Customer Reviews for

Rainbow Six

Average Rating 4.5
( 559 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(401)

4 Star

(92)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

SWEEEEEEET!!!!!

This is one of many very awesome books by Tom Clancy. If you know alot about the military or love what the military does, this book is for you.

posted by Anonymous on January 12, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Hawkeye

"Shimmerheart, top to bottom is the most beautiful cat I hav ever seen." He said truthfully. ~Hawkeye

posted by 15929306 on March 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2014

    Rc

    Revenge isnt really a fighter..but i might try. OR use another character.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2003

    Build up to what?

    I have always considered myself a Clancy fan, however I have let several years go by since I have read his work. I decided to read Rainbow 6 and found it quite disappointing. I appreciate the suspense intrigue and 'build-up' Clancy attempts to conjure. His attention to detail and the subtleties are interesting but on occasion corrupted to make the story (i.e. one of the main characters, a russian x-KGB is not familiar with HUMVEE's???, even if they are civilian). My true criticism is that for the first few hundred pages the book is a mystery, but by the last several hundred pages Clancy is revealing the same secrets for the 14th, 15th 16th etc.. time. The action/training sequences are good, enough to draw you into the life of the operatives. All the more disappointing that when some are KIA that one of their names is not even given!!! I have long considered Clear & Present Danger one of my favorite books followed by Without Remorse and Red Storm Rising. I have read the horrible reviews of Teeth of the Tiger and will not be reading it. I plan to give the Ops-Center series a try; hopefully the core books will come back around.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2001

    Get the computer game!

    The only part of this book that exceeds the length is the lack of realism. Wow, good guys completely demolish the bad guys every time, with all casaulties on the Rainbow Six side consisting of nameless supporting characters. As for the ending, it reads like it was written in five minutes. However, the computer game was very well made, with a better designed plot line. Sad, huh?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2000

    Okay, but certainly not Clancy's greatest!

    I have read all of Clancy's novels with the exception on the Tech Ops, and this was really the slowest of the books he has done. I finished it only so I can still say I have read them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2000

    Not up to Clancy's usual high standard.

    I'm a huge fan of Tom Clancy. I have read all of his books and count several of them among my all time favorites. Nevertheless I was disappointed by Rainbow Six. The main character of Clark, so brilliantly developed in Clancy's earlier book, Without Remorse, was pretty one-dimensional in this book. Most of the characters suffered from the same problem. The plot moved very slowly. Although the plot started out meeting the high standards set by the author in the past, it became tired and less plausible toward the end of the book. While Clancy usually finishes his books with a bang, the ending sequences of Rainbow Six were anticlimactic and in my opinion just plain silly. I usually finish a Clancy book eager to run out and get the next one. This time I asked myself at the end, 'I spent all that time reading this LONG book for this ending?'. The one bright spot in Rainbow Six was Popov, the ex-KGB agent. Curious that the most engaging character in Rainbow Six was one the bad guys. Then again, maybe that's how it works in real life too. I don't know if the author did this on purpose, but it was one of the best aspects of the story. I wouldn't mind seeing more of Popov in another book. I'm sure I'll read Tom's next one, but I'll wait for the paperback and a long vacation before reading it. Even the best writers have a subpar outing occasionally. I hope that one of my favorite authors of all time regains his previous level of excellence in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2000

    Quantity not Quality

    Rainbow Six was written very well and I enjoyed how the book kept moving through the special force story... BUT by the time I was half way through, I lost a lot of interest and just wanted the story to get more involved and prehaps the subplots to get more interesting! Special Forces part of the movie was good but why can't the entire book be as good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 1999

    Disappointing

    Having read all of Clancy's work I found this book to be disappointing at best. For some reason this book does not grab you like the rest of his works. This book is very un-clancy like, it is very predictable. Unless an extremly die-hard fan don't bother.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1