Customer Reviews for

Raised by Wolves (Raised by Wolves Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 381 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(229)

4 Star

(90)

3 Star

(40)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

If you've ever wondered what it was like for Mercy Thompson as a teen raised by wolves...

Yes, this comes close to answering that question. If you're a fan of Patricia Briggs amazingly addictive Mercy Thompson series, you'll love Jennifer Lynn Barnes "Raised by Wolves." No, the fifteen year old heroine, Bryn, isn't a shape-shifting coyote or a werewolf, ju...
Yes, this comes close to answering that question. If you're a fan of Patricia Briggs amazingly addictive Mercy Thompson series, you'll love Jennifer Lynn Barnes "Raised by Wolves." No, the fifteen year old heroine, Bryn, isn't a shape-shifting coyote or a werewolf, just a human girl adopted by a pack after a Rabid wolf (think of it as a vicious rogue serial killer...with really big teeth and claws!)slaughters her parents in front of her. She is saved, brought into the pack after the Alpha, Callum, "marks" her and, from the age of 4 to 15, settles in to living with werewolves. Of course, she is a normal rebellious teen, and since girls are a rare commodity in Were society, she is protected to the nth degree. So when she finds out a secret has been kept from her about her family's death, she is rightly angered and hurt by what she sees as her Pack's betrayal. She is also drawn to a strange boy the Alpha has been hiding, a rare human turned Were, a survivor like Bryn. They feel an instant bond, and in her pursuit of the truth Bryn draws the ire of the Pack and its brutal form of justice.

The characterizations in this story are vivid. Callum is Bryn's surrogate father, Alpha of the Pack, all-powerful, and maybe even all-seeing. Ali is the human who married into the Pack and adoptive mother of Bryn. Devon is the 6'4" movie show tune singing best male friend who is also a purebred Were with the potential to be an Alpha. Lake is one of the rare and therefore cherished female Weres who lives outside of the Pack, but is also a butt-kicking, gun-toting BFF to die for.

And then there's Chase. Strong enough to survive an attack by a Werewolf and live through the change, his bond with Bryn is instant although it threatens her place in the Pack. But, man, is he worth the trouble!!!

The wolf behavior and Pack heirarchy are fascinating and make this book a great read. The characterization makes it heartfelt. And the tense buildup to the final showdown makes the ending explosive. I can't wait for the sequel which, according to Jen's website, will be out in 2011.

Fans of Patricia Briggs will eat it up.

posted by romancemistress on June 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Disappointment

I expected more from this book and didn't quite get it. It was boring at times and repetitive. It could have been better had the bonds between the characters not seemed so weak. Don't get me wrong i like it and it started off good enough but went downhill i skimmed a lo...
I expected more from this book and didn't quite get it. It was boring at times and repetitive. It could have been better had the bonds between the characters not seemed so weak. Don't get me wrong i like it and it started off good enough but went downhill i skimmed a lot of it. And it's ending was not as strong and clear as it could have been.

posted by riveting on December 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    Disappointment

    I expected more from this book and didn't quite get it. It was boring at times and repetitive. It could have been better had the bonds between the characters not seemed so weak. Don't get me wrong i like it and it started off good enough but went downhill i skimmed a lot of it. And it's ending was not as strong and clear as it could have been.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    Could have been a lot better

    This book was rather corny and I can't understand why people love it so much. Not that I disliked the book but I hated the main character. Bryn annoyed me and thought she knew best about everything and prided herself for being an annoyance to the alpha and getting in trouble. And for some reason i found all of the female characters in the book annoying. Ali complained to much, Lake wasn't appealing. Sora on the other hand was the only female in the book I actually liked. Devon, Chase, and Callum were amazing characters but they were males. Maybe because the whole "female dominance" thing wasn't portrayed correctly and just made the females irritating, and I'm a female so it's not being sexist I'm just trying to say the females should have been portrayed wayyyy better. And I eventually got tired of "fight, pack, mine, mine, mine, fight, pack, protect." being repeated over and over again. Although the way Jennifer Lynn Barnes portrayed the wolves and the alphas was just amazing. She had done a good job really showing their animal side and how the instincts work. The book was overall good, but the plot was corny and the main character was a typical heroine. The way she described Callum's power was awesome though. I personally didn't like the ending but I'm glad it ended with Callum talking to Bryn. But throughout the book it talked a lot about Devon's power but it was never displayed. And Chase and Bryn were connected through their minds but didn't show much outside of that they liked each other as much as all the stuff that was going on inside their heads. I guess it was my fault for having higher expectations for the book. But it was ok.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    Interesting read.

    Raised by Wolves started off by grabbing my interest and holding it for almost the first half of the book. Then it lost me. I liked the premise, a human girl raised by a pack of wolves. I liked the secondary characters - from her Alpha, Callum, to her adopted human mother, Ali, and her best friend, wolf Dev. She's a spunky kid who constantly pushes her boundaries.

    Callum is hiding a secret, and once she figures out what (who) it is, she's determined to get answers to questions she's been holding inside since she was four. She's immediately drawn to Chase, a bitten wolf. And that's where things start to get out of control.

    I loved the first half of the book - Bryn was a cute heroine, her pack dynamics were interesting, and I liked her best friend, Dev. Then she meets Chase, and I was still into the story. But then Ms. Barnes hurries the story along, where I was enjoying the characters and scenery and the plot was slowly unfolding, suddenly things rush forward and it felt hurried and disjointed from the beginning of the story. It almost felt like two different people wrote the first and second half of the story - I didn't care for her friend Lake, and Dev, who felt like such a huge part of the beginning of the story, disappeared and then suddenly reappeared in time to fight the villian. The end was nice and I was glad the author let us see into Callum's motivations for his actions, but I would have liked to see more about how the principal characters were adjusting than just a general status report.

    I'd be curious to revisit these characters in a few years and find out how things turned out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I've read a books about Fairies , Vampires , Trolls , Dragons ,

    I've read a books about Fairies , Vampires , Trolls , Dragons , Zombies , and All things Supernatural ..
    But i haven't read a book about Werewolves before.
    So i gave this book a chance . Though everyone says that the book starts out slow and ends up slow .
    It actually goes in a normal speed , Making sure everything is explained , not rushed.
    The dialogue i noticed wasn't awkward or forced like most books, where the author tries to make the conversations "natural" .
    Not only did i live Callum and Bryn relationship . I fell in-love with Callum and his strong calm personality. Sadly Jennifer Lynn decided to make Chase the love interest in the book and make Callum Bryn's "Father" or something ..... I wish Bryn could forget all about Chase --who i really didn't care less about once i already meet Callum in the book-- and see him how i do . But since Jennifer Lynn put him as her "Father" , Bryn being in-love with him would be really WRONG ! ......... *sigh* I recommend the book to readers that will resist Callum and fall in love with Chase , cause if you don't you'll end up disappointed and sad . Like me........ ANYWAY! I RECOMMEND IT !!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Starts wonderfully, but ends with a flop

    Adopted by the Alpha of a werewolf pack after a rogue wolf brutally killed her parents right before her eyes, fifteen-year-old Bryn knows only pack life, and the rigid social hierarchy that controls it. That doesn't mean that she's averse to breaking a rule or two.

    But when her curiosity gets the better of her and she discovers Chase, a new teen locked in a cage in her guardian's basement, and witnesses him turn into a wolf before her eyes, the horrific memories of her parents' murders return. Bryn becomes obsessed with getting her questions answered, and Chase is the only one who can provide the information she needs.

    But in her drive to find the truth, will Bryn push too far beyond the constraints of the pack, forcing her to leave behind her friends, her family, and the identity that she's shaped?

    Bryn doesn't exactly feel like she fits in at school as well as at home. She's part of the wolf pack, but many members won't even willingly accept her if not for the Alpha's protection. She's an orphan with a dark past and knows something is up since new laws have been put into place for her to get home at dusk and many more rules shes unwilling to follow. When a new discovery of pack secrets is revealed, Bryn must go against her "human" instincts and fully accept the pack lifestyle, accepting the good with the bad. Yet, can Bryn willingly change for the better when even more secrets from the past become known?

    I thoroughly enjoyed the beginning of this tale, but the end kind of fizzled out for me. It was fresh, very intriguing, and written in a manner that was quite easy to follow, but the plot turns at the end had me wishing for something different. It's not that it wasn't a nice ending, just not as satisfying as I would have personally liked and it was a little sad. Bryn's relationship with the different characters was what interested me the most. She acted differently with everyone and that kept the story spicy and from becoming too slow to enjoy.

    I would have liked a better conclusion (maybe even an epilogue?) to this story and perhaps I'm unaware of a series that will soon follow, but I felt many of the side characters had their tale unjustly cut short and I would have enjoyed to learn more about them and where they were headed. Oh, just found out : TRIAL BY FIRE (the Raised By Wolves sequel) okay, that makes my reading taste much happier to know there is more coming overall.

    Likes: I enjoyed the concept behind the story and am excited to read more into that world in Book #2.

    Dislikes: I want to know more about Bryn and her ability, much was left out and I know there is more of the story to come soon, but what was lacking had me scratching my head in confusion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Raised by wolves

    A good book overall, but it has a slow pace. I bought it because it sounded like a good werewolf book, but I was a little disappointed. Too slow for me. It was not that interesting. I would have liked it better if she was actually a werewolf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2011

    A Fun Read...

    And a very promising start to what should be a great series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Review by Ya-Aholic

    This book was overall a very nice read, I absoulty love books on wolves(wolverines) and what not to this was great. It has everything in it, some comedy, action and a little bit of love. The main thing i liked in this book were the characters, not just the main girl bryn, but callum the alpha and the wolf that found bryn and took her in, chase the boy locked in the cage in callums basement, dev her best guy friend who is very protective of her and lake her best girl friend thats hilarous, all totally won my heart in this book. If your more into paranormal ROMANCE I wouldn.t recommend this book, it has hardly any at all even though the description may give you the idea there is some.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    Not What I Expected...

    Raised by Wolves was definitely something different, and not quite what I expected it to be. The story starts off with Bryn, a human teenage girl raised by wolves. The title pretty much summed that up, but what I originally fell in love with is Bryn's voice in the story. She has major attitude starting out in the novel with a spunky, sarcastic, curiosity driven personality, which ultimately lands her in a heap of trouble; however, she loses that spunk pretty quickly in lieu of a more serious undertone. I won't go into a synopsis as others have done a good job in the breakdown of the story, but I will say it wasn't really what I thought it would be. Bryn doesn't come across Chase until close to the middle of the book and with the rules the alpha put in place, Bryn doesn't see him again for quite a while. So don't go into this thinking it is overly romantic in nature, as Bryn and Chase have "mind" encounters more than physical encounters. We also get an in depth look into how pack society works, and while it was interesting at first it quickly lost its gloss as it kept going over laws, rules, and pack bonds. I got really tired of reading short sentence too like,"Bryn.wolf...Chase." I would pick this up at the library, but for me it's one of those books you can put on the back burner for when you have little else to read. As a side note the author did do a great job in writing the characters, and the plot was well thought out. I just prefer more interaction with Bryn and Chase, a better ending (I seriously thought she would be one the one to kill the rabid), and the beating she received could have been left out although I know the rest of the story wouldn't have unfolded if she hadn't had a reason to leave the pack.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2