Customer Reviews for

The Rainmaker

Average Rating 4.5
( 185 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(104)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

One of my favorite Crisham's books

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It had a little of everything, legal action as well as a romance. I had a hard time putting it down! The author's writing style is very entertaining and unique and I love his sense of humor in this story.

posted by LillyParksONBooks on December 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Keepps I Ani Another mind capturing novel by JG

This book has a way of keeping you wanting to find out more about Rudy Baylor and his many obstacles since law school. It is realistic, suspensful, and relatable.

posted by 8369434 on March 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    Grisham at his best

    A David-and-Goliath story never gets old, even if a story about evil corporations does. This book, through its adept narration and quirky characters, tugs at readers' heartstrings regardless of political views. The plot may not be fresh, but the characters are quirky and the dialogue and narration are crisp. Why Grisham chose first person point of view and present tense is beyond me, but the writing in this book is witty, sarcastic and engaging. Also, unlike most other Grisham novels, The Rainmaker has a protagonist who is somewhat realistic and a cast of characters who could be your next-door neighbors. If you want to read a Grisham novel, then read The Rainmaker. This book is Grisham at his best.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    One of my favorite Crisham's books

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It had a little of everything, legal action as well as a romance. I had a hard time putting it down! The author's writing style is very entertaining and unique and I love his sense of humor in this story.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2015

    recommended

    I like books that keep my attention and just keeps me reading.
    Grisham's style of writing is excellent in keeping your interest.
    It's a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    Value for money

    Typical John Grisham

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2008

    INSURANCE COMPANIES

    Rudy finds out how the insurance company had seperate departments setup to juggle clients, who are making claims, the clients get thrown into an endless loop and soon give up on the claim. We are all victim to this. Great stuff, thank you john grisham, tom wydick.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2006

    Way to go Grisham!

    This is my second Grisham book and my new favorite. The story took some time to get into but after the first 100 pages its great.The idea of a lawyer who just got out law school months prior, taking down a ten year veteran just brings a feeling that anything can be accomplished if you just believe!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2000

    Courtroom Drama

    A young lawyer confonts an evil insurance company--that will go to any means to avoid paying a legitimate claim--in this courtroom thriller from John Grisham that seems ripped from today's headlines. An entertaining read, much better than the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2000

    An action-filled book about the law.

    'The Rainmaker,' by John Grisham, is about a young lawyer named Rudy Baylor who is graduating from law school and needs a job. When the job that he is supposed to have is given to someone else, he finds himself having to settle for a job with a law firm that isn't exactly on the up and up. A lawyer named J. Lyman Stone runs it. His nickname is 'Bruiser'. Bruiser, as Rudy will later find out, is not only a lawyer, but also a crook and will have to go into hiding when a former business partner of his testifies before a grand jury. Rudy has to form a partnership with a man named Deck Shiflit. He has gone to law school but failed the bar exam more times than one can count. Together the two men have to fight an insurance company, Great Benefit, that has denied their client who has cancer, funds for a bone marrow transplant. Rudy has to go up against a large law firm that represents Great Benefit. This is the main case and there are also smaller cases. Rudy also becomes involved with a woman whose husband beats her. He must juggle the case, the girl, and his landlady. This book is a mix of action, suspense and drama; it will change readers' stereotype of lawyers. <p> Various conflicts in this book all seem to go on at the same time. The beginning conflict is between Rudy and his classmates. He is upset at the hard work he has put in while his other rich classmates will easily find jobs for which he will have to struggle. His next conflict is with Leo F. Drumond the lead attorney for the Great Benefit defense who has sold out on his legal beliefs and obligations to win cases. As this conflict is being laid out, another comes in with the woman who is being beaten by her boyfriend. She doesn't want to leave him and Rudy must convince her that it is the only way for her to stay alive. Another part of the Great Benefit trial conflict comes out when the boy with the cancer dies. This escalates the problems. All of these conflicts intertwine with each other to form the central conflict which is that of a young lawyer standing up to a corrupted legal system, and in the end winning the case of a lifetime. While creating this conflict Grisham successfully keeps the reader wondering what will happen next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2000

    Great book

    This is one of my favorite books by John Grisham. He is an excellent author, and knows how to keep the readers excited and wondering whats coming up next. If you want a good book to read i highly suggest this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2000

    Another goodie

    I just finished reading this book and I was sooooo impressed.After reading the book I went out and rented the movie. It sucked. The book was 10 times better. I am telling all my friends to read it. Another good one John.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3