Customer Reviews for

Raise the Titanic! (Dirk Pitt Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 147 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The start of it all!

This is, I believe, the first Dirk Pit novel. Written when the discovery of the Titanic was still a number of years in the future, the story sweeps you in and holds you until the last page, and in Cussler's deft hands, raising the great doomed ship sounds almost possibl...
This is, I believe, the first Dirk Pit novel. Written when the discovery of the Titanic was still a number of years in the future, the story sweeps you in and holds you until the last page, and in Cussler's deft hands, raising the great doomed ship sounds almost possible. This novel was made into a movie, and, though I haven't seen it in years, read the book first, then see if you can find the movie. You'll love them both. Dirk Pit makes James Bond look like a wimp!

posted by Anonymous on February 2, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good if you read it during the Cold War

For the most part not much really happens. It was written in the 70's when people were still terrified about Communism. I could of seen this book a good read if I was older and actually lived during those times but since I didn't I found it hard to connect wit...
For the most part not much really happens. It was written in the 70's when people were still terrified about Communism. I could of seen this book a good read if I was older and actually lived during those times but since I didn't I found it hard to connect with the book. This is the 16th Clive Cussler book I have read and still think he is a great author and find it interesting to read how much Dirk Pitt has changed. In the more recent books (mid 80s and on) Pitt has more of a solid typical hero vibe. In the older books he is more arrogant and kind of a jerk. Just interesting to see the character development there.

posted by Anonymous on January 18, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2004

    The start of it all!

    This is, I believe, the first Dirk Pit novel. Written when the discovery of the Titanic was still a number of years in the future, the story sweeps you in and holds you until the last page, and in Cussler's deft hands, raising the great doomed ship sounds almost possible. This novel was made into a movie, and, though I haven't seen it in years, read the book first, then see if you can find the movie. You'll love them both. Dirk Pit makes James Bond look like a wimp!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Hero!

    I first met Dirk Pitt when I was in high school, and I just fell for him. Such fun adventures! He's a little chauvinist but just the right touch. When I first read Raise the Titanic! I thought it was real. :) I'm re-reading the entire series, and I've enjoyed every page.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    great read

    this is a book that keeps you hanging. it was hard to imagine because im used to titanic being in two pieces and not a whole.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    WARNING!

    Do not let adults read this. It is to funny for adults! I'm typing this in the bathroom while i am takeing kare of bissnus!:) Poo poo to me

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    This is the fourth Dirk Pitt novel to be written, but the first

    This is the fourth Dirk Pitt novel to be written, but the first one that put Pitt and Cussler on the map. If you've seen the movie but haven't read the book, do yourself a big favor and wipe the movie from your memory and then enjoy the book. I read somewhere that Cussler refused to sell the movie rights to any of his other books after he'd seen what a botched job they did of this one. (He relented later on.) The best thing about the movie -- perhaps the only good thing -- is the scene where the ship finally breaches the surface of the ocean. It was so effective they repeated it during the closing credits! But getting back to the book, if you've read any other Cussler books, bear in mind that this was pretty much where it started. Cussler obviously hit the ground running and amazingly he hasn't stopped since. I hope he keeps writing for the rest of my life!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Awesom!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Your money well spent!

    Twist around evry corner its a book you cant put down a must read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    Almost prescient - Still thrilling

    It is amazing that a decade before Ballard found the actual Titanic, Cussler does such an amazing job describing the techniques that would be used in eventually locating the ship. Dirk Pitt in his early days is a much more interesting character to me and this is him at his apex. If you have not ever read Cussler's early work - do yourself a favor and see why many consider him a genius of the genre.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2012

    Clive Cussler's the best!

    Great reading, keeps you guessing what's going to happen next. Clive Cussler always puts twists in the plot to keep it exciting!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Training grounds

    ...

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2011

    great read

    my dad gave me this book after reading it on his commute. i havr read it four or five times and it always keeps me glued to the pages, even though i know the story. thirty plus years later i still enjoy reading clive cussler novels, however i feel this is his best. start here and go right through the dirk pitt catalogue. dirk pitt is the james bond of the sea!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    LOVE THAT DIRK PITT!!

    Another great adventure!!! Will keep you turning pages!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2010

    amazing

    if you like adventure, suspense, and women; then you'll love Clive Cussler as much as I do. The Dirk Pitt books are something to be remembered and will grip you from the first page to the last. Cussler beautifully crafts his words into a fantastic novel. Now on to Vixen 03!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read!

    Loved the gripping action, and could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2010

    Introducing, Dirk Pitt

    This was my introduction to the adventures of Dirk Pitt and the organization called "NUMA".

    Written well before the ship was actually found, but taking place some years in the future so the expected technology makes sense, "Raise the Titanic" is definitely a page turner. Even re-reading it, I became so engrossed in the action that I missed my stop on the train.

    This has been true for all of the novels written by Clive Cussler, that featured Dirk Pitt.

    Above all else, do not believe you know Dirk or Clive because you watched a film based on his novels, this book, and all of the other Dirk Pitt books are infinitely better than anything that could be churned out by the Hollywood Dreck Machine.

    But, I hear you ask, "Why are they trying to raise it?" "Will they raise it?" "Do they raise it?"

    Well, you may ask, but you won't get the answers from me.

    Read, and become enthralled.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2006

    One of the best books I've read

    This book is an outstanding read. The book is an excellent representation of Clive Cussler's ability of writting novels. I believe Raise the Titanic! is one of the best novels he has every written, and that I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2005

    Fan for Life!

    Got this book in the LAX airport to read during a 3 hour layover on the way back from the Cook Islands. It was fantastic and I was thrilled to find there were many more Dirk Pitt books to explore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2002

    An espionage thriller that leaves you guessing until the last page

    One of the best stories ever written. Dirk Pitt adventures never fail to keep you up all night turning the pages, anticipating the next move, and being blown away by the total unpredictability of the ending. Stop playing on your computer, don't watch that stupid sitcom and read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2000

    Cussler & Pitt: My Two Buddies!

    The very first Dirk Pitt adventure I ever read was a mass market edition of 'Shock Wave.' It got me hooked on both Pitt and Cussler, two definite friends I'd want on my side. I have read numerous other Pitt adventures since my first encounter, and I am now a Number One Clive Cussler Fan! RAISE THE TITANIC! is a book that is very well thought out and planned, and is a book that slams with intrigue. Only Cussler, the Grand Master of Adventure, can create this type of action and suspense. Any down-fall to the book, I'd say, would only be some of its language, especially since he had Pitt use a four-letter word--one that I did not expect from either Pitt or Cussler, who is usually quite clean and reserved. Still, RAISE THE TITANIC! is a great book with a great plot! In fact, I've begun to read it for the second time! And I'm still the Number One Clive Cussler Fan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4