Customer Reviews for

The Rainmaker

Average Rating 4.5
( 180 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(101)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

One of my favorite Crisham's books

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It had a little of everything, legal action as well as a romance. I had a hard time putting it down! The author's writing style is very entertaining and unique and I love his sense of humor in this story.

posted by LillyParksONBooks on December 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Keepps I Ani Another mind capturing novel by JG

This book has a way of keeping you wanting to find out more about Rudy Baylor and his many obstacles since law school. It is realistic, suspensful, and relatable.

posted by 8369434 on March 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Keepps I Ani Another mind capturing novel by JG

    This book has a way of keeping you wanting to find out more about Rudy Baylor and his many obstacles since law school. It is realistic, suspensful, and relatable.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2006

    Not as Good....

    I don't understand all these 5 star reviews. I enjoyed the courtroom drama but it definitely was not as exciting as The Firm or Runaway Jury. I don't even think that he resolved everything in the book!! i.e. the arson? It still kept my interest however and I finished in 2 days. Just OK!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2005

    Not enough substance

    This book moved SO slowly. Absolutely NOTHING important happens in the first half of the book. The ending is very predictable. There's not a lot to this book. This book reads like the diary of someone who has nothing to write about.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2003

    Not Grisham's best

    There are points in this book that seem to move slowly, and certain parts that didn't even fit into the plot too well. A lot of fluff

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2001

    Grisham's infamous style but not his best!

    The Rainmaker is a terrific novel, that is charactized by Grisham's pure skill and passion to keep us readers on the edge. While reading this book i became so engrossed that I could not force myself to put it down, I finished the book in two days the last being a 6 hour marathon (its just so hard to stop turning the pages!!!). Grisham put out his best plot yet, the only problem was that it was a tad too long, the story should of been told in about 450 pages instead of 600, and i also feel that the ending is almost too predictable, but none the less this book is a must read for anyone that is into the court related books. It is questionably Grishams best novel, but in my opionion The RunAway Jury, and The Firm are much better reads, but you should make this descision for yourself this is a excellent story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2000

    Sorely disappointing

    I love John Grisham, but this one seemd to lack the speed and agility to which he can take you flying into his world. It was wordy and fairly slow moving. The over all plot was excellent, but it took to long w/too many detours to make it stick.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2