Customer Reviews for

Raising Sand

Average Rating 4
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Slips up on you ... and kills the blues

I have been listening to this ever since it came out. My opinion hasn't so much as changed as it has been burnished -- I honestly feel that I, the listener, am a piece of old tarnished metal, and that these two voices just patiently polished and polished and pol...
I have been listening to this ever since it came out. My opinion hasn't so much as changed as it has been burnished -- I honestly feel that I, the listener, am a piece of old tarnished metal, and that these two voices just patiently polished and polished and polished away until they made everything shine. Granted, "Raising Sand" isn't the flashiest thing ever recorded. Both Krauss' "New Favorite" and Plant's "Dreamland" display more fire and energy. But that's not the point here. It's the blending, the stirring, the sanding away and repainting and varnishing and stripping it back ... OK, the metaphors may be getting away from me, but the point is that this album is all about process. It sounds slightly different every time I hear it, and I must be approaching a hundred listenings by now. I can hear their version of "Killing the Blues" six or seven times in a row and pick up nuanced and different inflections every time. One thing about a great vocal duo: There are times you can't quite figure out who's singing lead and who's singing harmony. It's so danged slippery here, so oddly mixed up, that it's just hypnotic. This is an amazing album. But not the kind that hits you on the temple the first time through. Live with it.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Stop The Music!

My wife wanted to know why I was standing on the ledge of a 20 story building.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Slips up on you ... and kills the blues

    I have been listening to this ever since it came out. My opinion hasn't so much as changed as it has been burnished -- I honestly feel that I, the listener, am a piece of old tarnished metal, and that these two voices just patiently polished and polished and polished away until they made everything shine. Granted, "Raising Sand" isn't the flashiest thing ever recorded. Both Krauss' "New Favorite" and Plant's "Dreamland" display more fire and energy. But that's not the point here. It's the blending, the stirring, the sanding away and repainting and varnishing and stripping it back ... OK, the metaphors may be getting away from me, but the point is that this album is all about process. It sounds slightly different every time I hear it, and I must be approaching a hundred listenings by now. I can hear their version of "Killing the Blues" six or seven times in a row and pick up nuanced and different inflections every time. One thing about a great vocal duo: There are times you can't quite figure out who's singing lead and who's singing harmony. It's so danged slippery here, so oddly mixed up, that it's just hypnotic. This is an amazing album. But not the kind that hits you on the temple the first time through. Live with it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Surprising how it grows on you

    I purchased this CD because I heard "Gone, Gone, Gone" and realy enjoyed this performance. I was initially disappointed by the rest of the selections. However, as I listened more and without distractions, I began to appreciate the quality of the whole CD. I didn't think I would like the slow almost morose ballads but now they all just blow me away and I want more. What a great and moving final selection!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Who Would Have Thunk It???

    Hard to believe that the frontman of the great Zep could blend with the mellow, laid back Alison but boy does it work!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very lovely

    The harmonies of these two were wonderful. Combined with the instrumentals it makes lovely background music for that glass of wine, cozy fire and a good book. I have listened to it many times and enjoy it each time. More bluegrass harmony than rock and roll so for those who want rock they will have to look elsewhere.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Absolute and Beautiful...

    If there were a "sixth" star to give this album....I would have given it. As a performing blues musician -- and a songwriter, I will be forever haunted by the production of this album. Nice layers, earthy tone, and sweet harmonies make this a spectacular find. I was hypnotized from the first second to the last. I hope there is a sequel to this album..I am floored. When most new music is garbage...something like this comes out and really makes your day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Unexpected Pleasure

    I am a Robert Plant fan and this blew me away. It was a very unexpected surprise. Robert Plant and Allison Krauss harmonized so well together and I enjoyed the songs. I don't usually listen to folk/country and I really loved this CD. Bravo to the two of them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Like you found yourself at some out of the way roadhouse

    This is exactly the type of music you would hear if you found yourself one night at a roadhouse off a lonesome Texas highway. A roadhouse often visited by gypsies, fallen women, couples on the verge of breaking up, and a trucker who may or may not have killed a man.

    Which is to say that this album is eerie and sad and warm and all together AMAZING. It's folk and blues and a little rock (natch, it's Robert Plant) but it mostly just defies all the genres because it's so perfect.

    I love albums that sound like they're telling a story, where each song feels connected to the next. This one feels that way all the way through. I think that has a lot to do with T-Bone Burnette, who produced it and played guitar and bass on it. Most of the songs have that really heart-breaking wobbly bass line that evokes the creepy roadhouse image. Allison Krauss and Robert Plant sound like they come from the same family. Like a father and daughter duet. They sound incredible together. They're so well blended that it's hard to tell sometimes who's taking the lead and who's singing harmony. And the musicianship is some of the best I've heard.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Robert Plant and Allison Krause are a Super Duo

    Robert Plant inserts some Led Zeppelin influence in this album. And, now I know why Allison Krause is such a success and why Robert Plant is so impressed with creating music with her. This is an outstanding album and very enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A must to a collection

    I bought it Raising Sand because of the buzz from the Grammy's. Great sound. I have gone back to listen to it many many times. A suprise and very enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Great CD

    It was better than I expected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome Album

    This is probably one of the best albums I have bought in years. I was a fan of Alison Krauss but not so much of Robert Plant but the two of them together is musical magic. This is what music used to be before the music machine took over. Enjoy you won't be dissapointed!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Truly great music.

    Contains a mixture of fast tempo tunes and songs that may cause reflection. Greatly enjoy playing while driving.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This CD deserves all the accolades...

    Raising Sand with Alison Krauss and Robert Plant is just terrific. Listen to it, sing along, get lost in the perfect pitch of Alison Krauss. Just completely enjoyable, with songs sung in a creative way.
    Great pairing of voices. Give it a try--you won't be sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Collaboration

    I have loved Alison's music for a long time.
    But, I really love her singing on this CD
    w/Robert. The songs are great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Robert Plant & Alison Krauss Are Awesome Together!!

    I first heard "Rich Woman" from this cd when I was out cruising in my sports car last summer. I loved the song immediately because it was Robert Plant (anything by him is ACES in my book!) I bought the "Raising Sand" cd a few days later and it has become my favorite cd to this day! I listen to "Raising Sand" almost every day and it NEVER leaves the #1 cd player spot in the house stereo. Robert Plant and Alison Krauss together are just amazing and this cd is a real treat. Granted, it's not the Robert Plant from Led Zeppelin sound, but he's great no matter what he does. Alison Krauss, well, she's just a great singer. What a team! Buy this cd!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent CD

    Music that is many Genres mixed to make its own music style. Rocky, soulful, relaxing music.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful!

    The music is the best on this CD. Alison Kraus and Robert Plant make a wonderful music duo. This is a must have album!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wow!

    I can't explain it. This CD is just wonderful. A truly genius move to pair Plant and Kraus together. This is a beautifully mellow blend-sit back with a glass of wine or whatever and enjoy. Yes, Plant lets go with his highly recognized Zep voice/wail in one of the songs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Refreshing

    I bought this CD when I wanted something different than the music I usually listen to. The first time I heard it, I wasn't sure I liked it, because it is such a quiet experience. The second time, I knew I liked every track. I listen to this interesting, beautiful CD every day. If you are up for something different, try it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    FIERCE, FIERCE, FIERCE!

    These two artists are Fabulous together. Whoever thought to blend these two great unique voices is pure genius. Love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2