Customer Reviews for

Rainbow Six

Average Rating 4.5
( 555 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(402)

4 Star

(91)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

SWEEEEEEET!!!!!

This is one of many very awesome books by Tom Clancy. If you know alot about the military or love what the military does, this book is for you.

posted by Anonymous on January 12, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Hawkeye

"Shimmerheart, top to bottom is the most beautiful cat I hav ever seen." He said truthfully. ~Hawkeye

posted by 15929306 on March 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted September 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Tom Clancy┬┐s Rainbow Six was easily one of my favorite books th

    Tom Clancy’s Rainbow Six was easily one of my favorite books that I have read. The excitement level never ceases and the action keeps on hitting you right in the face. I have played parts of the Rainbow Six video game series and it shows many parallels between the book and the game. I now plan to go back and play all of the games because of the background that I have. 
    The main character, John Clark, gets the attention of the reader by relating to the common person and being a very interesting headpiece. Tom Clancy uses his skills as a writer to pull the reader into the story and keeping them there until the end of the novel. It took me approximately two and a half days to finish this book because the only time i put it down was when i had to go to work or eat. The book seems to have some serious in depth scenarios with real military equipment, agencies, and places. Tom Clancy, being known for writing military based novels, was outstanding in this piece of work. 
    The only minor flaw I found in this book was the introduction to the main antagonist Popov. It had seemed like he had appeared out of nowhere and just entered halfway through the book as the role. I feel as though Tom Clancy realized halfway through his book that he had no real enemy to this unstoppable tactical force, and decided to include one late into the novel. 
    I very much enjoyed the novel even with its minor flaws. The book was very in depth and i plan to start reading more Tom Clancy novels in the future. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Bios

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    DJ PON-3

    "What's up?" She whinnies as she trots in, smiling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    great book

    exciting!! long book but its worth it.. 800 pages read it in 2 days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    I vote Aspenfire

    Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    I vote starlife

    Im sorry. But she is my long lost mate and i cannot think of anyone prettier. She ha black fur and purple eyes. Please vote her for me- Wishbone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    Very engaging. Good read

    This was a great book. One of Clancy's better works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Rainbow Six

    Clancy always keeps you interested and this book is no exception.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2008

    Paul Kerlagon's review

    The Black Echo by Michael Connelly is an exciting thrill seeker which not only captivates the reader but keeps one longing for more. The Black Echo opens when LAPD homicide detective Harry Bosch is called out on the discovery of a dead man in a drainage pipe. It appears that the victim died of an overdose, but enough red flags are raised to make Bosch suspect foul play. Not only that, but the detective actually knew the man, they were tunnel rats in Viet Nam. As Bosch starts investigating, he discovers that the victim, Bill Meadows, has been identified as a key suspect in a year old bank robbery. The robbers went through underground tunnels, and then dug their way into a bank safety deposit box vault. At first, the FBI rebuffs Bosch's attempts to pool information. But they finally give in and he is assigned to FBI agent, Eleanor Wish. As the case progresses, Bosch and Wish discover that the bank caper has its roots in Viet Nam and things get very complicated and dangerous. Bosch also suspects that someone is working from the inside and compromising their case. Even when he thinks he's got everything figured out, there is still an important piece of the puzzle still missing. I really liked The Black Echo because the plot has numerous twists and turns, and shows Bosch's genius as a detective and Connelly's talent as a writer. Bosch is a Los Angeles detective turning 40 with powerful memories of his experiences as a tunnel rat in Vietnam some twenty years earlier. But the drawing of the characters and their relationships with one another is of high quality. In any thriller series this is the element that probably defines success or failure more than any other.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2004

    Great book, suspenful plot line...

    This story unfolds smoothly, but slowly. Like many Tom Clancy novels, much detail goes into all the technicalities interwoven in the story. Thus, it takes a long time things to happen. What is grand about this book is the amazing and swift detail as Clancy executes the story during the action points, seemingly flowing as quickly as the invading anti-terrorist squad and the bullets they fire. This is a masterpiece when it comes to the portrayal of action, but its general plot is flawed somewhat. The main plot revolves around the slow progression of a group of terrorists testing a deadly epidemic on random bums picked off the streets. This takes many pages, from my memory about 200 or more. As this unfolds, the main characters (the anti-terrorist squad) engage in many heart-pounding operations. This is all very exciting, thus keeping the reader interested as he reads through the technical stuff. With time, the separate plot points conjure into eachother believably and smoothly-- and very interstingly as you will find out. The rest of the book is suspensful, action-packed, and more engaging than I can explain. Definately worth reading, definately worth your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2003

    Great suspense

    A great book, well thought out, but the situations start to become repetitive and drawn out. The plot is Okay, and because Rainbow annihilates everything bad it comes in contact with, I sometimes found myself wanting the bad guy to win. Over all a good novel, a must read/buy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2003

    Very good

    Excellent

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2003

    Too much of a good read

    This was one of the best clancy books I have ever read, and i've read alot. It's extremely entertaining and very easy to read. The only problem that I have with the book, is that there is virtually no suspense the last 100-150 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2003

    Rainbow Six By: Tom Clancy

    Rainbow Six BY: Tom Clancy I read Tom Clancy¿s Rainbow Six, And at first glance I see an absolutely beast of a book. And I think about what everyone tells me Tom Clancy super boring. Well since I have know read through Rainbow Six and seen just how great his writing really is. At his best moments I found myself intertwined with the characters and the story. The characters were just discripted perfect I could easily see myself in the shoes of one of the characters. The story as you might know is based upon a group of counter terrorists. Know as the Rainbow six. Men from all around the world, from only the best services. Such as the SAS, GSG9 and of course the Navy Seals. One of the greatest moments in the book Were when ten terrorists take over a theme park, taking only children hostages, and even executing one of them. Instantly the Rainbow six are sent in to take care of the terrorists. And of course they succeed in taking out all the terrorists. The only bad side to the whole book is the action scenes come and go really fast. In four hundred pages only three action moments took place, but of course the action moments were really well done and they hold your attention very well. So when there were no action moments, I found myself waiting in anticipation for the next. In the end Rainbow six was a very good book, and at times I found myself wanting to go back just to read the hostage situations. This book was good borderline great. On a scale from one to ten, this book is an eight. Well-done writing and good action make this a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2003

    Thrilling

    I'm an avid reader of Clancy, and I have to say, while this novel isn't exactly comparable to some of his other works (namely the Sum of All Fears and W/out Remorse), it's still wonderful. Clancy does what he's great at; pulling you through a complex plot of mischief, intrigue, and military technology. Of course, his trademark climax is to be expected near the end. It's what you would come to anticipate from a Clancy book, practically pulling you through the last 250 to 300 pages. But the book does sag a bit near the end, Clancy's politics shine through as always, and it could have easily been trimmed down by 150 pages or so. All in all it's still a wonderful 'techno-thriller'. I recommend it to any reader with a long attention span and the need for a suspensful read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2002

    " winner "

    I thought this book was a good read. somewhat long but still entertaining.Readers will find this book to be better than " Red Rabbit" Not a must read, but a good read...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2002

    Great, untill the end...

    Great book with a great plot, counter-terror ops is my favorite area of the government because it is the most realistic and plausable. The best spot in the field is the sniper and Clancy describes this position as well as others to a T. But the plot at the end was a little weird, but it is plausable, and it kinda did end quickly. I personally would have liked to see the "bad guys" win, but thats just me i believe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2002

    Another Tom clancey-take-30%-of-the-book-away-book. But still Fantastic!

    This book was extremely good and fast-paced from the beggining all the way up to the second mission the Rainbow group finishes. After that, there is about 300 pages where no action occurs but more conspiracy. It is all interesting but what ticked me off was at about 150 pages from the end that for about 75 pages, a guy woke up every morning and went riding a horse with some strangers/friends. While riding they talked about nature and horses and animals and all kinds of Bullcrap(all that had VERY little to do with the book). Paragraphs and paragraphs of nature stuff that really unhooked me from the book. But anyway, the ending was okay and the book all in all, is one of the best books I have ever read. And that is out of all of Michael Crichton's books and some James Patterson books combined. Read it, you'll like it, even though it's 897 pages long.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2002

    Clancy Rules

    It was a good book just like all of his works

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2001

    The worst threat yet

    This book is developed around John Clark and his son-in-law Chavez. Clark is head of a SAS type international team to counter terrorist. Book as usual is well written. The ultimate threat, beyond normal reaason and grand in scale. But fully plausable. Though enjoyable and action packed, I miss Jack Ryan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5