Customer Reviews for

Rainbow Road

Average Rating 4.5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the most unforgettable books I've ever read...

    I first saw Alex Sanchez's book Rainbow Boys while I was a young teen struggling with my sexuality. I didn't dare read it fearing ridicule from friends and families at the time. I was 13 and now I am 18, about to enter college and out to most of my friends and family. I bought the trilogy last week and read all three in one sitting throughout the course of three days. I enjoyed these books, even though they may not be the best of writing, the story and the characters more than enough make up for it. Sanchez's has a writing style that draws the reader to the characters and he is able to let the reader actually care for the characters. Out of all three of the books Rainbow Road had to be my favorite. Rainbow Boys and Rainbow High barely scratched the surface of the personas of Jason, Kyle, and Nelson. As I read Rainbow Road I began getting attached to the characters (especially Jason and Kyle). I felt so connected to them and felt as if I knew them. I enjoyed learning more about the three because it turns out they're a bit different from what they seemed in the previous two books. The entire book is filled with funny moments and heartbreaking ones as well. The most emotional seen for me was when the guys met the little Esau who has to deal with being gay and an abusive father at such a young age. After I finished the books I felt better about myself for some reason. The characters are very likeable and relatable and can draw emotions from the reader. I highly recommend this book to people in general and the entire series as well. One doesn't have to be gay to enjoy these books and reading them might help some gain a new perspective on the gay community and the plight gay people face everyday.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    Rainbow Road Review.

    I first found this series from a friend at school, Rainbow Boys. At first I didnt think much of it. However, It ended up being a excelent book. The story it tells is something that many people face in real life. We live in a largly homophobic world. This book does a very good job of exspressing that. Out of all the series I have read this is by far one of the top. I would even rank it above "The Twilight Series".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2007

    best out of 3.

    this book was my fav. in the whole series it was touching it made me sad. but it was funny also the funny adventures and mishaps they had on their road trip made this a page turner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2007

    A Must Read for all...

    A definite read for those who are still in the closet, those slowly coming out and those that are out. It reminds you that while you are different you still have the same feelings that everyone else has too. It also reminds you that while you are different you too can find love out there.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2007

    A heart-warming read, for everyone!

    I could not put the Rainbow series down! All three books have been heart-warming, inspirational, with realistic gay teens and situations. Thank you, Alex Sanchez!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2007

    A reviewer

    Rainbow Road If you ever want to know how it feels to be a homosexual in a small town, feel the hatred towards you because you might not like girls and you might not like boys. Then read Rainbow Road by Alex Sanchez! This book will have you in the balls of your feet! In this story three homosexual boys go on t rip to California where on of the boys are going to speak at a all lesbian all gay school. This book shows the difficulty that the boys are going through. Being homosexual says the one boy is not a crime we just have different thoughts then other boys. You cant possible judge us! I think that a lot of boys and girls can relate to this story because there are a lot of homosexual boys and girls in high school that are afraid to come out because of the fear of what people might say. This is a 3 book series. In the first 2 the boys are just coming out. The boys are a nerd and a jock and a flat out weirdo. The reason that a lot of kids can reason with this book is the fact that they talk about everything like sex aid and Stds! The fact that this author Alex Sanchez can write about this and not be afraid of certain reviews is amazing because this book was probably the most interesting read. The one character is a jock I mean to go from a jock and having the most gorgeous girlfriend in the whole school to being gay with the most nerviest boyfriend in the whole school is a change. In my honest opinion I think that this book should be read by everybody because its just so good and understanding. My dad would always ask me why I was reading this book and I would tell him that its really interesting and that he should read it. There are 5 girls that I hang out with that have all read this and like it. They think that its really interesting. I think that this is one of the best reviews that I have ever wrote and have only wrote. Its really good I mean I just cant say how good this book is. My friends really want there to be more because we have read all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2007

    ello!

    I loved the first 2 books and i am soooo totally phycked to read this one once i can get my hands on it! I just cant wait! I read the summary for this book and it sounds like the best of all! I wish he had more to the Rainbow trilogy! that would have been great! these book got me to read more! and they are so touching and sad and well that teenage life! especially for guys who are gay. My friends rag on me like why are you reading it and i just cant put the boook down ya know!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2005

    Sad to see them go...

    This book was so good. I'd only had the book for about a day before I finished reading it. It's sad to see the boys go.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    Loved it<3

    I tjink this book should be in every classroom from fifth and up... So should tje other two!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    IF this was book three of a series, I would have been much happi

    IF this was book three of a series, I would have been much happier. As the final book of a trilogy, I was less enthused. However, it is tough to be hard of Alex Sanchez because there are not enough of these stories out there for gay youth. As many of the other reviews on this page, point out, there are many young gay men out there that have been touched by or identified with this series.

    I like the overall story. I particularly liked the how the relationship between Kyle and Jason evolved over their physical and emotional road trip. There were some wonderfully sweet moments that took me back time to my first relationship with another man.

    I was disappointed in the conclusion to Nelson's story. There are some beautiful notes in Nelson's story; the vignette with little Esau is an exceptional and touching example. However, just throwing him in a relationship at the last moment was a little boyfriend-ex-machina for me. This character deserved much better treatment. Again, if there had been additional books in the series, it could be overlooked, but as an ending, I was left disappointed.

    Criticisms aside, this is a fantastic series that I would highly recommend despite a less than satisfying ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    A great third in a very good trilogy

    Three gay high school grads travel cross country, learning life lessons, encountering interesting people, and maturing. This is the capstone to Sanchez's "Rainbow Boys" series and may very well be the best of the three.

    Once again, the characters are well-drawn. We get to see some of the best -- and worst -- of their personality traits. Sanchez insures each also grows and deepens as the story plays out. Some of the plot situations resolve too easily or nicely, but life can be like that.

    Once in a while I wanted to jump into the page and yell at one of the boys to verbalize his feelings, but at those moments I also realized that Sanchez has managed to keep true to his characters: they are adolescents, not mature adults, so they still have a lot to learn and to experience.

    While I would read any and every book that Mr. Sanchez might write in this series, I also felt at the end of the book that I would be okay if the series ended here.

    I highly recommend this book, and it is appropriate readimg for mid-teens and older.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Heartwarming!

    Thats what comes to mind. The three guys are all lovable and relatable. Great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Love's Road Map : Many Twists and Turns with a lot of Construction!

    And so the series ends but love prevails. I have personally never been so intrigued to read as I have been by these books. Amazing writer Alex Sanchez, I hope one day to meet you to get your autograph and to give you a hug. These three guys travel 3,000 miles facing multiple amounts of situations that try patience, express love, and illustrate the difficulties of sustaining a relationship and being open to new ones and new opportunities. Highly, highly recommend this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    BUY IT!

    This whole series is my ONLY FAVORITE GAY SERIES OF ALL TIME!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    The whole Rainbow series is just amazing

    Alex Sanchez is an amazing author. The rainbow series helped me a lot in a hidden way. I reccommend these books for coming out teens and parents or adults trying to understand homosexuality and the hectic lives LBTQ people have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2007

    Good

    It's a great book I love it I'm almost up to this part trying to find the second book rate it and love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2006

    Pretty Gay

    THis book is gay. It makes you think of men humping men. don't read it unles you want to throw up

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2006

    One of the best Gay and Lesbian teen novels ever

    This book was one of the greatest books i have ever read. But its so sad to see the trilogy end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2006

    i want more of the boys!! ^-^

    The book was the best.... I love the book, but i wish they had more... they should continue the books.... its so sad.. But it made me come out to my parents... Now i feel so good... but i wish i had a sexy boyfriend like jason or kyle!!! well love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3