Customer Reviews for

Rain Fall (John Rain Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    Extremely Recommended- Warning: Highly Addicting

    This is an extremely amazing book with realistic action, characters, and plot. It is about the underbelly of the Japanese system and one man doing what he does best for a new cause now. There is also a romance element to it when he falls in love with one of his victim's daughter. All in all an excellent read and will make you want to devour the other books in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Non-traditional action hero is a great step for the genre!

    4.0 out of 5 stars Non-traditional action hero is a great step for the genre!, April 8, 2009

    John Rain, the protagonist of RAIN FALL, is a man between two cultures--Rain is neither American, nor Japanese. Even more so than caught between two cultures, Rain is forced to live outside both societies due to both the demons from his past and his current profession. Rain is a man that strives to rely and trust no one; however, not only does his partnership with a talented tech geek, Harry, begins to get closer than is comfortable--and, as if that wasn't enough to start trouble, Rain begins to develop feelings for the daughter of one of his victims. These two relationships (primarily the latter), pull Rain out of the comfortable, anonymous shadows he's lived in and into territory he's equally familiar with: danger.

    Unlike most popular action authors right now, Eisler's story and character casts off a pure American focus to embrace a more international feel. The mixed heritage of John Rain--and the resulting conflict that results from his lack of having a culture to truly call "home"--was a welcoming break from the standard fare of unquestioningly American heroes so common to the genre. Additionally, the jaded motivations and profession integral to the Rain series saves the reader from a long-suffering, unquestioningly-righteous martyr of a hero.

    By far the best aspect of Eisler's RAIN FALL was the amount of detail he packs into each scene. Rather than saying that John Rain walks down a street to stalk his human prey, Eisler says exactly what is happening in each moment. An assassin wouldn't just walk down a street, after all. Eisler gives the reader the benefit of Rain's experience (and necessary paranoia). As Rain walks down a street, he'll be juggling multiple considerations: counter-surveillance, how to run his own surveillance, possible dangers or problem zones, and how the person is to be assassinated. (Skeptical? Head on over to Barry Eisler's website and check out the RAIN FALL page to be able to preview the first chapter.)

    Now--to prove that Book Love Affair hasn't been completely swept away by Barry Eisler and RAIN FALL--there are some complaints. As with any debut novel, there are faults--the question often is if the faults can be overlooked or if they'll be improved in the future. While reading RAIN FALL, I found myself thinking: "I've seen this movie." (And, although a movie is slated to be released for RAIN FALL, that's not what I'm referring to.) Instead, what I mean is that some plot devices used are, perhaps, too common in the action genre. Regardless, I'm certain that this problem will resolve itself as the John Rain series progresses. I can't wait to start the next book: HARD RAIN.

    RAIN FALL is a must for action fans looking for a new perspective. Focus on the brilliant detailing rather than the plot and give the book a spin. Eisler's non-traditional action hero is a great step for the genre. Or, if you've already enjoyed Eisler's books, then you may wish to try out Vince Flynn or Lee Child (though the heroes can be almost a patriotic caricature of real characterization) or, if intrigued by the Japanese culture and heritage, perhaps try a book based in Japan or Japanese history. A good start in historical fiction based in Japan is James Clavell's Shogun.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2014

    Just getting to know this author Eisler. I like reading an espio

    Just getting to know this author Eisler. I like reading an espionage/action author who's really worked at the Agency. His martial arts depictions are great too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2013

    This is a fun read. The author does not try to make the reader f

    This is a fun read. The author does not try to make the reader feel the story is compelling. Nor does the novel start off with four parallel plot stories and try to merge them somewhere down the line. What "makes" this novel good is the accurate information about Judo, the authentic utter corruption between labor, and government and a straightforward story line. Outstanding are the tidbits of Japanese life, little hideaway restaurants, the very real presence of rabid Japanese racism, and accurate Japanese customs and habits. This is a genuine "Hammock Book". It's got all the little rewards spiced throughout the novel to keep the reader interested. Yes, I intend to purchase book # 2 "Hard Rain". If you liked "Aztec" by Gary Jennings, I feel you would like this page turner as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2012

    Pretty good for a series first

    Set in Tokyo, Jon Rain is a hired killer. The plot is pretty much what one expects ofd assassin novels, but the descriptions of the Japanese capital, Japanese culture and other things Japanese were the appealing point here.
    Would I read this one again? No. But I've moved through the next four 'Rain' novels. Interesting series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2012

    Okay but not a repeat read

    This was a very tough story to get into. It doesn't create a bond between the reader and the characters to pull you in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Fun!

    Very good. Fast read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A new good guy, bad guy assassin.

    I read a found book by Barry Eisler and enjoyed it so much I went right to Barnes and Noble and bought two more, "Hard Rain" and "Rain Fall". The character "Rain" is unique as a Japanese American assassin living variously in Hawaii, Japan, Hong Kong, Brazil and the USA. Barry Eisler has experience as a CIA operative at different command and administrative levels which gives him special insights into functions and abilities of the characters he has created. He gives them a ruthlessness and weakness that makes them more believable than many fictional story leads. The descriptions of locales that Rain travels to and operates in sparks the imagination and takes the reader right there on the spot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2010

    A waste of time.

    I was surprised at the "hero" of the book. He comes off as a heartless thug that enjoys killing people for no reason. In most of the books I read this guy would have been the villian. The book moves really slow, too. Lots of useless and long-winded explainations that add absoulutly nothing to the story. Reminds me of school when you had to write a story of 500 words or more. You came up with lots of useless stuff just to get the word count up.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    Mystery Set in Japan

    Even in a second read, this was a riveting mystery. The locale of Japan added a special dimension to the intrigue of the plot and the personal dilemma of the main character. Eisler is an excellent author who needs to write more. His listings are limited at this time, but hopefully he is working on new material. GOOD READ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Phenomenal Assassin Fiction

    The realm of assassin fiction/high-tech secret agent type stories is a rather new horizon for me. That being said, 'Rain Fall' was excellent. It is a pure pleasure to actually learn something while being entertained, and Barry Eisler managed to do just that. The hero of the story, assassin for hire John Rain, is instantly likable owing to the fact that he seems very human but doesn't beg the reader for sympathy. There are heavy thematic elements emphasizing jazz and whiskey bars that add a real sense of atmosphere. If you're a fan of a good action story this is the one for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fun Read!

    This is a fun read! I have never read any of Barry Eisler's books before this one, and it will not be the last. The day I finished I ran out and bought the next in the series. Good characters, fast paced, edge of your seat, and a quick fun read. Not too terribly original in the plot department, but tense regardless. His writing reminds me of David Morrell or Robert Ludlum.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Hard to put down...

    This fast paced action thriller will have you skipping appointments to finish the next chapter. Eisler writes like a person who has "been there, done that" and he brings the reader straight into the streets of Japan. At the end of this book I was very thankful to discover that this is only the first of the John Rain series. I can't wait to get to the rest!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2004

    SWEET!!!!!!!

    First off, Im a teenager who likes a good book. Having said that One day I was looking for a story, and I found this. The book, 'Rain Fall' I was intrigued so I picked it up. WOW! this book is amazing. I coundn't put it down. I zoomed through it in a week. I loved it. If ya like Grisham, but are sick of the lawyer deal, go with this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2004

    Rain Fall is great!

    Comparitively speaking Rain Fall and it's lead character, John Rain, has some similarities to the Burke series by Andrew Vachss but also stands alone with a hell of a lot more action and great pacing. Eisler is to be commended for his exceptional plotting and awe inspiring set pieces. Easily one of the best books I have read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2003

    One of the best books I have read!

    This is a great book. Full of action and excitement. Once you start reading you will not put this one down! I can't wait to read the seaqual to this book! Barry Eisler has become one of my favorite authors. A must read book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2003

    excellent debut........a fresh new thriller

    Mr. Eisler displays indepth knowledge of the Japanese martial arts and eastern philosophies. He intertwines the west with the east and brings out the differences. The Rain character is excellently portrayed and very believable. Very 'James Bondish' with his classy clothes and tastes of food and drink. Mr. Eisler writes a book that is hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2002

    An awesome first novel

    I was pleasantly surprised by this first novel from new author Barry Eisler. Rain Fall brings alive the streets of Tokyo in a way that no other thriller set in Japan has ever done. We really feel the electricity of the city through Eisler's narration. The characters are well written and engaging and the story itself really keeps pace. Technically, the book is very sound. The author himself is a black belt in Judo (a piece of information gleaned from the book flap) so the fight scenes are very realistic. Also, and a bonus for me, I got to learn quite a bit about Japanese politics. I'd highly recommend this book for someone looking for a good summer read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2002

    A COMPELLING READ

    Few fictional characters burst upon the scene fully realized, more than ready to take their place in the pantheon of unforgettable protagonists. Add one to that meager list with the creation of John Rain in Barry Eisler's dynamite debut 'Rain Fall,' In fact, Rain, an accomplished assassin , doesn't just burst upon the scene - he steamrollers into it. 'I insist on only a few questions,' Rain notes in describing himself and his occupation. 'Is the target a man? I don't work against women or children. Have you retained anyone else to solve this problem? I don't want my operation getting tripped up by someone's idea of a B-team, and if you retain me, it's an exclusive. Is the target a principal? I solve problems directly, like the soldier I once was, not by sending messages through unresolved third parties like a terrorist......I'm not a mercenary, although I was nothing more than that once upon a time. And although I do in a sense live a life of service, I am no longer samurai, either.' The son of an American mother and a Japanese father Rain served with Special Operations in Vietnam. For the past two decades he has led a life of scrupulously guarded anonymity aided by only one other person - Harry, a likeable computer whiz who fears he might be located by his electronic signature so doesn't use any unnecessary electrical appliances. To Harry, a refrigerator and air conditioning are easily expendable. Rain's latest assignment is to dispose of Kawamura, a highly placed government official. A short circuited pacemaker makes quick work of the official; it is a death that appears to be from natural causes. What puzzles Rain is to see a man searching through the dead man's pockets. A petty thief? Or, is there something more to this assignment than Rain realizes? Complications arise when Rain meets Midori, Kawamura's daughter, a beautiful jazz pianist. Romance is never on his agenda but the attraction between the two becomes undeniable. When Midori is endangered by those who believe she has information belonging to her father, Rain finds himself fighting not just for his life but hers as well. His cover has been blown, and he has only hours. The enemies he faces are rabid and relentless: a treacherous old foe from Rain's war years in Vietnam; a no-holds-barred figure from the nether world of Japanese corruption; and a won't-quit detective. Eisler has crafted an intense, can't-put-down read rich with scenes of contemporary Japan and gasp inducing action. Word is that he's already working on a follow-up - this reader can't wait.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2002

    A NOVEL OF MODERN JAPAN AND ASSASSINATION!!!

    Half Japanese and half American, ex-Green Beret and ex-CIA, John Rain is now a professional assassin who lives in Tokyo, Japan and specializes in killings that appear to be death by natural causes. When he completes a simple assignment and kills Yasuhiro Kawamura, a vice minister of what used to be the Ministry of Construction and Transportation, Rain suddenly finds himself caught in the middle of a national conspiracy that involves the Japanese government, the yakuza, and the United States Central Intelligence Agency. The dead vice minister had a disc filled with vital information concerning government payoffs to the yakuza, assassinations, and the CIA¿s role in all of it, and was planning to give it to a newspaper reporter. The minister hid the disc before his untimely death and now Rain¿s employers think the minister¿s lovely, young daughter, Midori, knows where it¿s located. They want Rain to find the disc and then kill her. The only problem is that John Rain has fallen in love for the first time in his life and is willing to risk everything to keep Midori alive. To do that, he will have to stay several steps ahead of his former employers and be willing to do battle against numerous odds in a fight to the death. RAIN FALL is Barry Eisler¿s first novel, and it¿s right up there with Trevanian¿s SHIBUMI, Richard Steinberg¿s THE GEMINI MAN, and the best of Robert Ludlum. This book crackles with avid suspense, in-depth characterization, unbelievable action, and an anti-hero who comes alive with his own unique code of honor that has the reader cheering for him as he takes on dozens of killers in hand-to-hand combat throughout the streets of Tokyo. It clearly shows that author Barry Eisler knows his Japan from first-hand experience. He gives the reader an insider¿s look at the country, its diverse culture, politics, criminal element, and the martial arts in a way that few other authors have ever been able to do. For those of you who enjoy a well-written novel with Japan as a backdrop, lots of authentic martial arts action, and a trained killer who knows when to draw the line and do what¿s right, then RAIN FALL is the book to read. Afterwards, you¿ll be waiting anxiously like me for the second novel in the series to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3