu (tattoo) when they turn sixteen. It appears on their body on their birthday and then they have a special power. She also finds out pretty fast that everyone seems to know more about her past and her parents then she does. Things are not always what they seem and she doesn't always know who to trust. When Rae's tatu is revealed it is pretty cool. Oh yeah and the ending is so good.

    I really enjoyed reading this book. The story flowed really well and I loved the characters right from the beginning. It is full of friendships, romance, suspense and lots of action. If I could jump in a book this would be one I would love to be in. I'm looking forward to reading the sequel and reading more about Rae and her friends. This e-book was provided to me by the author for review. This did not affect my review in any way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2014

    I was really surprised at how into the book I found myself. I wa

    I was really surprised at how into the book I found myself. I want to say this book has a bit of magic not wand flying type magic but more of the paranormal magic. We follow Rae (which I love her name) as she is thrown into this world of learning her father's past, going to a school where every one knows more about her than she does it seems. She gets some answers to the secrets that have been plaguing her. Rae isn't a normal girl, she is so much more and the Guilder School wants to keep an eye on her. I loved the whole tatú and its meaning. That is a pretty cool twist. 
    Now on to some of the characters. I liked Rae at the beginning. But then she started to annoy me. You have repeating at different times on how she was glad Molly was her roommate. Yes we get it, you are so happy/glad/whatever other emotions. Not only that she seemed childish with her jealousy towards Beth Devon's girlfriend. I can understand kind of being jealous because you like the girls boyfriend and what not. But Beth was never totally rude or acting like Haley did. Haley is one of the girls that is in the boarding school with Rae. It seemed as though Rae would seem a bit grown up even though she is still a young teen, fifteen-sixteen. Then turn around and act childish. It was a bit turn off for me liking the character. 
    Now Devon a whole other story. He seemed sweet, so willing to help out, I felt he was a bit of a flirt with Rae. 
    The other boys wow pretty pushy is the way that I felt with them. 
    The other girls, Marie, Molly, the twins you don't get a lot of story with them though they are throughout the story. And they all have their own quirks but not over the top. 
    Will for sure be looking into reading book two. I want to see what Rae's future holds for her and will she finally get all the answers she seeks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    Good fantasy read with a touch of innocent romance. Enjoyable author.

    ##

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    HURRY TAP THIS NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    U MAY DIE IF U READ THIS SO DOOONNNNTTTT READ THIS I SAID STOP READING THIS? HEY WHY R U READING HIS STILL? STOOOOP :( :( :( :( :( YOU REALLY SHOULD STOP READING THIS GO TO ANOTHER REVIEW AND LIVE DONT DIE.I NEED U STOP READING THIS U MIGHT DIE *tears falling down face* PLZ STOP

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    ...It. Was. Awesome.

    The characters are all so great, I loved their personalities they were so well written.

    I had moments when I was so caught up in this book that I actually wanted to start yelling at Rae and tell her what to do.

    All in all it left me wanting more. A must read for any paranormal/ fantasy fan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1