Customer Reviews for

Rage (Alex Delaware Series #19)

Average Rating 3.5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A terrific Dr. Delaware thriller

In Los Angeles, the call surprises Dr. Alex Delaware because he had no idea that Rand Duchay was God forbid free; a frantic Rand pleads with Alex to see him immediately. Alex agrees thinking back eight years when then thirteen years old Randolph and his friend almost f...
In Los Angeles, the call surprises Dr. Alex Delaware because he had no idea that Rand Duchay was God forbid free; a frantic Rand pleads with Alex to see him immediately. Alex agrees thinking back eight years when then thirteen years old Randolph and his friend almost fourteen years old Troy Turner abduct and killed twenty-five months old Kristal Malley. Alex was the psychologist who dealt with the teen murders. Not long afterward someone at the Chino CYA camp for juvenile defenders killed Troy................... Alex arrives at the meeting place, but Duchay fails to show up. Surprised, Alex, who is to meet his beloved in New York tomorrow, informs Police Lieutenant Milo Sturges about what happened. The cop mentions a murder victim who turns out to be Rand. Is this a revenge killing perhaps the baby┬┐s father whose rage was obvious when the state cut a deal with the defense, an idle act, or someone insuring the truth of the infanticide never surfaces?..................... RAGE is a terrific Dr. Delaware thriller that grips the audience when Alex recalls (in a flashback) the heinous crime and the reactions of the two teens who committed the murder. Alex is super in this novel especially his asides such as fearing Rand will find another dominant personality to coax him along for a deadly ride. The who-done-it is well designed so that readers know that everyone involved just about believe Duchay deserved death including to a degree Milo and Alex, but they overcome their personal disgust while seeking the killer. Fans of the series will be elated with Jonathan Kellerman┬┐s latest tale.................. Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

I have read all of Kellerman's books, and usually enjoy them. This one, though, had quite a hodgepodge of characters, none of them fully developed. I started losing track of the characters and their purposes in the plot. Definitely not up to par - and I agree, bring R...
I have read all of Kellerman's books, and usually enjoy them. This one, though, had quite a hodgepodge of characters, none of them fully developed. I started losing track of the characters and their purposes in the plot. Definitely not up to par - and I agree, bring Robin back! When she left she took all of Alex's personality!

posted by Anonymous on June 30, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2005

    Disappointing

    I have read all of Kellerman's books, and usually enjoy them. This one, though, had quite a hodgepodge of characters, none of them fully developed. I started losing track of the characters and their purposes in the plot. Definitely not up to par - and I agree, bring Robin back! When she left she took all of Alex's personality!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not something to write home about!

    This book was the second of the Alex Delaware series that I have read, it was okay but it needed to get to the point. I haven't read too much of this author but I already have an opinion formed of the style of writting. I get through the almost the whole book and not much has really happened. I feel like too many characters were drawn in this book and it was too much of a task to try and remember them all. I will read more from this author because they are good inbetween books to read. Hope you like it better than I.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2007

    An Excellent Story

    I liked this book alot. This is the first time I've ever read a Kellerman's novel. This mystery was interesting and intense. So I give it 2 thumbs up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2005

    couldn't finish it

    I labored through the first half of the book then finally decided to stop wasting my time. Boring plot lines. Definitely not up to par.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A terrific Dr. Delaware thriller

    In Los Angeles, the call surprises Dr. Alex Delaware because he had no idea that Rand Duchay was God forbid free; a frantic Rand pleads with Alex to see him immediately. Alex agrees thinking back eight years when then thirteen years old Randolph and his friend almost fourteen years old Troy Turner abduct and killed twenty-five months old Kristal Malley. Alex was the psychologist who dealt with the teen murders. Not long afterward someone at the Chino CYA camp for juvenile defenders killed Troy................... Alex arrives at the meeting place, but Duchay fails to show up. Surprised, Alex, who is to meet his beloved in New York tomorrow, informs Police Lieutenant Milo Sturges about what happened. The cop mentions a murder victim who turns out to be Rand. Is this a revenge killing perhaps the baby¿s father whose rage was obvious when the state cut a deal with the defense, an idle act, or someone insuring the truth of the infanticide never surfaces?..................... RAGE is a terrific Dr. Delaware thriller that grips the audience when Alex recalls (in a flashback) the heinous crime and the reactions of the two teens who committed the murder. Alex is super in this novel especially his asides such as fearing Rand will find another dominant personality to coax him along for a deadly ride. The who-done-it is well designed so that readers know that everyone involved just about believe Duchay deserved death including to a degree Milo and Alex, but they overcome their personal disgust while seeking the killer. Fans of the series will be elated with Jonathan Kellerman¿s latest tale.................. Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    A lage badger

    Goes away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    I hate people to whats ur name.

    D** IT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    It was OK

    I like the working relationship between Dr Delaware & Milo, however, some of the storylines work & some are just OK & this is one of them.
    I usually wait a few years after the books release to pick it up as it isn't worth the expectation of paying the asking price. At one time Kellerman's books were.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2009

    OK Reading.

    This book was just OK. The constant descriptions of the clothes everyone wore became tedious. The "I think this is what happened" scenarios got old too. This is the second Jonathan Kellerman book I've read (the first was Obsession, yawn!). At least this book had a story to follow. Some out-loud thinking works great but not all the time. I have one more book by J. Kellerman to read (Monster) and I hope it will be better than this one. If not, it will be the last Mr. Kellerman book that I read. --K--

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2008

    Confusing, Too many people

    It really grabbed me at the beginning. But after He started telling the story. I just got totally lost. There was too many people to keep track of that didn't have anything to make them memorable. The story was going in too many different ways. It was boring. I couldn't even finish it, and it was an audio book. -5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2008

    A reviewer

    A really great grabber to read. It took me only 4 nights to read this. What starts out as a good story ends with a great story! Mr Kellerman can spin a yarn as good as anyone else. A great book to grab.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2006

    I enjoyed this

    I've read all of the books by Jonathan Kellerman, and like them. Even those with weaker stories are interesting because of the characters' development. I liked Rage, although I understand the frustration of other readers - the spinning of theories did get thin. My biggest disappointment, though, is the suggestion at the end of Robin insinuating her way back. I didn't like her character - she was unyielding and judgemental. Also, I got the impression that Alex and Allison were more solid. All of a sudden they cannot resolve a disagreement, particularly one exacerbated by their exhaustion? I'll have to read his next book and keep my fingers crossed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2006

    What if?

    This is the first book by Kellerman that I have read. I will not quickly pick up another by this author. I thought the ending was a disaster.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2006

    Just too much and too many

    Just too convoluted, too many characters, too many coincidences. Sorry, even though I'm a big fan of the Alex Delaware character, just too much of the wrong things.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2006

    Rage (Alex Delaware Series #19)

    I found this Alex Delaware novel to be much less interesting that some of his earlier ones. (Maybe it's just time to retire old Alex?) Anyway, it's a bit on the boring side and develops in the same manner as all the previous A.D. stories. I wouldn't recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2005

    Rage (Alex Delaware Series #19)

    Having read all of Kellerman's books, I feel this one - and the others he's written over the past 3 or 4 years - are not nearly of the same quality of the earlier ones. RAGE started out OK and moved along for about the 1st half ... then was bogged down with all the characters / alternative theories. I'd lost interest by the last 100 pages. Ending was a dud. I wouldn't recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2005

    HEY, WHAT HAPPENED?

    This is an extremely pedestrian novel. No exciting entertaiment, just plodding with the usual, Milo etc. No imagination, not much suspense and certainly a book I could put down at any time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2005

    Disappointed

    The plot was intriguing and he's come up with a truly despicable character, but I agree with a previous poster that there were a lot of characters to keep track of. I wasn't happy with the way the book ended. There's no real resolution - Alex & Milo speculate a lot, but there's no confirmation. Any of their scenarios 'could' be correct. Maybe he's planning to continue the story in another book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2005

    Just Couldn't Finish It

    I am normally a fan, but this was a big disappointment. I picked it up and put it down several times and finally gave up....it just did not hold my interest at all. Don't waste your money on this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3