Customer Reviews for

Rainshadow Road

Average Rating 4
( 280 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(120)

4 Star

(101)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

Nicely done story of romance after heartbreak

Lucy Marinn thinks she finally has the life she has always dreamed of. After a childhood of being pushed aside for her younger sister who once had a medical crisis, she has a wonderful boyfriend, a perfect home, and a career she loves. Then, her boyfriend Kevin tells h...
Lucy Marinn thinks she finally has the life she has always dreamed of. After a childhood of being pushed aside for her younger sister who once had a medical crisis, she has a wonderful boyfriend, a perfect home, and a career she loves. Then, her boyfriend Kevin tells her it is all over, she needs to move out and by the way he is in love with her sister Alice. She runs from their home and takes a walk to clear her head and meets Sam Nolan, a local vintner. They have a conversation and Lucy goes home to begin her life all over again.
For once, Alice’s family sides with her and Alice is the villain and she doesn’t like it. She and Kevin plan to marry and the family is not supporting the idea and won’t pay for a wedding. Alice and Kevin hatch a plan to get Lucy a boyfriend so they won’t be the bad guys anymore (not because they feel bad for being selfish jerks). Sam gets pulled into the plan and goes along because he felt an attraction to Lucy.
At this point I thought here we go again, Sam and Lucy fall in love and she finds out about the way it began and so on. But Ms. Kleypas didn’t take the clichéd way, she had Sam act like an adult and tell Lucy the truth from the beginning. Loved it! Especially since Lucy had major trust issues that would cause problems in any relationship. Fate intervenes and Lucy and Sam are thrown together when she ends up recuperating at his house. He has family issues of his own that she gets to see a little closer and they both have to learn to work through their resistance to love.
This was an interesting book because it had a little bit of everything going on. Betrayal, magic, family problems, all the fun things are included in this book. It all works and feels appropriate not just stuck in to make the plot work. There is also a nicely done set up for the next book in the series.

posted by SharonRedfern on February 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

59 out of 91 people found this review helpful.

Reader

Please do not explain so much of the story when you review! Let us find out something when we read it ourselves,

posted by 4282736 on March 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 280 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Reader

    Please do not explain so much of the story when you review! Let us find out something when we read it ourselves,

    59 out of 91 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Nicely done story of romance after heartbreak

    Lucy Marinn thinks she finally has the life she has always dreamed of. After a childhood of being pushed aside for her younger sister who once had a medical crisis, she has a wonderful boyfriend, a perfect home, and a career she loves. Then, her boyfriend Kevin tells her it is all over, she needs to move out and by the way he is in love with her sister Alice. She runs from their home and takes a walk to clear her head and meets Sam Nolan, a local vintner. They have a conversation and Lucy goes home to begin her life all over again.
    For once, Alice’s family sides with her and Alice is the villain and she doesn’t like it. She and Kevin plan to marry and the family is not supporting the idea and won’t pay for a wedding. Alice and Kevin hatch a plan to get Lucy a boyfriend so they won’t be the bad guys anymore (not because they feel bad for being selfish jerks). Sam gets pulled into the plan and goes along because he felt an attraction to Lucy.
    At this point I thought here we go again, Sam and Lucy fall in love and she finds out about the way it began and so on. But Ms. Kleypas didn’t take the clichéd way, she had Sam act like an adult and tell Lucy the truth from the beginning. Loved it! Especially since Lucy had major trust issues that would cause problems in any relationship. Fate intervenes and Lucy and Sam are thrown together when she ends up recuperating at his house. He has family issues of his own that she gets to see a little closer and they both have to learn to work through their resistance to love.
    This was an interesting book because it had a little bit of everything going on. Betrayal, magic, family problems, all the fun things are included in this book. It all works and feels appropriate not just stuck in to make the plot work. There is also a nicely done set up for the next book in the series.

    25 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    Oh, Lisa Lisa Lisa. What have you done? This book is terrible!

    Oh, Lisa Lisa Lisa. What have you done? This book is terrible! I LOVE Lisa Kleypas and have read all of her books, both contemporary and historical romance, and have relied on her consistent good storytelling. This book just misses the mark completely. This weak attempt at adding a dash of "paranormal" only underscores her lack of comfort with that genre. Sam and Lucy are so under-developed as characters and there is a lack of chemistry between them. It was a BORING story with none of the elements one looks for in a romantic novel - no suspense, no interesting characters, and no tension between the characters. Save your money and buy Fifty Shades of Grey.

    18 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    !

    There is no need for some posters to give away every detail in their reviews. That is rude and inconsiderate. You should be banned fromm posting.

    16 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Not one of Kleypas's best

    Rainshadow Road is about Lucy Marinn, a glass artist who has a troubled relationship with her family, especially her sister. When her boyfriend dumps her for her sister, Lucy decides she can't handle relationships anymore, since they only lead to heartbreak. And enter Sam Nolan. Sam owns his own vineyard and is very passionate about his work. His family is very dysfunctional. His parents were alcoholics, who basically drank themselves to death. Sam vehemently opposes intimacy of any kind and only has shallow friends-with-benefits relationships. However, when Lucy and Sam meet, they feel more.

    Overall, I thought the plot was tired and boring. It was the same-old same-old neglected sister, who grew up in the shadow of her younger, more pampered sister. Said sister gets away with whatever she wants. So Lucy spends a good two thirds of the book whining. Sam is even more of a cliche with his wounded background and intimacy issues. What bothered me more than the tired plot was Lucy's personality. She came off as really unintelligent at times. Kleypas made Sam seem like this super intelligent man who had to patiently explain simple mundane things to Lucy. Also, the reason that Lucy and Sam are forced to spend more time together and thus develop their relationship felt forced and contrived. It was a very odd way to throw the pair together. Kleypas made two attempts to put them together and neither were original or coherent.
    The emotions in this book are great though, And I thoroughly enjoyed listening to Lucy describe her passion for her artwork. So, slightly contrived plot, cliche characters, people making things come to life by looking at them (yeah don't even get me started on that part of the book), but good emotions. Not Kleypas's best by a long-shot.

    14 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Great summer read

    I have to agree, don't give the story away in your review. I will say that I thought this was a fun read, all of Lisa's books take me away. I love the love story. I am fixing to start the next book, i can't wait to hear Alex's story.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    This book isn't your typical lusty, provocative romance novel (d

    This book isn't your typical lusty, provocative romance novel (don't worry-those parts are still in there!) where so much of the focus is on the tension between the characters and it becomes too much. This book is SO much more, and it is truly perfect. This is the first book that I've read by this author and I'm thoroughly impressed. This book touches on every emotion, and is an inspiration to anyone who has dealt with a broken heart. What I loved most about it is even though it has a touch (very slight) of magic, the book felt so real. The emotions and characters hit home-everyone knows people from the book. Couldn't put this book down, and I can't wait to read more from her!

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    Good but not what I was expecting

    I really enjoyed reading this book and the expressions Kleypas uses in her writing are entertaining (ex. Friends are the support bras of life). But it was not what I expected it to be. Having read the first book in the series,which was a nice contemporary romantic comedy, I was not expecting this one to have a paranormal twist. Both of the main characters have supernatural powers, though they are subtle. Lucy turns glass into animals (which honestly seems like it would be annoying- she just finished talking about how special a glass was and then she accidently turns it into a hummingbird), while Sam can heal plants. While these play a minor role in the story, it was very unexpected and it looks like the next book will be even more paranormal given that the excerpt starts off with a ghost. Overall, it was a good read, with well developed characters and an interesting story line that was usually believable (the exception being the magic).

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Love it! I couldn't put it down!

    Highly recommends

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    From Texas to Washington State

    Lightning strikes again! Now our men in this series are needing the strength of a strong woman and what a cumbustion it makes! Waiting for number 3. I still love Texas, though! Lisa, how about Joe Travis?!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Great read!

    This story drew me right in. It reminds me a lot of Sarah Addison Allen' s books. Loved the depth of emotions and the hint of magic.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2012

    LOVED this book! I thought the main characters were believable

    LOVED this book! I thought the main characters were believable and I loved that they had both had less than perfect childhoods. This is the 2nd in the series, but the 1st I read. I'll be reading both of the others ASAP!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    Just Ok

    Not quite what I was expecting coming from Lisa Kleypas. The story of Lucy who is betrayed by her own sister when she hooks up with her boyfriend. The whole magic thing with the characters wasn't really explained well especially for Sam, the "grape grower". The way the two are forced to spend time in eachother's company didn't quite do it for me. I just couldn't picture these two being intimitate when she was incapacitated. I realize the side stories of Sam's alcoholic brother and Lucy's friends sets you up for the sequels but I don't think so much writing should have been focused on them. Do that in the sequels.
    All in all, I was disappointed in this one. I won't be looking to read the others in this series.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2012

    Funny, sad, something for everyone in this book. I wanted more.

    Funny, sad, something for everyone in this book. I wanted more.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Good read!

    This was a very sweet love story! Had a little bit of everything in there with a few OMG moments! Good for a quick read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    Gave it 4 stars!

    Well written with full, rich characters. I love the references to glass art. The supporting characters are also well written, and makes one wish to get to know them too. This writer makes the bedroom scenes tastefully done with real feelings for each other. I enjoyed reading this book and will look for further offerings by her.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    Excellent book

    This was a wonderful book, I have recommended it to other already who have read it and also loved it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    I loved this book, I loved the writing and the characters. My fa

    I loved this book, I loved the writing and the characters. My favorite part was page 144-149 with the hummingbird. I love love love it

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2013

    Ehh this book was pretty boring. I was not really impressed at a

    Ehh this book was pretty boring. I was not really impressed at all. The whole time I was reading it I was just waiting for something to happen.  I would not recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Enjoyable

    I really liked this. A heroine I would enjoy having coffee with and the brothers are warm hearted, responsible and kind. A refreshing break from the usual formula.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 280 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14