Customer Reviews for

Rain Song (Heart of Carolina Book #1)

Average Rating 4
( 189 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

A Stirring Debut

This book was nothing at all what I was expecting. The cover, while unique and inviting, does not begin to hint about the depth of this story. I was drawn immediately into the mystery of the story as Nicole takes us along to figure out her past. The finding of her we...
This book was nothing at all what I was expecting. The cover, while unique and inviting, does not begin to hint about the depth of this story. I was drawn immediately into the mystery of the story as Nicole takes us along to figure out her past. The finding of her website by Harrison just makes the story even more amazing. Some may see situations like this as coincidence but it's more about a plan that God always had in mind. I loved reading about the Japanese culture throughout the book. I felt like I could see the two different worlds that Nicole was a part of, the one she knew vs the one she couldn't remember. Her family is unique as a whole, they definitely make me want to try their famous pineapple chutney (thank goodness there's a recipe included in the back of the book). My only minor gripe is that I felt a little annoyed with the way Monet acted sometimes, but then I felt immediately bad and I felt sympathetic towards her mother. The style of writing just pulls the reader in and connects you with the characters. This was a wonderful debut by Alice Wisler and it shows how she has made her mark in the fiction world. I am looking forward to reading any future book by her.

posted by Deborah_K on November 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

just ok

While this book was well written, it seemed that it wasn't really thought out. The ending could have held so much more, but it seemed that the author just got sick of writing and stopped the story. It was fun and good otherwise, it was just a huge disappointment the w...
While this book was well written, it seemed that it wasn't really thought out. The ending could have held so much more, but it seemed that the author just got sick of writing and stopped the story. It was fun and good otherwise, it was just a huge disappointment the way it ended.

posted by Jpklmt on October 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great read

    This story was really cute. The characters are interesting and have their own unique quirks. There are several subplots going on in the story but all of them are easy to follow. The book is considered to be Christian fiction and I think the author did a good job of incorporating scripture into the story line but not in an overly preachy way. The ending leaves room for a sequel and it would be nice to see if the main character ends up finding her true love with Harrison. I liked that the characters were supportive of one another and the family was close-knit. The setting is Mt. Olive, the pickle capital of the world. That cracked me up. There are some very well written lines that caused me to jot them down in my journal....things like that are nice elements of surprise.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2013

    Southern charm and wit infuse this faith based book about 31 yea

    Southern charm and wit infuse this faith based book about 31 year old, Nicole.  She was born in Japan where she lived until she was 2, when a home fire killed her mother.  Her father brought her back to live with her grandmother in North Carolina. Depression and guilt so plagued her father, that her mother's mother Ducee, became Nicole's true parent.  But Nicole was not alone in a large extended family of aunts, uncles and cousins who were very close, and focused on a grand family reunion every year.  




    Nicole enjoyed her life with all these quirky relatives, and their long standing traditions, family recipes, and windoms.  She was a middle-school English teacher and lover/blogger about all things fish and aquariums.  Unfortunately, not knowing much about her life in Japan and her mother's death, has plagued her all of her life.  Even when some relatives strongly encouraged her to explore her roots and learn more about the Japan parts of her life, fear and anxieties overcame her curiosity, until she connected with a reader of her blogs in Japan.  He has lots of questions about his fish, but he soon realizes that he knows more about her life in Japan than Nicole does.  




    This is a great faith based story of love, loss, acceptance and courage.  Ducee is the grandmother we all wish we had in our lives.  Even the quirky relatives are inspiring. There is an especially engaging 3 year old autistic cousin,  that adds wit, wisdom, and sometimes dread into the characters' lives.  I definitely felt taken into Nicole's family as I watched her face her fears and  TRUELY blossom into the woman that God had meant her to become.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2013

    Very enjoyable! Loved the quirky characters! Not entirely sure w

    Very enjoyable! Loved the quirky characters!
    Not entirely sure what "Rain Song" has to do with anything.... Strange title for the book. Maybe I missed something?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Excellent Story!

    Very sweet and romantic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Rain Song is a great book! The Character development is enjoyabl

    Rain Song is a great book! The Character development is enjoyable. When I finished the book, I missed the characters. The setting was fun, especially if you enjoy the Carolinas. Do not hesitate to read this book! It is great story of Nicole's journey to discover her past. You will be excited to uncover the pieces with her

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book.

    I hoped to learn what would happen to the new relationship with Nicole and Harrison, a sequel would be great!
    I loved the southern style and wise advice of Ducee. She reminded me of some of own family. I found myself repeating some of those excellent lines with people that were struggling.
    Thank you to the author for letting God have his way with the story. Just like Nicole felt His hand on her shoulder, He used this work to touch my heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    highly recomended

    A very good book really enjoyed reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    Well written

    I really enjoyed this book....a nice surprise. It was very well wrutten and a moving story. It could have a second book because you love these characters and want to know more...what happens next. Well worth your time to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    Enjoyable read

    I enjoyed this book very much. As a NC resident, I especially enjoyed the local references. I thought the character development was good and appreciated the story line of bonding between grandmother and granddaughter. Would definitely read this author again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2013

    A beautifully written Christian novel!

    The author certainly had a way of bringing Japan and the South (North Carolina, my home State) to life, along with the wonderful characters. This read contains it all, humor; sadness; love; loss; mystery; etc. I was not ready for the story to end... the ending should have been longer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    Without having read it I'd likely give it a 4 or 5

    I have not read this one yet, but so far I've enjoyed every book that I have read which I purchased. I'm fortunate in choosing them without a scan through, for they have all been to my liking except one..

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Ejoyable Read!

    This book was't what I was expecting, but it was a good read..It's like choosing a new flavor of ice cream, not sure if you will like it or not...and then loving it.

    As I was reading this I found that I was putting myself in the woman's shoes, wondering how I would feel about this situation...would I react this way, somehow the writer has THAT talent. To draw you into this story of a young womans' life and how the loss of her Mother when she was a child in another country has affected her....and now that she is grown, will she make the journey back, and what she will find out about herself.
    A very thought provoking book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Good

    Though it was slow going at first I was glad I kept reading it. Totally enjoyed the characters. The ending feels unfinished. I hope there will be a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Excellent read

    Very well-written and worthy of my time. A refreshing change from the typical drivel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Lovely and unique

    Modern. Unique. Introspective. Story of loss and disovering one's truth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    good read

    love this story

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    Good read

    I was a bit leery at first but I found myself connecting to the main character. It was a well written story with some good twists. Worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    Beautiful story

    Loved it. Very nice first book for this author. I hope she' ll write more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    Hard to put down, ending is unresolved

    It's a great read. I would be nice to see more relationship amd location resolution at the end...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    A Sweet story

    The first person narrative is candid and honest. My heart went out to the main character as she shares her deepest fears and works to overcome them. The characters are believable and well developed. I will definitely read more books by Alice Wisler.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3