Customer Reviews for

Rainwater

Average Rating 4
( 355 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(165)

4 Star

(78)

3 Star

(53)

2 Star

(32)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Starts right away catching your interest. Quirky characters and fascinating story line which will leave you with smiles, perhaps some tears, but you find the ending surprisingly sweet. America was made by strong people such as these.

Depression time in America. A young lady finds herself running a boarding house to makes ends meet when her worthless husband leaves. To complicate matters, she has a little boy with autisim. The side story of the civil rights issue raises its head, becomes a major p...
Depression time in America. A young lady finds herself running a boarding house to makes ends meet when her worthless husband leaves. To complicate matters, she has a little boy with autisim. The side story of the civil rights issue raises its head, becomes a major problem in the little town. But a stranger comes to town, needing a place to stay while he dies. The local doctor, who is the only one to know the circumstances of David Rainwater, takes him to the boarding house. And this mysterious man bonds with the little boy, brings him out of his shell. And of course the friendship story which nearly becomes a love story can almost make you ache inside. This is a story that you will just enjoy reading, finding out that you like the people, care about the ending, wish Sandra Brown would write more like this. Actually, when I picked up the book, it was a mistake ... I read (and love) everything by Sandra Dalles, didn't notice it was "Brown" not "Dallas." When I went to get more by Sandra Brown, I found that most of her writing is not at all like this book. Bummer. I would love to put this on my permanent shelf of favorites, but I gave it away to someone who was in town at the moment. And I just knew she would love the story as much as I did. Very good read. (If you love this one, you'll also love Sandra Dallas and Lisa Wingate.)

posted by JFJ on January 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Interesting Read

Have to say this was an interesting read. I have to laugh at all those who gave this a 5-star. For me, that's reserved for Hemmingway, Steinbeck, etc. Certainly not this one. A 3-star, in my opinion, means a good story and worth reading. Five-stars are reserved for...
Have to say this was an interesting read. I have to laugh at all those who gave this a 5-star. For me, that's reserved for Hemmingway, Steinbeck, etc. Certainly not this one. A 3-star, in my opinion, means a good story and worth reading. Five-stars are reserved for those books you discuss decades later. This isn't one of those.

The storyline is interesting, but a little contrived and cliche-ish. Spent too much time dwelling on a single issue perhaps. I felt that the conclusion was WAY too short...the whole book built up to a release of expectations that only lasted about 5 pages. Other than that, it had a surprise ending that fit the plot and all worked out. Would recommend for a rainy-day.

I have to wonder...how in the heck would a mother discuss the intimate details of her love life with her son?? Not sure how that would have gotten into the story, considering the ending. Not to give anything away...but this is a story told by the son, how did that get into the story??

posted by In-bed-with-my-Nook on February 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 356 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18
  • Posted February 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    COMPELLING JOURNEY!

    This is a story within a story with lots of challenges, from terminal illness to broken-heartedness, to autism, to poverty to disappointment to tragedy to courage to sacrifice to courage and all kinds of love. Brown did her research. She had the jargon down for the 1930's on and the way people thought back then, chilling racism, bigotry and such. Wonderful read! Other books I LOVED are THE HELP, EXPLOSION IN PARIS, SAME KIND OF DIFFERENT AS ME

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Starts right away catching your interest. Quirky characters and fascinating story line which will leave you with smiles, perhaps some tears, but you find the ending surprisingly sweet. America was made by strong people such as these.

    Depression time in America. A young lady finds herself running a boarding house to makes ends meet when her worthless husband leaves. To complicate matters, she has a little boy with autisim. The side story of the civil rights issue raises its head, becomes a major problem in the little town. But a stranger comes to town, needing a place to stay while he dies. The local doctor, who is the only one to know the circumstances of David Rainwater, takes him to the boarding house. And this mysterious man bonds with the little boy, brings him out of his shell. And of course the friendship story which nearly becomes a love story can almost make you ache inside. This is a story that you will just enjoy reading, finding out that you like the people, care about the ending, wish Sandra Brown would write more like this. Actually, when I picked up the book, it was a mistake ... I read (and love) everything by Sandra Dalles, didn't notice it was "Brown" not "Dallas." When I went to get more by Sandra Brown, I found that most of her writing is not at all like this book. Bummer. I would love to put this on my permanent shelf of favorites, but I gave it away to someone who was in town at the moment. And I just knew she would love the story as much as I did. Very good read. (If you love this one, you'll also love Sandra Dallas and Lisa Wingate.)

    16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Will inspire and tug at your heart strings

    RAINWATER was a gift for my birthday and even though I was busy with Christmas preparations I couldn't wait to get started on it. This one will inspire you and tug at your heart strings. It's bittersweet, but a feel-good read, heartwarming, and touching. It's set in 1934 Texas, the era of racial conflicts, depression, the down-trodden, and always the frustrating, unfair evil, that we have in every era. This is all about the fight for survival. "Hope" is the magic word that keeps the fight alive. Wonderful story!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    Enjoyed every word

    Sandra Brown is simply a very gifted writer. Nothing else needs to be said. Buy this one, read it, love it, that's all.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    HEART-WARMING AND BITTERSWEET

    I am an avid Sandra Brown fan. I own and have read most of her books. All I can say is that this is unlike any book she has ever written but I love it. It is a heartwarming, bittersweet story that will make you believe in the wonders of love in all aspects. The fascinating characters in 1934 Texas
    Come together in a way the reader might not expect. This is a wonderful, touching story, set during the depression giving the reader an accurate look at small town America, suffering through not only tough times financially but racially and what being a good neighbor and a good friend can bring you. Brown is an exceptional storyteller and a master with her dialogue. Her characters are very real and three dimensional, with their heartbreaking, yet hopeful story. Any lover of great literary fiction with a historical background will fall in love with Sandra Brown's "Rainwater". A must read! I recommend!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2010

    Page Turner!!

    This is my first read Sandra Brown book. Rainwater is a perfect interpretation of the "best of love" and the "worst of hate". The characters are so vivid and alive! Great book! Looking forward to reading more from Sandra Brown.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An Unexpected Pleasure

    Rainwater is not what you'd expect from Sandra Brown in terms of genre, but it is what you'd expect in terms of context. Ms. Brown hits all the marks with this wonderful, touching story.
    Set during the depression she gives us an accurate look at small town America, suffering through not only tough times financially but racially and what being a good neighbor and good friend can bring you from those who don't share your views. She is an exceptional storyteller and a wizard with her dialogue that will have you feeling the dust settle in your lungs from the drought or see the despair of the citizens loosing everything they have and just trying to survive day to day. She re-created and brought to life for me the stories my Grandmother told me of the hardships of the people who lived through the great depression. Her characters are very real, three dimensional, heartbreaking and yet hopeful. The main characters of Solly, Ella and David Rainwater are amazing and will stay with you long after the final page has been turned.
    Any lover of great literary fiction will fall in love with Sandra Brown's Rainwater. Be prepared to be wowed by this incredible story, wonderful characters and amazing dialogue. It'll take you back and make you glad of how far we've come and yet make you hunger for the simpler times. A must read and a definite Best Seller.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow! Sandra Brown should write more of these!

    I LOVED THIS BOOK! Totally different from her usual fare, this book takes you to a boarding house during the depression. The characters are wonderful and realistic. The story is compelling. I wanted this book to go on and on. The landlady is a women who has run into hard times and must run this boarding house for a living. She has a black helper who is as much a friend as an employee. They can both teach us how to give back to the community even with the little that they have. The "new boarder" is the type of man you want your daughter to date even with his "difficulty". When I finished ths book, I just sat for a moment and petted it. It touched me that much. I hope that Mrs. Brown writes more of these kinds of books.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Heartwarming to read

    This was simply a wonderful story to read. I wanted to hug Sandra Brown when I finished it. Not many stories are this moving. I couldn't wait to get my own copy to keep and to tell people about it. Thank you so much.
    This will make a lovely gift for someone special.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Exceptional story of 1934 Texas, poor and racial tempers flaring

    Rainwater is a much different style of book than we are used to from Sandra Brown. We are used to crime, mystery, and detective, stories interlaced with love. Rainwater is a terrific book that takes us into a world about which Sandra Brown has wanted to write for years. I loved reading and thoroughly enjoying the story, the characters, and the actions of 1934 Texas with racial problems running high, education running low, and much inter-action between all the players. There is a romantic side of Rainwater also that brings some of the people together that the reader might not expect.

    Ella Barron runs a boardinghouse out of necessity to exist but she enjoys her routines and especially enjoys her seemingly mentally challenged son, Solly. Dr. Kincaid brought Mr. Rainwater to Ella requesting that she allow him to become a boarder. It so happened that a room was available so she took Mr. Rainwater in to join her other boarders all of who got along quite well. When Mr. Rainwater saw the things Solly was doing, he stepped in with Ella's approval and they discovered that Solly could do some amazing things with dominos, tooth picks, cards, and eventually more. He worked with Solly a lot.

    The racial relations of the time combined with shantytown where all the poor downtrodden lived, white and black, were an explosive issue with several in town continually bothering and outright hurting these people and any property they might have. The lack of rain and feed caused the cattle to starve. The federal government ruled that animals in that condition had to be killed and they were not allowed to be used for food, which was so much needed by the poor. When the town "bullies" came to drive the cattle into a deeply dug ditch, killed, and covered with lye so they could not be used for food, many battles and hard feelings ensued. Mr. Rainwater, even though in bad health, joined in the battle to save the cattle and allow them to be used for food.

    This describes the book pattern well and should entice you to purchase it and when you do don't expect to be able to put it down before finishing it. Thanks Sandra Brown. I could read more of this type stories from you. Yes, I enjoy all your other books as I think I have read all of them.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Sandra Brown is at her best with this heart-wrenching one sitting Americana

    In 1934 in Gilead, Texas, after her husband deserted Ella Barron and their son Solly, she supports them by running a boardinghouse. Her ten year old child has issues that make him different and requires much attention from Ella. Although she is tired from all she must do to keep the place running and her son safe Ella believes it is worth it for her Solly.

    Ella agrees to take in a new boarder David Rainwater based on a recommendation from a friend she trusts. The quiet newcomer surprises her as he is more than just kind to Solly; he spends quality time with her son. Ella reluctantly becomes attracted to him and he is falling in love with his landlady and her child. However, when racial hatred led by affluent Conrad Ellis leads to violence aimed at Ella and Solly, David risks his life to protect those facing brutality.

    This is a deep Great Depression Era Texas thriller as poverty ignores race, ethnic background and gender, but people don't. Racism turns brutally ugly as Ellis and his followers are the law. Ella is a courageous individual while Solly steals hearts as the townsfolk see him as either pitiful or demonized, making him a perfect helpless target of Ellis. David will surprise readers as Solly gives him the inspiration to risk his life. Sandra Brown is at her best with this heart-wrenching one sitting Americana.

    Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Sandra Brown Lover

    I am an avid Sandra Brown fan. I own and have read all her books; even the hard to find books first published in the 80's at various used bookstores around Arizona. All I can say is that this is unlike any book she has ever written and I love it. It's a heartwarming, bittersweet story that will make you believe in the wonders of love for the opposite sex and for a child.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sandra Brown has outdone herself. Great Book

    I have read all her mystery novels and really like her as a writer. But this was a book you just sat down and enjoyed the read of a real nice story. Would recommend this book to anyone. Sandra Brown is a great writer.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2010

    Hated to have it end.

    I loved Rainwater. I hated for the story to be over. It made me cry.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    Wonderful Read

    So different from the typical Sandra Brown novel. This one reminded me
    of Dorothy Garlock's series of 1940's novels. I didn't want this one
    to end. Beautiful heartwarming story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2009

    Touching & Beautiful

    I read this in two days; could not put it down. It's the first I've read of Sandra Brown, but I'll be looking for her other books now. Very touching, sad but not too sad. It's a beautiful story with an amazing twist at the end. I don't like books that depress or upset me, and this book did neither, but it still managed to touch my heart. It's a terrific read; don't miss out on it. It's not a book I'll be forgetting about any time soon.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    Touching story, grabs you and you won't put it down.

    I could almost feel the dry heat of the drought and the tension in the little town as I read. Through the book I kept hoping that something would get through to Solly. It's written on the lines of "The Notebook" and other Sparks books, also made me think of "Bridges of Madison County."
    I didn't want the story to end!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2010

    Wonderfully written!

    For anyone who appreciates "light" historical fiction (not too heavy on the history), this is a wonderful book. It's a total departure for Sandra Brown, and what an amazing success it is! The chacters are beautifully developed, the plot moves along exceptionally well, and the dialogue is appropriate and believeable. I couldn't put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2010

    Loved this book!

    My mother in law suggested this one to me saying it was different from what Sandra Brown usually writes. I loved this book! All I could think about the last hour of work was how I couldn't wait to get home and read more. I read somewhere that Sandra Brown wrote this in between writing two larger novels. I hope she writes something similar to it in the future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    I've enjoyed every Brown book I have read so I tried this one thinking no way it could be bad and....

    I really love reading Sandra Brown. I have enjoyed every book I have read from her. So I picked this one up thinking I couldnt go wrong. I was right! I loved this book. I was so different from her other books and I enjoyed it very much. It was a quick read and I truly enjoyed the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 356 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18