Customer Reviews for

Raise the Titanic! (Dirk Pitt Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 157 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The start of it all!

This is, I believe, the first Dirk Pit novel. Written when the discovery of the Titanic was still a number of years in the future, the story sweeps you in and holds you until the last page, and in Cussler's deft hands, raising the great doomed ship sounds almost possibl...
This is, I believe, the first Dirk Pit novel. Written when the discovery of the Titanic was still a number of years in the future, the story sweeps you in and holds you until the last page, and in Cussler's deft hands, raising the great doomed ship sounds almost possible. This novel was made into a movie, and, though I haven't seen it in years, read the book first, then see if you can find the movie. You'll love them both. Dirk Pit makes James Bond look like a wimp!

posted by Anonymous on February 2, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good if you read it during the Cold War

For the most part not much really happens. It was written in the 70's when people were still terrified about Communism. I could of seen this book a good read if I was older and actually lived during those times but since I didn't I found it hard to connect wit...
For the most part not much really happens. It was written in the 70's when people were still terrified about Communism. I could of seen this book a good read if I was older and actually lived during those times but since I didn't I found it hard to connect with the book. This is the 16th Clive Cussler book I have read and still think he is a great author and find it interesting to read how much Dirk Pitt has changed. In the more recent books (mid 80s and on) Pitt has more of a solid typical hero vibe. In the older books he is more arrogant and kind of a jerk. Just interesting to see the character development there.

posted by Anonymous on January 18, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Fun and fast moving!

    Fun and fast moving story even though the remains of the Titanic were actually found long ago. As all Dirk Pitt stories are it was great adventure fantasy! Recommended for anyone Who likes adventures stories.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Great book!

    The historical fiction of CC is already gripping... but the fact that he wrote this before the Titanic was discovered makes it gold. Great storyline with plenty of twists. Loved it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2014

    Great Read

    This is the 1st Dirk Pitt book I read and I was not disappointed. It started off a little slow, but ended up being a great read. I wish I could read ALL of the books in the series but Barnes & Noble only has a select few, bummer. C'mon B&N, give me access to the whole series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    OREGON FILES

    All the Oregon files books are worth reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    exciting!

    Yet another action packed, thrilling adventure starring the ever entertaining Dirk Pitt. Raise the Titanic is full of danger, intrigue and espionage as Pitt and crew battle the Soviets and a brutal hurricane while trying to raise the Titanic from the depths of the Atlantic. Clive Cussler is great at putting his readers right in the midst of the excitement!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2002

    Why am I here? I mean on this web site - not on Earth.

    They literaly (or is it literally?) raze - oops!, I mean raise the Titantic! Are there two or three t's in Titanic / Titantic? Titantic just sounds funny. There are people in my head. Have you seen by bow-tie?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2002

    A Titanic Spellbinder

    This is a gripping tale of historical mystery and intrigue; the numerous sub-plots make each chapter a delight to read. I have read every Dirk Pitt novel and Mr Cussler has never let me down. Excellent entertainment from the first page to the last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2002

    Wonderful!

    This was a great book and it had me staying up late to try to finish it. It had some amazing twists and I never would have thought the ending would have been that way! If only we could really raise the Titanic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2000

    Very Good book, Amust read!

    I think this is one of the better books that I read about the Titanic. I am very interested in the Titanic and it fascinates me greatly! But there are not very many good books about the Titanic left. This is one of the better books of them all! Good job Clive Cussler. If you could I would like you to write me back on how my review went.Thank you for such a wonderful book! -Michelle Stone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2000

    Good Book

    I hate to read anything!! But I had to read this book for one of my classes and at first it was boring because i wasn't paying attention but then, i started to get in to it and it turned out to be a relly good book. it had action and adventure with a twist of smarts in it. This is one of my favorite books. P.S. sorry for the bad grammer and speeling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2000

    One of Cussler's better plots!

    Cussler is one of my favorite authors, and this is one of his best works! He certainly can weave some intricate plots, and this is probably one of his most intricate, yet interesting plots!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3