BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Raise the Titanic! (Dirk Pitt Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 157 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The start of it all!

This is, I believe, the first Dirk Pit novel. Written when the discovery of the Titanic was still a number of years in the future, the story sweeps you in and holds you until the last page, and in Cussler's deft hands, raising the great doomed ship sounds almost possibl...
This is, I believe, the first Dirk Pit novel. Written when the discovery of the Titanic was still a number of years in the future, the story sweeps you in and holds you until the last page, and in Cussler's deft hands, raising the great doomed ship sounds almost possible. This novel was made into a movie, and, though I haven't seen it in years, read the book first, then see if you can find the movie. You'll love them both. Dirk Pit makes James Bond look like a wimp!

posted by Anonymous on February 2, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good if you read it during the Cold War

For the most part not much really happens. It was written in the 70's when people were still terrified about Communism. I could of seen this book a good read if I was older and actually lived during those times but since I didn't I found it hard to connect wit...
For the most part not much really happens. It was written in the 70's when people were still terrified about Communism. I could of seen this book a good read if I was older and actually lived during those times but since I didn't I found it hard to connect with the book. This is the 16th Clive Cussler book I have read and still think he is a great author and find it interesting to read how much Dirk Pitt has changed. In the more recent books (mid 80s and on) Pitt has more of a solid typical hero vibe. In the older books he is more arrogant and kind of a jerk. Just interesting to see the character development there.

posted by Anonymous on January 18, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 160 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2004

    The start of it all!

    This is, I believe, the first Dirk Pit novel. Written when the discovery of the Titanic was still a number of years in the future, the story sweeps you in and holds you until the last page, and in Cussler's deft hands, raising the great doomed ship sounds almost possible. This novel was made into a movie, and, though I haven't seen it in years, read the book first, then see if you can find the movie. You'll love them both. Dirk Pit makes James Bond look like a wimp!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2008

    Good if you read it during the Cold War

    For the most part not much really happens. It was written in the 70's when people were still terrified about Communism. I could of seen this book a good read if I was older and actually lived during those times but since I didn't I found it hard to connect with the book. This is the 16th Clive Cussler book I have read and still think he is a great author and find it interesting to read how much Dirk Pitt has changed. In the more recent books (mid 80s and on) Pitt has more of a solid typical hero vibe. In the older books he is more arrogant and kind of a jerk. Just interesting to see the character development there.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    WARNING!

    Do not let adults read this. It is to funny for adults! I'm typing this in the bathroom while i am takeing kare of bissnus!:) Poo poo to me

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Fun and fast moving!

    Fun and fast moving story even though the remains of the Titanic were actually found long ago. As all Dirk Pitt stories are it was great adventure fantasy! Recommended for anyone Who likes adventures stories.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Hero!

    I first met Dirk Pitt when I was in high school, and I just fell for him. Such fun adventures! He's a little chauvinist but just the right touch. When I first read Raise the Titanic! I thought it was real. :) I'm re-reading the entire series, and I've enjoyed every page.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    great read

    this is a book that keeps you hanging. it was hard to imagine because im used to titanic being in two pieces and not a whole.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2003

    INCREDIBLY BELIEVABLE!!

    This is only the third Clive Cussler book I've read, but now I will definitely read more. "Raise the Titanic" was fast-paced, and totally believable - A REAL PAGE TURNER. It's amazing he originally wrote this 10 years before the real Titanic was found. You will not be disappointed!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    I recommend this book

    The characters are great, There is always something you learn about them in (almost) evry book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    This is the fourth Dirk Pitt novel to be written, but the first

    This is the fourth Dirk Pitt novel to be written, but the first one that put Pitt and Cussler on the map. If you've seen the movie but haven't read the book, do yourself a big favor and wipe the movie from your memory and then enjoy the book. I read somewhere that Cussler refused to sell the movie rights to any of his other books after he'd seen what a botched job they did of this one. (He relented later on.) The best thing about the movie -- perhaps the only good thing -- is the scene where the ship finally breaches the surface of the ocean. It was so effective they repeated it during the closing credits! But getting back to the book, if you've read any other Cussler books, bear in mind that this was pretty much where it started. Cussler obviously hit the ground running and amazingly he hasn't stopped since. I hope he keeps writing for the rest of my life!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Awesom!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Your money well spent!

    Twist around evry corner its a book you cant put down a must read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    Almost prescient - Still thrilling

    It is amazing that a decade before Ballard found the actual Titanic, Cussler does such an amazing job describing the techniques that would be used in eventually locating the ship. Dirk Pitt in his early days is a much more interesting character to me and this is him at his apex. If you have not ever read Cussler's early work - do yourself a favor and see why many consider him a genius of the genre.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Wow

    Very interasting

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    WARNING!

    CAUTION! Do not let kids read. Way to much profane oanguage. Do not let kid read

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Great book!

    The historical fiction of CC is already gripping... but the fact that he wrote this before the Titanic was discovered makes it gold. Great storyline with plenty of twists. Loved it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2012

    Clive Cussler's the best!

    Great reading, keeps you guessing what's going to happen next. Clive Cussler always puts twists in the plot to keep it exciting!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2014

    Great Read

    This is the 1st Dirk Pitt book I read and I was not disappointed. It started off a little slow, but ended up being a great read. I wish I could read ALL of the books in the series but Barnes & Noble only has a select few, bummer. C'mon B&N, give me access to the whole series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    OREGON FILES

    All the Oregon files books are worth reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Training grounds

    ...

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Freytt

    Hmmmmmm......

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 160 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8