Customer Reviews for

The Raising: A Novel

Average Rating 3.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

super academia suspense

One year has passed since the fatal accident left Nicole Werner dead. Her boyfriend New Hampshire native Craig Clements-Rabbitt was driving and has not moved on as everything at Godwin Honors Hall reminds him of Nicole. Although his parents and his roommate Perry Edwa...
One year has passed since the fatal accident left Nicole Werner dead. Her boyfriend New Hampshire native Craig Clements-Rabbitt was driving and has not moved on as everything at Godwin Honors Hall reminds him of Nicole. Although his parents and his roommate Perry Edwards try to help him with his grief, the latter also has his own issues having known the late Nicole all his life and being the one who introduced her to Craig.

Meanwhile, the witness of the car accident Shelly Lockes is forced to leave the Midwestern town after insisting the victim was not dead contrary to media reports of a bloody corpse; while Sociology Professor Mira Polson receives immense pressure involving her family to resign after finding anomalies with the official report of the deadly incident. Nicole's sorority sisters at Omega Theta Tau remain angry and adamant that her killer and his defenders pay the price. Soon after Craig's return to campus, apparent suicides and accidental shootings become the curriculum.

The Raising is a super academia suspense saga that grips the audience from the moment Craig's dad takes him back to school. The story line is character driven by several players including those above, the sisterhood, and obsessed Ted Dientz. Although the actions of the Omega Theta Tau sisters are over the top of the Gateway Arch, readers will enjoy Laura Kasischke's twisting taut thriller.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on January 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great book...until...

I really liked this book UNTIL the end of chapter 102 and then I just felt as if the story went down hill. I don't mind some loose ends in a book but I really felt that after 500 pages the ending here REALLY left something to desired!

posted by Anonymous on September 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    super academia suspense

    One year has passed since the fatal accident left Nicole Werner dead. Her boyfriend New Hampshire native Craig Clements-Rabbitt was driving and has not moved on as everything at Godwin Honors Hall reminds him of Nicole. Although his parents and his roommate Perry Edwards try to help him with his grief, the latter also has his own issues having known the late Nicole all his life and being the one who introduced her to Craig.

    Meanwhile, the witness of the car accident Shelly Lockes is forced to leave the Midwestern town after insisting the victim was not dead contrary to media reports of a bloody corpse; while Sociology Professor Mira Polson receives immense pressure involving her family to resign after finding anomalies with the official report of the deadly incident. Nicole's sorority sisters at Omega Theta Tau remain angry and adamant that her killer and his defenders pay the price. Soon after Craig's return to campus, apparent suicides and accidental shootings become the curriculum.

    The Raising is a super academia suspense saga that grips the audience from the moment Craig's dad takes him back to school. The story line is character driven by several players including those above, the sisterhood, and obsessed Ted Dientz. Although the actions of the Omega Theta Tau sisters are over the top of the Gateway Arch, readers will enjoy Laura Kasischke's twisting taut thriller.

    Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2014

    not what I expected...

    If you like a book with a few twists and turns this will be the one for you! Page turner and kept my interest..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Highly Recommened

    I really enjoyed this book. I recommend it to everyone. I just wish the ending was a little more conclusive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    AN INTERESTING PYSCHOLOGICAL THRILLER! THE RAISING BY LAURA KASISCHKE

    THE RAISING by Laura Kasischke is an interesting pyschological thriller.The plot is well written and is told from four different points of view. This is a deep dark story of apparent susides,supposedly accidential shootings,grief,death,rituals,cover ups,ghosts,lies,deception,disappeance,and college life. On a Midwest College campus, someone will die,ghosts will appear,and answers will be sought to the burning questions of what really happen.The death of a soroity girl,who lives on in the hearts of those who knew and loved her will bring about questions and some answers.If you enjoy a dark,twisted,haunting pyschological thriller full of dark secrets and what ifs than this is a story for you,it will keep you turning the pages and afraid to be alone. This is a haunting story of things we thought we knew and things we don't really want to know about life and death.This book was received for the purpose of review from Net Galley and the publisher and details can be found at Harper Perennial.a trademark of Harper Collins Publisher and My Book Addiction and More.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An unsettling tale of lies and deception that burrows deep into your perspective never to leave you unchanged.

    From the beginning to the end, this book kept my full attention. The Raising is just that kind of novel, that totally keeps you focused even while things buzz around you, it just pulls the reader in, keeping them in a trance. Kasischke adds just the right amount of characters at just the right time maintaining a perfect balance throughout her novel. While disrobing the irony in the beliefs of past cultures regarding death, through Mira an anthropology professor at the college. That after death playing it's card a body could possibly come back to life seems ridiculous, until you read this novel. In The Raising Mira teaches a class on death. You know one of those hard to get into college courses with a waiting list. Mira has traveled to other countries and studied their cultures, their customs, beliefs and superstitions regarding death and what may happen to a body afterward.

    Although most of these superstitions were based on the lack of technology and skills before medical doctors came along with a way to pronounce a person clinically dead. The fact is this really did happen, people did seem to come back to life, some even in their coffins or even more disturbing in the ground. Kasischke makes sure these superstitions seep into the back of your mind weaving a paranoid kind of feeling throughout the story. What actually did take place after the accident and supposed death of Nicole? The character of Nicole reminds me of someone suffering from bio-polar or a very disturbing personality disorder. Nicole hides a dark side which seems even her family covers up, or do they? I know how enabling parents can be when it comes to their children. How far will a parent go to cover up for their child? The college and sorority Nicole belongs to seems to do it's own share of concealing or looking the other way when it comes to the disappearance of other students. Could this possibly happen in real life? I believe some of these rituals, deaths and cover-ups happen more than people think. This possibility is what leaves you with an unsettling feeling long after you have reached the end of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1