Customer Reviews for

Railsea

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Just to balace out the one star review

    Some one rated the book one star becasue they disliked the name of it. So i figured i give the book a five star rating to balnce out the injustice

    4 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Classic China

    One of his best.

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This is the first book I have read by this author but I had hear

    This is the first book I have read by this author but I had heard some buzz about his books. I picked this
    one because of the title and description.  I liked the story and really enjoyed the steampunk setting. The 
    descriptions of the environment were evocative and interesting. I would like to see this as a movie. I
    found the characters a little stiff although I may have let the writing itself get in the way of understanding
    or identifying with the characters. This is a YA book but it still seemed a little anachronistic for early
    adolescents. Last, I am not too appreciative of new characters thrown in at the last minute to support
    some plot twist and the end was off putting. Overall, I liked this book more than the review might suggest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Great

    Couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Yeah

    I just wanted to rate it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Fantastic tale

    This is another top notch story from Mieville and well worth the purchase!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Classic ideas taken to imaginative lengths

    Such a wild and crazy take on Moby Dick that I wondered how Mievile could resolve it in an ending that paid off. Then he did it. A wonderful (as in full of wonders) read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2012

    I found this to be an interesting and enjoyable read¿an original

    I found this to be an interesting and enjoyable read—an original concept, a good story, and an easier read than many of Mieville's recent books. (I've seen it characterized as a Young Adult book, but I thought it had more in common with Mieville's adult works than his previous YA book, Un Lun Dun. I would say it could readily be enjoyed by either group). I found the setting to be absolutely delightful, and I would love to see another novel set here (though I wouldn't expect to). It kept me up late at night, turning pages.

    That said, I don't think it's Mieville's best book, either. Besides the main character, I thought the characters seemed kind of thin. The plot was interesting but perhaps not as exciting as some of his other books. Additionally, although essentially what I expected, the ending was a little bit of an anticlimax, and slightly odd and unsatisfying.

    All that said, on balance it is still a great book, and perhaps a good introduction to the worlds of China Mieville.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    very good

    I had expected a somewhat dry book, from other reviews, but this was as fantastically enjoyable as Mieville's other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1