Customer Reviews for

Raising Cain: Protecting the Emotional Life of Boys

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2006

    Every Father and 'Father to Be' should read this book...

    As of this writing, I am 44 years old. A couple of events in my life that I would like to point out here are: (1) I didn't cry at my father's funeral over 24 years ago and (2) I didn't have an intimate relationship until I married for the second time when I was 28 years old. How do you explain these lapses in emotional affectations? I couldn't, until I read this book. As a boy, I was taught, by my father's example, to 'suck it up' and be a man. He never taught me the full range of emotions that are possible, or as the authors of the book call developing the 'emotional vocabulary'. It has literally taken me 44 years, several books, including this book 'Raising Cain', and of course my own boys to teach me what it requires to be a man and to raise emotionally healthy boys. This book has contributed to my understanding of not only my boys, but of my own needs as a father and a husband. I highly recommend this book. I would start by reading the last chapter and then read the entire book chapter-by-chapter. I would recommend having discussions with your children along your journey through this book, as well.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2008

    Great insight for moms

    As a mom, I assumed that my nurturing instincts would guide me -- I apologize if this appears sexist. This book opened my eyes as to how differently boys see and feel the world and their lives only get more complicated by the images that surround them from music to video games to TV and movies. I recommend this book to all, especially moms.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    Enlightening book for parents/caregivers/teachers of boys

    As a mother of a five-year old boy, I found this book to be extremely informative. I feel like I have a better understanding and grasp of what my son might be thinking and feeling about school and friends. He was becoming very disinterested in school/academically linked activities. I have a better appreciation of why that may be and how to ask him about his feelings after reading this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2009

    Very enlightening

    This book was reccommended to me by my ten year old son's male teacher. As most of the raising falls to me I am finding this book to be a helpful resource in helping my son to be more open with his feelings.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Every person raising or teaching a boy should read this book

    As a woman, I think that my maternal instincts should serve well enough. However, this book provided me great insight on how boys think and what they feel. I recommend this book to parents, teachers and coaches of boys.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A must read if you have boys

    Absolutely the best child rearing book I have read! It helped me not only to understand my son, but my husband as well. I have ordered extra copies for my friends with boys.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    Hey there

    Im jade and i want to prtwct eeryone expect bloodclan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    Jaylen and Jon

    You can sign up. Bios are next res.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    Hello

    Im Taylor. Im a wolf and i want to protect bloodclan cats

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    Hi

    I'm Jaiden.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Brooke

    Hugs you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2010

    Wonderful and informative for all parents of boys!

    As a parent, I often wondered, why is my 7 year old like this. Is he different and what am I doing wrong? After reading this I have come to realize this is normal and there is no reason we can't let boys be boys. Boys need love and caring and to be told they mean everything. Praise them for being Boys! Parents, Teachers, etc need to read this book. Our boys will be better off if we did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Groundbreaking Book

    This a great read - for parents, teachers, students, everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2007

    Outstanding!

    This is the perfect DVD for parents with boys. br I have one question though. Could somone e-mail me the last name of the heavy metal boy Mike from Melrose? It'd be great help for me to write my paper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2002

    Two Thumbs Up

    I loved it! I heard Michael Thompson speak at a camping convention a few months ago and purchased his books. Raising Cain is the first of three books I have read. I highly recommend this book to people who have ever tried to understand boys.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2