Customer Reviews for

The Raising of a President: The Mothers and Fathers of Our Nation's Leaders

Average Rating 5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2007

    would be better without all the mistakes

    Overall the only redeeming quality of the book is the fact that there are so few books written on this subject? The main problem? There are so many historical errors in this book it is hard to believe it was written by anyone who had any knowledge of history. For example, the author states Franklin Roosevelt's father died when he was a freshman at Harvard in 1890. Wonderful thought but FDR was born in 1882 making him roughly 8 years old in 1890, perhaps a wee bit too young for Harvard at that time. Another error was omitting Kathleen 'Kick' Kennedy from the list of presidential siblings who died prior to their presidential sibling. These type of errors run rampant throughout the book, and I could write a book on the errors almost as large as the book. These are not minor errors, nor are they simply a difference in opinion. These are truly erroneous historical facts and they read the point you wonder if any research was done whatsoever. It reaches the point you doubt anything in the book you have read, and question anything being presented. It's sad because a really good study of this subject should be made by someone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2005

    Unforgetable Stories

    The stories in this book haunted me for days. Some made me cry and some inspired me. There are surely some lessons here for parenting. The thing I like about this series of books by Wead is that you see American history from a different angle but you take away something useful for life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2005

    Excellent story tellling

    Excellent recollection of facts and anecdotes of the most influential presidential figures of this young nation history, presented from a different perspective. The book gives the reader a three dimensional picture of the personal drama and stories behind the official records of these amazing historic characters. Reading this book force you think how many times the human spirit overcomes many obstacles and how our parents in one way or another can be a key element in the choices that we take later in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2005

    Doug has proven his leadership again!

    'As a dear friend and colleague of Doug's, I respect his tenacity and thoroughness in creating yet another masterpiece for the historian. This book is the second of his trilogy and provides powerful insights into the dynamics of America's most powerful leaders.' - Cheri Lutton, President, CCQH, Inc. and founder/author, Mirrors of Love multimedia vision, and, Mirrors of Love - In Acts of Courage book series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2005

    The rest of the story

    Truly a scholarly work that reveals the behind the scenes, real life circumstances some of our most famous leaders. This is information that will probably not be shown on Larry King Live or CNN any time soon. This book brings to the front the real people that face real obstacles and challenges day in and day out who choose to persevere. These future leaders of the free world are hardly recognizable by even their immediate family until full success is realized. Required reading for anyone looking for the person behind the hype.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2005

    A fascinating combination

    of detailed archival research and personal experience/interviews. How many parents make their children bath with them until age nine like FDR's mom? How times have changed, yet common threads are apparent throughout the 200+ year history of this Nations elected leaders and their family backgrounds. Many of the findings were suprising; the frequency of the 'shadow children' for example. What about the brothers and sisters?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2005

    Fascinating History of Presidential Parents

    If anyone should know about the history of so many presidential families it would be Doug Wead. The details that Doug has provided make a subject that at first glance may seem extremely uninteresting come alive as you are able to 'get acquainted' with six presidential families! This book is a must read for any presidential history buff!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2005

    Doug does it again!

    Have you ever wondered who the parents of our Presidents were and what they were like? What kind of a childhood did our Presidents have? Read this book and find out what happened early on in life that shaped these men into what they became. A great book by a great author, should be on your must read list for 2005.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2005

    History made Human

    Doug Wead has researched the lives of Presidents and their families so thoroughly, we get to know them as contemporaries. His ability, unlike many historians, to protray them as real people with the strengths and flaws we all have makes them very human. The Raising of a President will keep you feeling you know the families as you 'can't put it down'. We recommend it as a great American experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2005

    Informative and Insightful

    The Raising of a President is an intimate and honest look into the families of our nation¿s leaders. With many single mothers raising children today, a fear exists that a strong maternal influence may negatively impact a son¿s life. Yet this book shows the power of many strong, focused, and loving mothers whose guidance helped direct their young sons to a path that led to the White House. In The Raising of a President, Doug Wead combines personal insight, professional guidance, and vast historical information to provide a comprehensive guide to the parents of the presidents which has not been done before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2005

    Greatness, despite everything.

    Mary Ball Washington publicly embarrassed her son by (falsely) announcing to the world that he was leaving her destitute. Lincoln's father beat him unmercifully. Clinton's parents lived a sleazy lifestyle. Roosevelt's mother forced him to bathe with her until he was nine years old. Doug Wead's new book is filled with fascinating stories of parental idiocy that our presidents had to overcome to attain greatness. Of course, he also relates stories of compassionate, intelligent parents focused on highest ideals, such as John Adams' shoemaker father selling precious land so his son could attend college, and William Howard Taft's mother insisting he leave for an overseas diplomatic trip while she was dying. I came away with a whole new respect for our presidents. Fascinating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1