Customer Reviews for

The Rainbow Fish

Average Rating 3.5
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

From a teacher point of view

I had never even heard of this book until my at-risk students shared it with me. These students HATE to read, and barely even pass their classes, yet they told me, "That is the only book I've ever read all the way through! I love that book." When I mentioned I had nev...
I had never even heard of this book until my at-risk students shared it with me. These students HATE to read, and barely even pass their classes, yet they told me, "That is the only book I've ever read all the way through! I love that book." When I mentioned I had never heard of it, they immediately gave me a synopsis of the story. I was so impressed with their attitute toward the book, I bought my own copy for my son. Yes, I understand the negative point of view that many have of this book, but it is also a positive book of making friends. It makes for a great children's book. By the way, I teach high school students who didn't even pick up on the "communist" view of the book. They saw the superficial moral of how to make friends rather than some communist indoctrination.

posted by 125708 on October 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Concerned about the message of the book

I am always eager to find good books for my children - particularly ones that convey a positive message. Everything that I had heard about the Rainbow Fish indicated that it was such a story. Upon reading it, however, I was shocked and saddened by its message. The ma...
I am always eager to find good books for my children - particularly ones that convey a positive message. Everything that I had heard about the Rainbow Fish indicated that it was such a story. Upon reading it, however, I was shocked and saddened by its message. The main character - a beautiful, colorful fish - is basically pressured by the other (more plain) fish into giving them his beautiful scales in order to be accepted by the group. While some consider the message to be one of sharing, I consider it to be one of jealousy and peer pressure. By the end of the story, I felt pity for the once-beautiful fish and questioned the other fishes' motives and self-esteem. Needless to say, I never read this story to my children and am frightened by the fact that leaders in our society (teachers, the media, etc.) actually consider it a positive tale.

posted by Anonymous on June 1, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    Great Book....

    The story was very cute....taught about the importance of sharing. The illustrations are very nice & colorful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Love this colorful book!

    My 4 year old daughter loves this book and we keep coming back to it. Will buy again for gifts

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    Wonderful Story About Giving

    A wonderful story about sharing. The colors, ocean setting, and glittering scales really engage my 2 1/2 year old son who enjoys this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    What a wonderful book

    This is one of those wonderful books that you can read and reread. The illustrations are bright and colorful and the story is a classic. A must have!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2006

    See past the outside

    I bought this book for my daughters and son eight years ago and was impressed by the message. The message I took away was that how one looks isn't as important as how one treats ones friends. All the other fish wanted was to play with Rainbow Fish. Rainbow Fish thought she was better than the others because of the way she looked and wouldn't play with them. It wasn't until Rainbow Fish looked beyond herself and helped the other fish feel good about themselfs that Rainbow Fish understood how to love herself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2005

    Rainbow Fish

    PFISTER, Marcus. The Rainbow Fish. North- South Books.1992 The Rainbow Fish, written by Marcus Pfister is an enjoyable, witty tale for all toddlers to enjoy. In the beginning of the story, Rainbow Fish faces a huge decision whether to give up his sparkly and reflective scales to his friends or to keep them for his own. All the other fish in the ocean want to be like Rainbow Fish. They would always yell, ¿Hey Rainbow Fish! Give me your scales.¿ As the story proceeds, Rainbow Fish learns one of the most important lessons in life and that is how to share. This book truly is a heart-warming sensation. The cover of the book is creatively drawn by Pfister as well. On the cover Rainbow fish shines. Toddlers will be as fascinated by the drawings as they will be by the plot. To make a child happy, go to your local bookstore before this tale swims away!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2014

    Love

    Love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    My daughter (4 years old) and I love this book. Right now I use

    My daughter (4 years old) and I love this book. Right now I use it as a tool to teach her manners, respect, and sharing, but in the future it can open the discussion of how sometimes the things that make us special may make us feel lonely and might make others want to exclude us. I will use it to talk about how it is important to make everyone feel included and share our positivity. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2012

    so pretty

    so pretty

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2008

    This is a wonderful story about sharing and the book is so beautiful. We read it every night before bedtime.

    The colors are amazing and the story is truly one we should all read about! Instead of selfishly holding on to his favorite things, the fish finds happiness by sharing with others. We love this book in our house.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2006

    How could you ever question the moral of this story.

    I'm a college student who was looking for a book for an assignment and I think this story is amazing! What better message to send children (and adults)? Beauty isn't everything people!!! We focus too much on our outer beauty and not enough on inner beauty. The rainbow fish makes all the other fish feel more beautiful by giving some of its own beauty away. How selfless and amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2001

    Glittering Potential of Generously Sharing with Like-Minded!

    This book will soon become one of your child's favorites. No one is immune to the stunning beauty of the vivid watercolors that are highlighted with reflective, colored foil to make the Rainbow Fish shimmer across the page. The sheer gorgeousness of the image makes the moral of the story hit home like a smack into the middle of your forehead. All children have trouble learning to share, and this book makes an eloquent case for why that's in your child's best interest. It is easy to see why this book won the American Bookseller's 1995 Book of the Year Award! The Rainbow Fish was simply 'the most beautiful fish in the entire ocean.' He had scales that 'were every shade of blue and green and purple, with sparkling silver scales among them.' Not only was he the most beautiful, the 'other fish were amazed at his beauty.' When the other fish invited him, 'Come play with us!', he would just glide by. But he did enjoy being admired. When one of the fish asked for a scale, the Rainbow Fish haughtily said, 'Get away from me!' Pretty soon everyone avoided the Rainbow Fish, and he was lonely. The rest of the story describes how Rainbow Fish achieved happiness through sharing. In the process, he makes the whole ocean more beautiful and his own life a study in connectedness. Psychologists tell us that people have both a need to be distinctive and a need to be connected. Those desires can cause behavior that improves one satisfaction at the expense of the other. The Rainbow Fish effectively shows how the two dimensions can be combined through locating and sharing with others who have the same interests. This book will be improved by some discussions because a child may not have the experience to know how to extend the moral of this story into her or his own life. For example, your child doesn't need to permanently give away 90 percent of his or her toys in order to have any friends. However, your child should be prepared to share 100 percent of toys when friends or relatives visit. You can explain to your child how the same sharing will occur in reverse when visiting the other children. In that way, everyone has more and more fun. You can also use the story to help explain the joys of giving to those in need. For example, you could read this book before your child trick or treats for UNICEF (or helps raise money for some other charity) for the first time. Unfortunately, your child can mistakenly see this book as suggesting that it is a bad idea to stand out. That can be harmful in areas like academic achievement, where there is a lot of peer pressure not to excel in some schools. You want your child to understand that excellence is praiseworthy, but pridefulness and rudeness towards others are not. You can turn this around by encouraging your child to come up with games and activities that can be shared with others. When we share the richness of our minds, the lives of all are improved. The bounty we receive in return is boundless. I like books that raise fundamental questions about how to live an upright and emotionally rich life, and The Rainbow Fish will provide many wonderful opportunities for discussions of this sort. As a result

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2000

    Rainbow Fish a 'hit' at our library.

    The children at Story Hour loved the 'Rainbow Fish.' For the craft, I would have them color the scales and use glitter for the shiny scale. They loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2000

    Awsoom Book

    I love the colorful fish in this book. I recently purchased a Tanning Bed and thought I would use the pictures out of the book for the room. I also had take my nephew to the DR. one day and she had done the same thing with the pictures. (Not A Good Speller)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2000

    Great Moral

    The book is one of the best written and illustrated I have come across. The students I have read this too loved it!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2