Customer Reviews for

The Rainmaker

Average Rating 4.5
( 183 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(103)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

One of my favorite Crisham's books

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It had a little of everything, legal action as well as a romance. I had a hard time putting it down! The author's writing style is very entertaining and unique and I love his sense of humor in this story.

posted by LillyParksONBooks on December 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Keepps I Ani Another mind capturing novel by JG

This book has a way of keeping you wanting to find out more about Rudy Baylor and his many obstacles since law school. It is realistic, suspensful, and relatable.

posted by 8369434 on March 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Great!

    I loved this book and i read it when i was only 11.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Classic Grisham -- a Great read!

    Just as I said above, and with the added bonus that the proof-reading (when transferring into the e-book format)is much better than usual -- I didn't notice any of the normal "he" instead of "the", etc.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Could not put it down!

    This was a spellbinding book from start to finish. A very enjoyable read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Amazing

    Amazing story keeps you wanting more! My favorite book ever.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2012

    Gripping story!

    Rudy Baylor's conviction to get Miss Birdie what was due her was inspirational. Grisham's characters in the story are strong and believable. I really enjoyed reading this e-book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    Grisham doesnt disappoint

    Fabulous plot, entertaining and everything i expect from this author!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2014

    Recommended for Grisham fans

    Grisham writes a good mystery about lawyers as a large insurance company is taken on by a lowly lawyer. As most Grisham books it is lengthy, yet holds the reader's interest to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Excellent Read

    My first John Grisham novel and enjoyed every minute. One of those books where I couldn't wait until I got home from work to pick up where I left off.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    great book!

    Great book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Make it rain

    Makes you think twice about the health insurance you buy.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2011

    Typical Grisham

    Much better than the movie.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    great

    awesome book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Rain maker

    I liked this book alot. At times it was very funny! One of john grisham's best! #1fan karebee

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    My favorite Grisham book!!!!

    I loved all the twists and turns in the plot and how he falls but rallies. Fantastic!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Grisham classic!!

    Somehow John Grisham can make insurance claims and legalese interesting. Two of the cringe inducing most boring topics I can think of and Grisham is able to keep me enthralled page after page. Every character in this tale of corporate injustice is easy to see in the mind's eye. I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2008

    Can He Make It Rain?????

    The Rainmaker Rudy Baylor a young and aspiring lawyer coming out of college from Memphis State is also looking for a job thanks to some twists and turns in his path. He also happens to be the main character. In the first couple of chapters Rudy finds his life as a lawyer slowly slipping through his fingers, that is until he finds one case that could either make or break him for life. Early on in the story, as all young lawyers do, all he could think about was the bar exam. In the process he loses three jobs and finds himself stranded, until his teacher takes him to a nursing home to listen to the peoples law needs. During this he doesn¿t realize but he finds the case of his life. During his trial he meets the woman of his dreams. The problem with this is she is married to a drunk who beats her severely. Is it possible for this young man to stand a chance? Much less make it rain?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2008

    A reviewer

    After watching the movie version of The Rainmaker, I decided to try Grisham's novel. I was blown away and spent nearly five hours each day reading this well written book not knowing what to expect. I felt that I was right there at the scene. One of his greatest books written. Highly recommended. This book was enjoyable and led me to read other John Grisham works as well. Two thumbs up, the movie doesn't do this book justice...just read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2007

    A reviewer

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book! John Grisham does an excellent job of spinning a web of details to snare the reader's attention. The amount of research put into this book must have been unbelievable, as intricate as the details go into insurance company matters, lawyer business, and so forth. I think that this book was great, and the ending was a bit of a surprise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2004

    a must read

    of all his books i think these one is the best . the characters depth and the conflict of emotions makes it a must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2004

    Action Packed

    This was an action packed novel that kept me up late at night, and wishing I could call in sick at work. It's hard to put down once you start reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6