Customer Reviews for

Raising Kane (Rough Riders Series #9)

Average Rating 4.5
( 665 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(379)

4 Star

(170)

3 Star

(83)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great!!

Yet another great book to the series!! Although it is a little short compared to the other books. I love it! Kane and Ginger are great together and the book lets you know what is going on with the other family members you have read about. And they are multiplying like c...
Yet another great book to the series!! Although it is a little short compared to the other books. I love it! Kane and Ginger are great together and the book lets you know what is going on with the other family members you have read about. And they are multiplying like crazy!! Absolutely love this series, great job James!! Enjoy!

posted by sharp1022 on July 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Best in the series

I have now read all the Rough Rider books and this one was my favorite. This book will make you laugh cry and smile. Great story.

posted by 5218574 on January 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 170 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted July 2, 2010

    Great!!

    Yet another great book to the series!! Although it is a little short compared to the other books. I love it! Kane and Ginger are great together and the book lets you know what is going on with the other family members you have read about. And they are multiplying like crazy!! Absolutely love this series, great job James!! Enjoy!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Kane seemed like a "real" love story (and a real hot at that!)

    Kane McKay was a man that almost single-handedly created the legendary bad boy image that the McKay men are known for. Yet throughout the Rough Riders series we've seen Kane transform himself into the man he decides he wants to be, which is more than a man known for his sexual exploits; a man who is ready for love and the responsibilities of having a family of his own....even if no one else believes that this leopard can change his spots.

    Ginger Paulson is a strong and independent woman who is an attorney, a single mother, and caretaker for her disabled father. She's got a lot on her plate and through determination, and lots of hard work she manages to successfully juggle it all without much help from anyone else. That is until she is forced to accept help after an accident has left her barely able to care for herself let alone her young son and father.

    For me Raising Kane was different than many of the other Rough Riders stories. I felt that it was a more mature love story than many of the others. Kane and Ginger are both in their mid thirties. They've been there and done that. In this story the hero and the heroine are both at a point in their lives where they know who they are and what they want, which is why this story felt more subdued and less intense than many of the other McKay stories. When I say that I don't mean it in a way that means the story was boring or bad, or less than the others, it just seemed...natural. Like how you would expect a real relationship to evolve, and I think that is where the beauty lies in Raising Kane. It seemed like a "real" love story.

    Even though I loved Kane as a hero, I did feel that much of his character growth happened outside of his own story (in previous Rough Riders stories).and I don't really know how I feel about that. In some respects I felt disappointed by this because the character who ended up dominating the story was Ginger, not Kane (at least IMO). Ginger is the character who had to learn to rely on others and accept love, but what about Kane?

    Because of his past sexual exploits and what we've been led to believe about him in previous RR stories I expected Kane to be more intense and demanding in the bedroom. But in the end he didn't really seem that much different than the other McKay men. I wanted Kane to push Ginger (not just tempt her) to give up control of at least this one aspect of her life and through these moments in the story to really learn to trust and accept his love. To realize that she's not alone and no longer has to do it all, that she has a partner who is willing to shoulder some of the burdens that she carries if she will only let him. That's what he offers her, but I felt that she still had a hard time believing that/him, even at the end of the story.

    There are several sweet and cherishable moments that I didn't expect from this hero and I loved that about this story. Kane's bond with Ginger's son is what any woman would wish for when trusting someone to help raise your child, mentor them, and provide a strong male role model. Add to that how he helps a Ginger's father, a disabled man keep his pride, and dignity, as well as realize his importance in their newly formed family and you have one perfect sigh worthy hero.

    In the end I think Raising Kane is another great addition to the McKay family and the Rough Riders series, and is definitely worth your time and money. Lorelei James is one of the best erotic romance write

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2012

    Kane is hot Hot HOt....HOT

    WOW! Talk about a sexy man. My number 2 character of this very sexy, page turning series of books. A must read!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2015

    Kane was another McKay man that needed to grow up. Ginger is per

    Kane was another McKay man that needed to grow up. Ginger is perfect for him and they are a steamy, steamy couple!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2014

    Ginger Paulson is an attorney, single mom, and caretaker to her

    Ginger Paulson is an attorney, single mom, and caretaker to her father. Ginger has hard time asking for help usually leaves it until it's too late. Ginger has watched Kane McKay be Big Buddy to her son Hayden and wonders what it would be like to be kissed by Kane again. Kane McKay loves being a Big Buddy to Hayden Paulson. Kane would love to get better acquainted with Hayden's mom but it's the against the rules. When Ginger has an accident injuring herself that she can't do things for herself Kane steps up to help. Kane has put his partying ways aside becoming a lonely bachelor with nothing but ranching and Big Buddy/Little Buddy events to keep him occupied. Sparks fly between Ginger and Kane but he doesn't want it to affect Hayden in any way. Will either Ginger or Kane admit there is more to their budding relationship? Will Ginger admit that she could possibly love Kane? What will Kane do to prove himself to Ginger? Your answers await you in Raising Kane.




    I've been wondering about Kane McKay since Tied Up, Tied Down. Kane being Kade McKay's twin brother isn't the same man from previous books. I've always like Ginger since her introduction. The pairing of Ginger and Kane is absolutely perfect. Kane is stand up guy that sorely needs a break from his lonely existence. Between the two of them, they're fire and ice chemistry. Ms. James is on my must buy and read list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Recommend the entire series!

    The entire Rough Riders Series has drawn me since the beginning. Each book has its own story but with overall following of the entire family. I want to move to Sundance, Wyoming and find me a cowboy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Love it

    Love it, love it, love it!!! Love these characters!! Wonderful story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Anonymous

    Kane is great to read about! One of my favorites. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2012

    Hot, Hot, Hot

    This is one of my favorites out of the whole series. Hot, alpha male cowboy who has a sensitive side? Yes, please!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Another great read in the rough riders series. You can totally

    Another great read in the rough riders series. You can totally get into these books and feel the emotions the heat, sadness and pleasure that these characters portray

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Fun read.

    A nice mix of story and plot with character development with a some erotica thrown in...

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Great!

    Love love love this series! I cant wait to read the next book. The characters in each book are so relatable. The relationships can apply to anyone in our lives. Each story makes you feel as if you know the main characters personally. Although there is a lot of descriptive sex, the main content of the stories are believable and the relationships that intertwine keep you captive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Engaging plot, great dialogue

    An enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2011

    Totally Enjoyed!

    This was a great series. You get to know the characters and keep hearing about them, but not too much, thorough out the series. Got me listening to a bit of country music while I read it...LOL

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 170 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9