Customer Reviews for

Raintree: Inferno

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 20, 2013

    This is the first book of a trilogy. You'll really like Dante ev

    This is the first book of a trilogy. You'll really like Dante even if he is extremely arrogant, bossy, and a big cruel. Lorna is more than ready to put him in his place, and does - often. The book just ends, so does the second in the series. If you're not prepared to read all three to learn the complete story, don't even start. You will be pleased if you do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Linda Howard Rocks!

    I love Linda Howards books...and if you like adventure packed love stories you will too. I found this one to be hard to put down as well. I'm one who will not even read the back cover because I don't want a clue to whats coming next so lets just say that its thrilling, funny, romantic, and different. Any book with Linda Howard's name on it is a book I will buy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Raintree Inferno

    Well,I feel that this novel was rather good. Good romance but bad ending,it kinda of forces you to read the next two books because the first ends very abruptly,The concept of the Raintree and Ansara wizards was good and unique to not that eye-catching as i would have expected.The romance also had very little time to develop and i was hoping the novel ended with Lorna accepting Dante as her other half but that did not happen as I was a little disappointed to say the least.Good for a quick read though!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book was extremely interesting and it kept my attention. I love the whole good vs. evil theme. I am new to Linda Howard but if all her books are this good, I can't wait to pick up the rest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2007

    why's it got to be like every other paranormal romance?

    Most paranormal romance writers nowadays seem to fall into formulaic traps that only results in poorly written books. Like all other books of the genre, there's the strong man in power who captures the girl and somehow they fall in love instantly. The characters fall flat and are boring, nothing special about them even if Dante is the leader and Lorna is supposedly powerful. Not to mention, this book has an unfinished ending which will probably be followed up in the sequels. Linda Howard is a great writer, but just not for this collaboration in the Raintree series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2007

    Enjoyable reading

    I enjoyed the book. It kept my attention to the point where I couldn't put it down. While it may not be the mystery I expected from Linda Howard, I wasn't disappointed. I read anywhere from 4 to 6 books a week and have always enjoyed her work. As a solo family physician I need light reading in my time off and this worked for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2007

    A reviewer

    How very disappointing. I love Linda Howard books, and the book was great...Till the end that wasnt there. Most series are kind of stand alone where you can pick up any of the books and have a story. This one just ended with no end. You actually have to read the other two whether you care for those author's style of writing or not. Now, if the other two were written by Linda I would be upset that I need to pay three times as much to read what is essentially one story line, but I probably would have. Unfortunately I don't care for either of the two other authors style and will just have to write this one off. Also now I will have to scan Linda Howard books more carefully and glance at the ends of them to make sure I won't need to buy another one to find out how the story ends before I purchase it. 'sigh'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    I was very impressed with this book. I am a devout romance reader, but was getting bored with the same ol same ol. This book was very refreshing and exciting. The cliffhanger was just too much though and now I'm hooked. I can't wait for the other two books to come out! If you love Linda Howard or just love suspenceful romances get this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2007

    You have to read this in conjunction with Raintree: Haunted

    I'm a die hard Linda Howard fan and I agree that this book could have been so much more. But don't write off the other two parts of this trilogy just yet. I recently read Raintree: Haunted...I thought it would be horrible because I really don't like Linda Winstead Jones's writing style but it's a must read. It's absolutely fantastic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2007

    A reviewer

    If you are a big fan of Linda Howard's and go into this book ready for the usual Linda Howard Romances then you will probably be disappointed. If you step back though and prepare yourself for something new, something different then I think you will truly enjoy this masterpiece. I can't wait to read the next piece of the puzzle!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2007

    AMAZING!!!!

    I know it's untraditional to start a review this way, but I wanted to say that I fully support every fan who wants to support their favorite author. With that being said, I want to add that with all the people in the world, it will always be possible, in fact plausible that more than one person will get the same idea or even set of ideas. It's what you do with those concepts admist your story that makes it unique! 'After all look at Holy Blood, Holy Grail versus the Davinci Code - 2 sets of authors with the same research, yet producing different books'. I have not been a very big fan of Linda Howard however, this Raintree series is very intriguing and she has won me over. So, red and blue make purple, so what? Linda Howard and company have truly landed on something here. It's almost Quentin Tarantino-like and I mean that as an extreme compliment!! If you have enjoyed Linda or Quentin's ideas in the past, then you will not want to miss this amazing triology!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2007

    Vampires - let's get real!

    Does every writer have to jump on the same horrible bandwagon? I love Linda Howard's books, but this one is awful. It seems that all the romance writers have been adopting this theme and it's ridiculous. If this keeps up there won't be anyone left to read. I've talked to a great many friends and colleagues who have noticed the same trend, and they agree. We want a good believable romance, not crap!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2007

    hmmmm...

    ...but extraordinary powers and supernatural origin and they will have to face their greatest fears. I feel like I already read this in Gods or Monsters - the Red bloodline which is called the Clan and the blue bloodline... its extremely coincidental that Raintrees first 2 covers are red and then blue. I have seen the 3rd cover yet, but if its yellow(gold) or Purple... then I'd have to wonder if these authors got there research from the same source... or actually I don't know what else to wonder... Still the 3 part series is an interesting depart from the ordinary

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2