Customer Reviews for

Raising Atlantis

Average Rating 3
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Recommend

If you like adventure with some "could we really find it in the future?" you will enjoy this book. It had me almost from the first page.

posted by Sasha-Riley on February 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

No doubt one of the worst books I have ever read. I have read ma

No doubt one of the worst books I have ever read. I have read many thrillers both good and bad and this one stands out as one of the worst. It is badly written which was a surprise considering the writer has a Masters in Journalism. The characters are unbelievably drawn...
No doubt one of the worst books I have ever read. I have read many thrillers both good and bad and this one stands out as one of the worst. It is badly written which was a surprise considering the writer has a Masters in Journalism. The characters are unbelievably drawn and cartoonish, the plot almost nonexistent, and the idiotic pseudo-science beyond my endurance to give it a chance to involve me in the absurd storyline. Perhaps if it were better written my suspension of disbelief could have endured this poorly written take on the Atlantis myth. 

posted by 4547162 on August 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    No doubt one of the worst books I have ever read. I have read ma

    No doubt one of the worst books I have ever read. I have read many thrillers both good and bad and this one stands out as one of the worst. It is badly written which was a surprise considering the writer has a Masters in Journalism. The characters are unbelievably drawn and cartoonish, the plot almost nonexistent, and the idiotic pseudo-science beyond my endurance to give it a chance to involve me in the absurd storyline. Perhaps if it were better written my suspension of disbelief could have endured this poorly written take on the Atlantis myth. 

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2010

    Quit reading

    The book started off okay, but when the C141 crashed in Antarctica and was described as a turbo prop I was dismayed. The final straw was the conventionally powered carrier USS Constellation being off the coast being described as nuclear powered. I figured then the guy did not do homework and quit reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2014

    Dont waste your money

    Confusing with self-absorbed, shallow characters. Stupid plot with descriptions that were difficult to imagine.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    Recommend

    If you like adventure with some "could we really find it in the future?" you will enjoy this book. It had me almost from the first page.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Awful

    Waste of time

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2008

    If you want a fun summer read..........

    For as long as I can remember, I've been fascinated by anything having to do with the lost continent of Atlantis. Even if i see the word 'Atlantis' in the title I am immediately drawn to the book. That being said, it should not be too much of a surprise that I've picked up this book. I was not disappointed in my choice at all. This book is a FUN read with a capital 'f'. The hero of the book is Conrad Yeats, a wreckless archaeologist with a disregard for conventional rules. He is brought to Antarctica by his father Gen. Griffin Yeats (himself a renegade, boit for reasons of his own) to explore an amazing find deep in a fissure on Anarctica. They are joined by Sister Serena Serghetti, who is also know as 'Mother Earth' due to her environmental activism. Add the Russian army and an Egyptian colonel and his army, and you have a race (that goes at breakneck pace) to find the secrets of Atlantis. I did have a few problems with the book. The hero was just a tad bit too perfect (Chiseled features and body with long black hair tied back with a leather thong....come on!), the heroine a little too high strung, and a Genreal that is a little too greedy for his own purposes. I can over look that. I do wish there was a map of the authors vision of Atlantis, it would have made the book that much more fun for me to read. All in all I highly recommend this book. Take it to the beach or anywhere hot, you'll soon be feeling the chill of Antarctica.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2006

    Don't waste your time

    This book tries to be a combination text book, tech thriller and fairy tale. It succeeds in nothing. The story line is hard to follow because there are so many useless facts thrown in that have little value except to impress the reader with the knowledge of the arthur. There is an endless parade of characters who exist to fill the pages. There is also an ample supply of descriptions of tunnels, chambers, waterfalls etc. Then Greanias wants the reader believe the absurd conclusion that the people of Atlantis were of such superior intelligence that they could control the position of the stars and planets by a remote control device. I find the only value of this book is for a class in Creative Writing to be used to demonstrate what NOT to do when writing a novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    How bad . How bad?

    Very.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Great Book!

    A page turner !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Font size issue

    I have an original Nook and the main reason I got it was to read books in a larger font. Atlantis seems to enlarge the first paragraph according to your font settings. Then the rest of the chapter is displayed at a fixed, non-adjustable size. :(

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    wasn't a bad read

    lots of adventure,but not good enough that I didn't want to put the book down.was a decent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2012

    Somewhat disappointing

    The author started with an interesting concept, but really did not flesh it out.

    I had no idea why half the characters were doing what they were doing and the end was disappointing.

    Also, the main character was terribly likeable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    Good read but.....

    Good read gripping to poorly formatted epub. It wasimpossible to reformat the text from very small.e

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2010

    Found to be a quick read and hard to put down

    Started as a B&N pick up with coffee, good enough that I bought and finished in a day. would be great for travel 2-3 day read at most. Found it very hard to put down and I would recommend. Liked enough to look at the other books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2010

    PLEASE Don't Waste your Money

    This by far, is the worst book I have ever read. The storyline is absurd, the characters are ridiculous, they should have added pictures so it could be classified as a comic book. Please don't waste your time or money with this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    this book is part of a trilogy of well written novels

    these books are well written in the a readable and enjoyable style and have some interesting plot twists as well. while there are some similarities between this series and other american treasure hunting books focusing on the freemasons and catholic church etc.not to mention Dan Brown's books. All of them provide a great amount of history and are thought provoking. and while a certain amount of literary license is used. many details are easily researchable on the internet for verification and general knowledge.
    they all provide hours of enjoyment and are well worth the investment

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2006

    Felt like I'd read it before

    I wanted to enjoy this book. The premise, though done before, was interesting. Unfortunately, the characters are poorly developed, and often act in ways that don't make sense. Some plot elements are illogical- OK, many plot elements are illogical. The biggest problem was that so many elements had been done before (and done better) that the book did not feel original. The inclusion of the 'Mother Earth' character was an absurd way of connecting the Vatican to the story (which seems to have become mandatory since DaVinci Code). If you can turn off your brain and just enjoy the escape, this book is worth checking out from the library, but I wouldn't advise buying it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2006

    Fount It

    Raising Atlantis by Thomas Greanias is a compelling story that keeps you on your toes. The theme is to find out the final key to the origins of the human race. Conrad is one of the top archeologist in the world. Dr. Serenghetti is an ex-nun who turned enviromantal activist. Conrad is in love with Dr. Serena Serenghetti but she is not interested in him but what him and his father have been hiding from the world. Together they make a catastrophic discovery that will change the fate of the humankind. Weather satellites in space reveal 4 massive storms forming around the south pole. Antarctica is a peace ground and know military force is allowed there inless you are with the U.N. If Conrad and the others get caught they will be done. But, the world doesn't know because 3 U.S. spy satellites have disappeared from orbit. This is a great book that I believe everyone should read. Thomas Greanias uses a serious tone. Because of their catastrophic decision they are always working against time. The reader knows that they are not supposed to be there and he also knows that there are other who in fact know about their apocalyptic discovery. Another fact that the reader knows that the characters dont know is that the vatican has sent Sister Serenghetti to their discovery. The major conflict is that their decision has the humankind rested in their hands. They started it up and now they must finish it up. This is one of the best books i have ever read and i have read a lot of books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2006

    Yikes that was bad

    I'll say this much, at least it was a quick read. God knows I couldn't have stuck with it much longer. The book isn't original in that much of its ideas come from books that have already been out and been bestsellers, but that's hardly a problem, usually the author makes up for it in originality of writing through great characters, but really the characters here were very thin. Also considering the subject matter is in the public domain, I was surprised at the sheer number of facts that were just flat wrong. There are some great Atlantis books out there. This isn't one of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2005

    there better be a sequel

    very good, couldn't put it down and definiately makes you think about things you would normally think is make believe could actually be true. the book is very convincing. just better be a sequel so conrad and serena can become more than what ever they are now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3