Customer Reviews for

Rae of Hope

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic Read!

    Rae Kerrigan is fifteen years old and goes to a boarding school where she learns some shocking secrets--secrets that leave her questioning her family history. I loved Rae's personality as well as all the friends she meets at her new school. Her crush is sexy...and unavailable but I was rooting for Rae every minute! The tatùs are beyond super cool, giving the teens supernatural powers depending on the shape of their marking. They receive this special marking on their 16th birthday. I really enjoyed watching the kids use their powers and learn how to control them. The books is gripping and will keep you turning the pages like me! It's such a fun read with a solid plot and a fantastic cast of charaters I fell in love wth! I can't wait for book 2!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars without a doubt!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    received this book from the author to review. I loved it! It is

    received this book from the author to review. I loved it! It is a coming-of-age story, but it certainly is not typical. Rae spent her first years in England. One day, when Rae was 6, her mother told her to go play in her treehouse until she came to get her. Then there was a fire in the house that killed both her mother and father. Rae was taken in by her Uncle Argyle and his wife and led a typical life in New York until she was 15. Then her Uncle sent her back to England to a boarding school. She soon found out it was a "special" school for uniquely talented teenagers. This book just flew for me. I didn't want to put it down. It had the perfect balance of twists and Rae's developing emotions and friendships. I hightly recommend it and can't wait to see if there is a sequel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Fun Fantasy That Will Keep You Turning The Pages What I Loved

    A Fun Fantasy That Will Keep You Turning The Pages

    What I Loved:

    I loved the idea of a tatú! I want one! Seriously. Besides the awesome idea of tatús, the plot was engaging; if I pick it apart it's not 'original' at all, but put together it's very fresh and original. I really sympathized with the main character, Rae, and was very surprised with how much I ended up enjoying the story.

    What I Didn't Like:

    I don't want to give spoilers... let's just say I never liked "Snape," no matter how good his intention or how much he was 'redeemed' by the author later on. That doesn't justify his earlier actions. This same sentiment is shared with the behavior of the kids at Guilder as well- only they don't have any honorable reasoning to back them up.

    My Overall Opinion:

    I really sympathized with Rae-- if not from the very beginning, then very quickly after. She was a lost girl, sent to a different country and arriving at a school where she is the only one that doesn't know what's up. To follow my Harry Potter analogy- imagine if Harry wasn't told what Hogwarts was, but was sent there by the Dursleys and given all his school stuff when he got there. And really, if you liked Harry Potter (who didn't) there are a ton of things in Rae of Hope that reflect elements of everyone's favorite boy wizard.

    I didn't care much for the way the other students treated Rae, especially in the beginning. While she does eventually make friends with a few, I just felt really sorry for her. She had no idea what her family's history was, and they really shouldn't judge her from that. Still... even with this happening a lot and being an annoyance, the book itself was really good. Great job, I can't wait to see what W.J. May comes out with next.

    Disclaimer:

    This book was provided for me at no charge, nor was I given compensation
    of any kind for this review. This review only reflects my personal opinion.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    In most families elders try to keep their kids from getting tattoos, but in this family it¿s a must.

    In most families elders try to keep their kids from getting tattoos, but in this family it¿s a must.
    This story has tons of action and is also a bit of a coming of age story. Rae is learning fast that her family is much more than she ever believed it was and much more dangerous. Through Rae¿s journey to find out the truth about her family and trying to stay alive she learns more about herself. The characters growth can be seen throughout the story and I really liked her character.
    The adventure and suspense in this story had me captivated right from the start. I highly recommend ¿Rae of Hope¿ to lovers of fantasy/suspense.

    Join Rae on her journey to find the truth in ¿Rae of Hope¿ by W.J. May

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    A read you don't want to miss!

    If you love fantasy and suspense, this book is for you. A quest to find out about her family's past, her search to find herself and why she is the "chosen" one, Rae receives her mark on her sixteenth birthday and enters into a strange world full of drama, fantasy, suspense, betrayal, and romance - all ingredients for a great read. The author has succeeded in establishing a character that leaves the reader wanting more. Can't wait for the next book in this series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Enjoyable Read

    Rae of Hope was an enjoyable read with a great cast of characters and a good mixture of paranormal, mystery and romance. Definitely a plot I would recommend to fans of young adult fiction and readers of paranormal. I hope the sequel will be out soon.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    Great Read!!!!

    this was a great read for any age it was exciting and I would definitely read more from this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Good read would definitely recommend this book  loved it please

    Good read would definitely recommend this book  loved it please tell me there will be a part two

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great read for young and old.

    I loved this book. The author has a great writing style and the characters are both endearing and funny. I particularly liked the MC, Rae. It starts with her being accepted into the unique, gifted Guilder Boarding School in England when she receives a scholarship. Then she finds out she's part of an unappalled group of people who become marked with a unique tatoo on their sixteenth birthday. Rae is surprised to learn that the tatù gives them supernatural powers that matches their individual tatoo. and although this is exciting to her, she's shocked to learn that her parents were also marked. Rae had no idea because her they died when she was a child. When Rae discovers that her father was actually a very evil man, she's mortified and worried that her family's past come to haunt her. Though Rae falls in love at the school, it's a star-crossed love affair. And now, she has to make important decisions that will have the reader on the edge of their seat. A must for teenagers as well as adults. Wonderful writing and wonderful characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Hope

    If u want 2 read a great book turn 2 this 1. And it's all because hope might be their last chance 2 save their but's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    How many pages?

    •••

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    I loved this book

    I was looking for a series i could read on the bus going to work each day i loved this book i cant wait to read the next one! I really have never read a fantasy story but this series has made me a fan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Excellent booked. Hooked on the series now.

    Easy reading. Hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Pleasantly surprised - very well written

    It was free, so I figured "why not?" The book was easy to read and kept me interested. I would let my 13 year old read it and am looking forward to getting the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2