Customer Reviews for

Raising Atlantis

Average Rating 3
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Recommend

If you like adventure with some "could we really find it in the future?" you will enjoy this book. It had me almost from the first page.

posted by Sasha-Riley on February 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

No doubt one of the worst books I have ever read. I have read ma

No doubt one of the worst books I have ever read. I have read many thrillers both good and bad and this one stands out as one of the worst. It is badly written which was a surprise considering the writer has a Masters in Journalism. The characters are unbelievably drawn...
No doubt one of the worst books I have ever read. I have read many thrillers both good and bad and this one stands out as one of the worst. It is badly written which was a surprise considering the writer has a Masters in Journalism. The characters are unbelievably drawn and cartoonish, the plot almost nonexistent, and the idiotic pseudo-science beyond my endurance to give it a chance to involve me in the absurd storyline. Perhaps if it were better written my suspension of disbelief could have endured this poorly written take on the Atlantis myth. 

posted by 4547162 on August 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Great Book!

    A page turner !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    this book is part of a trilogy of well written novels

    these books are well written in the a readable and enjoyable style and have some interesting plot twists as well. while there are some similarities between this series and other american treasure hunting books focusing on the freemasons and catholic church etc.not to mention Dan Brown's books. All of them provide a great amount of history and are thought provoking. and while a certain amount of literary license is used. many details are easily researchable on the internet for verification and general knowledge.
    they all provide hours of enjoyment and are well worth the investment

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2006

    Fount It

    Raising Atlantis by Thomas Greanias is a compelling story that keeps you on your toes. The theme is to find out the final key to the origins of the human race. Conrad is one of the top archeologist in the world. Dr. Serenghetti is an ex-nun who turned enviromantal activist. Conrad is in love with Dr. Serena Serenghetti but she is not interested in him but what him and his father have been hiding from the world. Together they make a catastrophic discovery that will change the fate of the humankind. Weather satellites in space reveal 4 massive storms forming around the south pole. Antarctica is a peace ground and know military force is allowed there inless you are with the U.N. If Conrad and the others get caught they will be done. But, the world doesn't know because 3 U.S. spy satellites have disappeared from orbit. This is a great book that I believe everyone should read. Thomas Greanias uses a serious tone. Because of their catastrophic decision they are always working against time. The reader knows that they are not supposed to be there and he also knows that there are other who in fact know about their apocalyptic discovery. Another fact that the reader knows that the characters dont know is that the vatican has sent Sister Serenghetti to their discovery. The major conflict is that their decision has the humankind rested in their hands. They started it up and now they must finish it up. This is one of the best books i have ever read and i have read a lot of books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2005

    An Adventure For The Ages

    Great title. Great story. Great characters. Great writing. This is the kind of book you are going to find on the shelf in the guest room of that beach house you are staying at twenty years from now. It is that good. Timeless adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2005

    A captivating story

    I love stories that explore historical facts and legends and apply them to current events. This book is an exhilarating story, with several twists and turns. It is a truly addictive read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    action-packed thriller

    U.S. Naval Support Force, Antarctica Lieutenant Commander Terrance Drake is leading the scientific team in a seismic exploration of the eastern side of the continent 1500 miles of frozen ice away from MuMurdo Station. He is currently on recon patrol when he desperately needs to take a leak, but has no bag that he would normally use to urinate in. Although he knows the Antarctic Treaty forbids even urinating on the ice, he figures who would see him let alone report this nitrogen painting of the snow violation. However, the ice breaks and soon Terrance plunges downward where he sees hundreds of humans preserved in time before the ice crumbled on to him --- The U.S. military has found ancient ruins beneath Antarctica. General Yeats wants an archeological expert who can think out of the box about ancient astronauts so he selects his professionally ostracized adopted son Conrad as the right person for the job. Conrad says no until he learns Serena Serghetti is on the team. Conrad leaves immediately as he never has forgotten the beautiful Vatican linguist. Together they must find the key of a long lost civilization to shut down the doomsday machine that was inadvertently turned on. --- RAISING ATLANTIS is an action-packed thriller that never slows down from the moment Terrence finishes urinating on the pristine snow until the exhilarating climax. The heart pumping story line contains intriguing twists including a paranormal feel as Conrad and Serena slowly learn the truth while the doomsday clock speedily ticks away. Fans will want to read Thomas Greanis¿s Antarctica caper to learn what the heroes learn perhaps too late. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2005

    A MUST READ BOOK!!!!!!

    'Raising Atlantis' is an excellent action-packed thriller of a book. Chapter after chapter keeps you enthralled throughout the book, from the start to the finish. There is no book quite like this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1