Customer Reviews for

Rage: A Love Story

Average Rating 4.5
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Sally Kruger aka "Readingjunky" for TeensReadToo.com

Don't let the hot pink cover and the label A Love Story deceive you. RAGE is Julie Anne Peters's most powerful book yet. The focus is on an abusive dating relationship and the toll it takes on victim and villain alike.

Two girls with their own personal dysfunctional ...
Don't let the hot pink cover and the label A Love Story deceive you. RAGE is Julie Anne Peters's most powerful book yet. The focus is on an abusive dating relationship and the toll it takes on victim and villain alike.

Two girls with their own personal dysfunctional family issues are drawn together by mutual feelings of love and lust.

Johanna has survived the death of both her parents and feels abandoned by her sister, whose choice was to remain at college when Johanna needed her most.

Reeve and her twin brother, Robbie, live with daily abuse from a drug addicted mother and her controlling boyfriend. She only knows one way to express her feelings, and Johanna becomes the recipient of a twisted kind of love.

Ever since Johanna laid eyes on Reeve, she has had fantasies about how things could be between them. It doesn't matter that Reeve practices a sort of tough love with everyone she meets. Reeve punching her brother and giving Johanna bruising kisses is just part of loving someone like her. Johanna knows Reeve suffers at home and is sure that loving her unconditionally is a way to protect her and fix whatever is wrong.

Despite warnings from her sister, her friend, and Reeve's old flames, Johanna continues the relationship even as she loses important pieces of her own life. As long as Reeve returns after each incident, Johanna believes that love will hold the answers.

Julie Anne Peters has created a relationship that will leave readers with mixed emotions. While trying to understand the power of love, they will be shaking their heads at the same time they are shaking their fists at the actions of characters on both sides of this tumultuous relationship.

RAGE provides an inside look at what might drive us to give up parts of ourselves for the sake of love.

posted by TeensReadToo on January 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I couldn't wait to get to the end! Not because it was such a gr

I couldn't wait to get to the end! Not because it was such a great book. I simply couldn't wait for it to be over.

First of all, the warning from "Children's Literature" that "there is quite a bit of graphic lesbian lovemaking" is completely unnec...
I couldn't wait to get to the end! Not because it was such a great book. I simply couldn't wait for it to be over.

First of all, the warning from "Children's Literature" that "there is quite a bit of graphic lesbian lovemaking" is completely unnecessary unless you consider kissing "graphic lesbian lovemaking."

Secondly, this is a misleading book. It's not about being a young lesbian. It's not about domestic violence. It's not about an abusive romantic relationship. It is a pointless book with a lot of violence without reason.

A sad representation of Julie Anne Peters' capabilities as a writer. Skip this one.

posted by LiteraryDixie on June 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sally Kruger aka "Readingjunky" for TeensReadToo.com

    Don't let the hot pink cover and the label A Love Story deceive you. RAGE is Julie Anne Peters's most powerful book yet. The focus is on an abusive dating relationship and the toll it takes on victim and villain alike.

    Two girls with their own personal dysfunctional family issues are drawn together by mutual feelings of love and lust.

    Johanna has survived the death of both her parents and feels abandoned by her sister, whose choice was to remain at college when Johanna needed her most.

    Reeve and her twin brother, Robbie, live with daily abuse from a drug addicted mother and her controlling boyfriend. She only knows one way to express her feelings, and Johanna becomes the recipient of a twisted kind of love.

    Ever since Johanna laid eyes on Reeve, she has had fantasies about how things could be between them. It doesn't matter that Reeve practices a sort of tough love with everyone she meets. Reeve punching her brother and giving Johanna bruising kisses is just part of loving someone like her. Johanna knows Reeve suffers at home and is sure that loving her unconditionally is a way to protect her and fix whatever is wrong.

    Despite warnings from her sister, her friend, and Reeve's old flames, Johanna continues the relationship even as she loses important pieces of her own life. As long as Reeve returns after each incident, Johanna believes that love will hold the answers.

    Julie Anne Peters has created a relationship that will leave readers with mixed emotions. While trying to understand the power of love, they will be shaking their heads at the same time they are shaking their fists at the actions of characters on both sides of this tumultuous relationship.

    RAGE provides an inside look at what might drive us to give up parts of ourselves for the sake of love.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2010

    rage

    an excellent book!!! i love this book, it made me laugh,cry, cringe and fell pity for the main character. a definite must read to people who dont mind homosexuals. Its about a lesbian fantising about another girl. But when she has to tutor a "speacial" kid in order for him to graduate Johannna(main charater) finds out that Robbie(specail kid) is Reeve's(Johanna's love interest) brother. but when she starts to get to know Reeve, things get complicated. please read

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2009

    MUST READ!!!

    This is a very good book, and i love it. I feel like im going through the same thing. This book makes youe see the love and hurt that the girl went through and makes you realize things. I think this is a book you can read again and again and you wont be able to not stop reading this. I think you can learn alot from this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Awesome book!

    I started reading this at 10pm last night, just finished it at 4:51am the next day! Couldnt put it down. An awesome read, it had me crying by the end.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Love dis book!!!!!!!!!

    This is by far, one of the top ten fav books ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Beautifully written love story

    Beautifully written love story with a twist.Emotions permeated throughout my body. Every time I turned the page another gasp of air would come from me. My soul tickled with grief.. Yes it was that excellent!! This is truly a must read for anyone, someone going through this type of relationship.
    PassionReads

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    good

    but i hated how it ended!! it was soo sad :(

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Rage, well what can I say, this book was a great read. It had me

    Rage, well what can I say, this book was a great read. It had me turning pages every minute.
    What caught me into the story was the tension and drama that increased between the main characters, Johanna and Reeve.
    Johanna, being the compassionate and caring girl she is, dedicates her time talking and taking care of others. After both her parents pass away, she depends on her sister and her girlfriend Reeve to provide the love and care she lacks in her life.
    Reeve on the other hand, is a rebellious and independent girl who doesn’t let people get in her way. Behind her attitude, there is a problem causing her to act abusive towards others. Her mother and her mother’s boyfriend both abuse Reeve and her twin brother, Robbie, which led to Reeve’s anger.
    Once both Reeve and Johanna are put together, they create a story filled with many mixed emotions. Johanna, after having fantasies about Reeve, decides to take a step and start something that could last. She understands how Reeve is being treated at home, so she tries to provide Reeve’s needs. 
    With this love comes pain, heartache, beauty, and even death. This book has more to offer than a short and simple love story, but more of a story about a strong and powerful love between 2 completely different girls.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    I couldn't wait to get to the end! Not because it was such a gr

    I couldn't wait to get to the end! Not because it was such a great book. I simply couldn't wait for it to be over.

    First of all, the warning from "Children's Literature" that "there is quite a bit of graphic lesbian lovemaking" is completely unnecessary unless you consider kissing "graphic lesbian lovemaking."

    Secondly, this is a misleading book. It's not about being a young lesbian. It's not about domestic violence. It's not about an abusive romantic relationship. It is a pointless book with a lot of violence without reason.

    A sad representation of Julie Anne Peters' capabilities as a writer. Skip this one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Melissa

    Very well-defined personalities, but if e could see some more older cats... The clan seems half-kit right now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    To MokingJay Reviews

    (This is to the mokingjay review person, not to the story! Dawn, the story is awesome!!) Hmmm..... your writing is sloppy and has MANY spelling errors. Stop acting like an expert. I highly reccomend checking your review after you write it. Rate: &starf

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    TMS

    Better! I love it! (Flightpaw)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    MockingJay Reviews

    It is comming along nicely i do appreiate that you added more descriptive wording and veiws. Ithink it may still be a littke slow but i warn you (DO NOT HAVE ACTION IN EVERY PART) it gets annoying. So, you need need neeeed ti work on texture and looks. Vary nice that you have cat that same age as you cat. But make sure. To have something good for adience. Rate: &star &star and a half of a star. - MockingJay Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    To dawn

    Nice story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    TJD to Dawn

    I like t! Nice detail and adjective use. I higly recommend that yu continue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    ~Chillkit's Destiny-part 1~

    "Chillkit! Get in here!" Chillkit snapped back to the world. She was a member of RiverClan. She was odd. She absolutely hated fish. Swimming was fine, though. Her icy blue eyes shone with mischeif. Tomorrow she would become an apprentice. Tommorow she could get away from her stepmother-Reedstem. Her father, Craneflight was her only family. She sighed and padded back to the nursery. "Yes, Reedstab-umm-Reedstem." She said, the other kits snickering. Four were to young to play-Riverkit, Stormkit, Tawnkit, and Ratkit. The other three kits were her age. Rapidkit, Currentkit, and Greenkit. Reedstem glared at her. The muddy brown eyes would not be very impressive, but her size made it very-intreresting. "Chillkit, I will tell you again, you are still a kit-" Chillkit tuned out Reedstem and went to go talk with the kits her age. Greenkit, a tan she with green eyes noticed her padding over first. "Hey Chillkit, come and talk with us." She said. Chillkit sat down between Greenkit and Currentkit, the blue-gray tom. Rapidkit, the strong gray and silver tom sat across from her. His blue eyes stood out against his gray pelt. "You excited? I mean-to become an apprentice?" Currentkit asked. His mom, Fishtail had taught him to clarify each sentance. It got a little anoying. Greenkit and Rapidkit were both Troutstar's kits. "Well, I am really excited. The only thing I will hate is the clean-up." Chillkit replied. "Thats exactly what I feel like." Rapidkit. The four kits talked untill sundown. Chillkit sighed. "Why don't we all sleep in that empty area?" She said, flicking her tail towards the spot. "Okay." Greenkit said, then folowed Chillkit. Rapidkit and Currentkit folloed after that. They made four nests and settled down to sleep.
    <br>
    <p>
    ~Thanks for reading. Don't forget to comment! ;-D Anyways, I will post part 2 soon. There will be more action in the next part. I just had to explain a ton of stuff.~
    <br>
    <p>
    ~Dawn

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    Great

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Loved it

    Good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    duffclan1@aol.com

    Please add me. duffclan1aol.comd

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Best book i've ever read!!!!

    Cant explain how much i love this book. The honesty in this story is indescribable.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4