Customer Reviews for

Raid on the Sun: Inside Israel's Secret Campaign That Denied Saddam the Bomb

Average Rating 4.5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Amazing & great read!

    Factual and a thrilling story of the men involved in one of the most audacious military operations in history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    Great book

    This book tells you why the Israeli air force and their Mosad are the best. Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2007

    A reviewer

    I was only 13 when the raid happened so I didn't know much about it. This book is excellent. I have nothing but admiration and respect for the Israeli Air Force. Those guys are truly amazing. They are fearless, professional and industrious. They trained for two years for this raid and much research was done by many to make this mission a success. Read this book. God bless Israel and the Jewish people !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2004

    RAID ON THE NUKES SADDAM

    THIS IS ONE OF THE MOST FASINATING RAIDS THAT ISRAEL HAS PULLED OFF TO SAVED ITS HOME. I COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN. WITH ALL THE TALK ABOUT WMDS THIS BOOK SHOULD TELL THE TRUTH CAUSE IN JUNE OF 1981 SADDAM BUILT NUKES AND ISRAELS AIRFORCE SENT ITS JETS IN TO BOMB AND DESTROY SADDAMS NUKES. THIS IS A GREAT BOOK AND SHOULD END THE ARGUMENT OF WMDS ONCE AND FOR ALL. ITS A GREAT BOOK.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2004

    Exciting and topical

    Both my father and I really enjoyed this book. It was a definite page-turner and an easy read. The various technical aspects of nuclear reactors and the raid itself are easily digestible by those of us with no military or science background. It's amusing to read about the negative world-wide (including USA) reaction at the time and compare it to all the talk now about how the Israelis really helped us out with Saddam twenty years ago by taking out his reactor. And regardless of where you stand on the middle east issues, after reading this book you'll have to have at least a grudging respect for Israeli military planning and execution.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2004

    This is one of the best surprises I¿ve read!

    I didn¿t expect this book to be this good. It really reads like a short Tom Clancy thriller. It is a very good, detailed account of the planning, and covert operations of the attack. It has everything; secrecy, high stakes, behind the scenes, espionage, humor, and first hand accounts by all the participants. I remember hearing the attack on the evening news in 1981, but I can¿t believe how little the world has known about the details (many of which were wrong). To me, this book wasn¿t dull and dry, but very exciting and a fast read. It gives very good background without going into overwhelming, worthless details. I highly recommend it especially to those who are readers of aviation and military history. It sheds a floodlight on an all but forgotten world changing event.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2004

    Anyone looking for an OUTSTANDING read

    I was amazed at how Claire manages to show the anticipation, anxiety and angst that comes from partcipating in a covert operation. Besides tons of information and background on the dictator Saddam, the story reads like a classic military tale . . . letting the reader in how important the Israeli Air Force felt it was to eliminate the threat of Saddam having access to a nuclear reactor and the means to make an atomic bomb. A must read for anyone wanting to fully understand the current situation in Iraq.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1