Customer Reviews for

Raine (Lords of Satyr Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 116 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A little shocking, A lot hot

Raine, the second brother in The Lords of Satyr books relies on his keen olfactory abilities to locate the 2nd ElseWorld bride in Venice. However, he doesn¿t count on winding up with a cold. This makes it difficult to decide if the woman he meets near the Rialto bridge ...
Raine, the second brother in The Lords of Satyr books relies on his keen olfactory abilities to locate the 2nd ElseWorld bride in Venice. However, he doesn¿t count on winding up with a cold. This makes it difficult to decide if the woman he meets near the Rialto bridge is the one meant for him. Or not. ----- They travel in a gondola across the lagoon to his hotel 'a very sexy scene between them in the gondola imo'. ----- Jordan, the heroine, and the bride he¿ll wind up with is highly unusual. I don¿t think it¿s spoiling anything to say she¿s a hermaphrodite, since it¿s revealed pretty quickly in the book. This makes for some very hot scenes between her and Raine. And it hits some social acceptance issues. I love that she¿s not ashamed of her body, and that Raine loves her and couldn¿t care less about her differences. I was riveted to the sometimes slightly shocking sex scenes. 'If you¿re not open to the unusual, this may not be the book for you.' ------- Another aspect of this book that I liked was the way the setting was described. I felt like the author really knew Venice in the time period of the 1800s and was giving me just enough info to set the action and romance in a good context. ---- Finally, I really like this author¿s writing style. ---- The first book, Nicholas, had some shocking moments, too, and I liked it just as much, maybe even a little more.

posted by Anonymous on June 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Okay...but

The story was original I believe. Erotic scenes were done well. Unfortunately, a few things stood out too much for me to completely enjoy it. And those are the things I wish to bring up for any possible buyers or renters. Personally, I wish erotic novels did not often h...
The story was original I believe. Erotic scenes were done well. Unfortunately, a few things stood out too much for me to completely enjoy it. And those are the things I wish to bring up for any possible buyers or renters. Personally, I wish erotic novels did not often have such obvious covers and instead had one inner picture like that, then again I'm a private person.
Now, for the content. Although I got over the shock within...a day...I finally accepted that the heroine was a hermaphodite. That was my first shock to make me wonder what I had just bought. This is not surprise, trust me, it's revealed within the first few chapters.
However, I was determined to finish the novel. Then I became sickened during one scene. Sorry for anyone who is upset by this, but I felt rather nauseous when I attempted to read the first rape scene. YES, the first of two. I do not mind the idea to be presented, like mentioning it in the story or the possibility but to have an actual scene written in greatly graphic detail of torment is just too much for me personally. I...skipped those pages because I couldn't handle that. Although some if it was great eroticism...the previous scene I mentioned ruined the book for me. And I wish to warn others that from what I've read elsewhere, do not believe the other books from the Lord of Satyr series are different. From my understanding of a review, Nicholas is worse in the whole rape department. I don't even care to check out Lyon's story to see. If you can handle those scenes though go ahead and read it. But these are not like the "rape" scenes in the Sleeping Beauty series, these are horrible, tormenting scenes. Without those scenes I wouldn't feel upset about owning the book...maybe I should rip them out. Sorry if I have ruined the novel for anyone, but I believe unknowing buyers should be aware just of what they are buying instead of accepting the vague premise.

posted by Bruhndi on August 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 117 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2009

    Okay...but

    The story was original I believe. Erotic scenes were done well. Unfortunately, a few things stood out too much for me to completely enjoy it. And those are the things I wish to bring up for any possible buyers or renters. Personally, I wish erotic novels did not often have such obvious covers and instead had one inner picture like that, then again I'm a private person.
    Now, for the content. Although I got over the shock within...a day...I finally accepted that the heroine was a hermaphodite. That was my first shock to make me wonder what I had just bought. This is not surprise, trust me, it's revealed within the first few chapters.
    However, I was determined to finish the novel. Then I became sickened during one scene. Sorry for anyone who is upset by this, but I felt rather nauseous when I attempted to read the first rape scene. YES, the first of two. I do not mind the idea to be presented, like mentioning it in the story or the possibility but to have an actual scene written in greatly graphic detail of torment is just too much for me personally. I...skipped those pages because I couldn't handle that. Although some if it was great eroticism...the previous scene I mentioned ruined the book for me. And I wish to warn others that from what I've read elsewhere, do not believe the other books from the Lord of Satyr series are different. From my understanding of a review, Nicholas is worse in the whole rape department. I don't even care to check out Lyon's story to see. If you can handle those scenes though go ahead and read it. But these are not like the "rape" scenes in the Sleeping Beauty series, these are horrible, tormenting scenes. Without those scenes I wouldn't feel upset about owning the book...maybe I should rip them out. Sorry if I have ruined the novel for anyone, but I believe unknowing buyers should be aware just of what they are buying instead of accepting the vague premise.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2008

    A little shocking, A lot hot

    Raine, the second brother in The Lords of Satyr books relies on his keen olfactory abilities to locate the 2nd ElseWorld bride in Venice. However, he doesn¿t count on winding up with a cold. This makes it difficult to decide if the woman he meets near the Rialto bridge is the one meant for him. Or not. ----- They travel in a gondola across the lagoon to his hotel 'a very sexy scene between them in the gondola imo'. ----- Jordan, the heroine, and the bride he¿ll wind up with is highly unusual. I don¿t think it¿s spoiling anything to say she¿s a hermaphrodite, since it¿s revealed pretty quickly in the book. This makes for some very hot scenes between her and Raine. And it hits some social acceptance issues. I love that she¿s not ashamed of her body, and that Raine loves her and couldn¿t care less about her differences. I was riveted to the sometimes slightly shocking sex scenes. 'If you¿re not open to the unusual, this may not be the book for you.' ------- Another aspect of this book that I liked was the way the setting was described. I felt like the author really knew Venice in the time period of the 1800s and was giving me just enough info to set the action and romance in a good context. ---- Finally, I really like this author¿s writing style. ---- The first book, Nicholas, had some shocking moments, too, and I liked it just as much, maybe even a little more.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Read this in a day!

    Middle brother Raine Satyr has been burned by love before. He is very hesitant to follow King Feydons lash wish. All that changes when he meets Jordon. After confirming she is Fay, relieves him yet scares him. He wants to let her in, but is afraid of history repeating itself. He doesn't want to get burned again.

    Raines character is much different than Nick's. It also makes it that much more heartfelt and unique. Both characters are overcoming past hurts. There are those out there trying to keep them apart.

    The sex scenes are beyond anything I expected to read when I started this novel. Needless to say, I wasn't just shocked, but I was enticed. This is an awesome book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2008

    Not your average historical erotic romance.

    La Maschera, Jordan Cietta, a male or female? Born a hermaphrodite, Jordan possessed both male and female genitals. With the help of the Doctor Salerno she was pronounced a boy even though she had female characteristics as well; the doctor did this so that Jordan¿s mother would inherit the Cietta fortune as well as further his own future of examinations and study. Jordan lived as a male in society, but every year on her birthday she was given up to Salerno for his studies, in her body and mind she was every bit female; but she could not forsake her mother and bring scandal down upon the Cietta name.<BR/><BR/>Raine, is the second of three Satyr brothers out in search of his mate. He is unwilling to marry again or even love at this moment, but has been told it is of great haste to find the daughter of the Faerie King before something horrible happens and marry her. He is turned on by the site of the person before him, but is she the one he seeks? With a hardened heart that begins to quickly melt, he must keep his Calling a secret from her in fear that she will turn away at the site of his transformation. Raine must also learn how to coax Jordan out of her insecurities of her male appendage while spending as much time as HE allows in her bed. <BR/><BR/>Raine and Jordan have not had things easy from the get-go, he is intrigued by her body, she is in love with a man as she now embraces the life of living as a woman, and then there is the death of her mother. There are still other evils that will try and tear the two apart. The dirty coveting syphilis carrying bishop, Salerno, and the three brothers made of stone all want Jordan in their grasp. Raine will do everything in his power to keep her to himself¿ even if he knew it was against everything he ever pledged upon finding La Maschera. <BR/><BR/>Raine by Elizabeth Amber is the second book in the Lords of Satyr series. It was absolutely breathtaking and phenomenal. I have never read an erotic book like this with the sex between a hermaphrodite and male, it was very titillating. Raine is not all erotic, and sex filled, it has great romantic touches, fantasy, an amazing story line detailed magnificently and it was very spot on with the winery details. Now I see why she occasionally gives wine as prizes in her drawings¿ that I still have yet to win LOL. I can¿t fault Ms. Amber for anything, I loved everything in this book from cover to cover. 5 Hearts<BR/><BR/>Contact Elizabeth Amber: www.myspace.com/elizabethamberromance

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love all the Satyr Brothers

    I read Lyon and Nicholas' story already and was putting of Raine because he is the middle brother and seemed so boring. BOY was I wrong. Raine is the strong quiet brother that doesn't talk much. He finds the sister, Jordan, he is to marry. Jordan has had a tough life. She was born with the equipment of a man and a woman. Because her mothers' husband died before Jordan was born she has had to hide her feminine side and live as a man so her and her mother could have rule over the estate. When Jordan sees Raine for the first time she is flabergasted at the run of emotions he brings out in her. She tries as she might to keep her "man side" away from him but he has known all along and is truly attracted to her completely. <BR/>I LOVED this story. True it may be a little racie for some but the story is a great one and is so well written I wish there was another brother to read about.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    TOTAL ATTENTION GETTER

    WHAT DREW ME TO THE BOOK WAS THE COVER. I WAS LOOKING FOR SOMETHING TO READ WHILE WAITING FOR BOOKS THAT WERE ORDERED TO ANOTHER SERIES TO COME IN. WHEN I STARTED THIS BOOK, I COULD NOT BELIEVE HOW IMMEDIATELY I WAS DRAWN INTO IT. AFTER READING IT, I HAD TO GO AND GET THE OTHER THREE BOOKS IN THE SERIES. IT TOOK MY MIND OFF EVERYDAY LIFE FOR A BIT AND IF YOU HAVE THE TIME TO READ, THIS IS ONE FOR THE BOOK LIST.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable, but...

    I did not enjoy the references to male/male sexual performances. I enjoyed her other books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Unusual but very sensual!

    I bought Dominick first and I loved it so I decided to buy the other series. You would think because he is the middle brother he might be boring. Well he was the hottest. OMG! I loved the story. I could not put the book down. I was left wanting more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2008

    Wow! Unusual and interesting

    I've read a gazillion romances and at least 1/3 were erotic, but I've never read another book with a hermaphrodite heroine! This was poignant and really different. Written well, with some very hot scenes. I liked that the heroine was a strong character and I believed she was meant for Raine and vice versa.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2008

    Very different. Great writing.

    Very erotic and enjoyable. Raine searches out Jordan, the 2nd of the half-faeries, in Venice. He's the 2nd of the brothers and there'll be a 3rd book. I loved NICHOLAS (book 1) and this one is just as hot and well written. Jordan is not the typical romance heroine, but Raine is the one person who immediately accepts her strangeness and falls in love with her. I loved him and this book for that. This book is not for the narrow-minded or unadventurous. It's definitely erotic and unusual. Gorgeous cover as was the first book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2014

    Highly Recommend

    You must check this book out it is awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    Pretty Good Reading

    A little surprising but liked the ending better then Series 1.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Apprentice den

    This is the apprentice den~•maplestar•~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    GO ON GIRL !!

    I never thought i would like a book as crazy as this but it was great , i felt for jordan and all that she went threw , and raine you are a stand up man , must read ! 5 stars !!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Bluejay

    Name; bluejay. Gender : tom. Appearance: huge, sky blue wth long tail nd deep sea blue eyes n long claws. Mate: none. Kits: none. Talents: helping out. Other; love hiking swimming nd climbing

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Hi i want to join

    Name: Mocking Jay
    Gender: female
    Description: orange fur with long tail.
    Eye color: peicring dark blue eyes.
    Mate:none but would like one
    Kits:none
    Apprentice:none
    Talents: a great warrior that can hunt anything in her path
    Other: great climber and swimmer

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Mockingdragon

    Name: Mocking dragon
    Gender:female
    Description: black with white spots on her legs with a smooth tail.
    Eye color: amber
    Mate: none
    Kits: none
    Apprentice: none
    Talents: swimming
    Other: can climb almost anything.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    INFORMATION PAGE

    (Please post your information here. Follow my exanple. But use your own information not mine! Thanks.) NAME: Stormstar GENDER: Male DESCRIPTION: Grey with a long tail EYE COLOR: dark blue MATE: none....yet KITS: none...........yet APPRENTICE: none RANK: leader TALENTS: hunting OTHER: can swim and doesnt mind water

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    Great addition to the series

    This book keeps you on your toes. Has nice surprises that I didnt see coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Must Read

    This book had a great story line. I love this series. I was a bit shocked to find that Jordan was a hermaphrodite. I did not picture Raine to be a man that would accept this oddity. Regardless it had a great plot and I can¿t wait for more. Dominic, Dane & Bastian were also out of this world HOT (especially Bastian¿s story). We need to have a story for Lucien.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 117 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6