Customer Reviews for

Raising Atlantis

Average Rating 3
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    No doubt one of the worst books I have ever read. I have read ma

    No doubt one of the worst books I have ever read. I have read many thrillers both good and bad and this one stands out as one of the worst. It is badly written which was a surprise considering the writer has a Masters in Journalism. The characters are unbelievably drawn and cartoonish, the plot almost nonexistent, and the idiotic pseudo-science beyond my endurance to give it a chance to involve me in the absurd storyline. Perhaps if it were better written my suspension of disbelief could have endured this poorly written take on the Atlantis myth. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    How bad . How bad?

    Very.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Font size issue

    I have an original Nook and the main reason I got it was to read books in a larger font. Atlantis seems to enlarge the first paragraph according to your font settings. Then the rest of the chapter is displayed at a fixed, non-adjustable size. :(

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Awful

    Waste of time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2010

    PLEASE Don't Waste your Money

    This by far, is the worst book I have ever read. The storyline is absurd, the characters are ridiculous, they should have added pictures so it could be classified as a comic book. Please don't waste your time or money with this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2006

    Don't waste your time

    This book tries to be a combination text book, tech thriller and fairy tale. It succeeds in nothing. The story line is hard to follow because there are so many useless facts thrown in that have little value except to impress the reader with the knowledge of the arthur. There is an endless parade of characters who exist to fill the pages. There is also an ample supply of descriptions of tunnels, chambers, waterfalls etc. Then Greanias wants the reader believe the absurd conclusion that the people of Atlantis were of such superior intelligence that they could control the position of the stars and planets by a remote control device. I find the only value of this book is for a class in Creative Writing to be used to demonstrate what NOT to do when writing a novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2006

    Yikes that was bad

    I'll say this much, at least it was a quick read. God knows I couldn't have stuck with it much longer. The book isn't original in that much of its ideas come from books that have already been out and been bestsellers, but that's hardly a problem, usually the author makes up for it in originality of writing through great characters, but really the characters here were very thin. Also considering the subject matter is in the public domain, I was surprised at the sheer number of facts that were just flat wrong. There are some great Atlantis books out there. This isn't one of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2005

    The worst book I've ever read.

    What a disappointment, despite all of the hype. This thing is so full of holes they may as well have called it Raising Swiss Cheese. This book supposedly based on certan facts is a mish-mosh of poorly formulated ideas, horribly unarticulated characters and gross distortion of facts. Indeed, I have to believe that the author was drunk when he wrote it. Nothing else can explain this calamity, but even more disturbing, is the fact that a major publisher agreed to issue this disaster. I guess that owes to the fact the dumbing down of America has made book publishers desperate for material. This book is a total waste of money and a disgrace to literacy. Please, give us authors who have a sense of humanity and who know how to delineate their characters and how to construct a storyline. The main character is defined early on as a deconstructionist archaelogist, but he would have to go a long way to exceed the spurious deconstructionist notions of this seriously impaired author. I this is as good as it gets, no one will ever read anything ever again. I've also read it before, and much better back in February when it was called Decipher by Stel Pavlou.This book reads like someone read that and decided to rush out a bad copy. Shameless!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1