Customer Reviews for

Raising The Past (Origins Edition)

Average Rating 4
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't put it down!

Jeremy Robinson is definitely one of my top favorite authors. I could not put RAISING THE PAST down. A wonderful blend of sci-fi, supernatural, horror, scientific exploration, and a great cast of characters who you feel like you actually know. Some gore included, but it...
Jeremy Robinson is definitely one of my top favorite authors. I could not put RAISING THE PAST down. A wonderful blend of sci-fi, supernatural, horror, scientific exploration, and a great cast of characters who you feel like you actually know. Some gore included, but it's a "horror" novel. PG-13 RATED. Excellent work Mr. Robinson!

posted by CAReaderDO on June 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Somewhat juvenile

It makes for a fast read. The premise is preposterous, even for a hard-code SI-FI nut like me. My major distraction was that I felt like I was reading a juvenile adventure yarn, like Tom Corbett Space Cadet meets Indiana Jones. The players in the cast were all adults o...
It makes for a fast read. The premise is preposterous, even for a hard-code SI-FI nut like me. My major distraction was that I felt like I was reading a juvenile adventure yarn, like Tom Corbett Space Cadet meets Indiana Jones. The players in the cast were all adults of course, but the dialog was very adolescent. The human interest angle was even worse, with mature women swooning and blushing like 15 year-olds at the thought of even kissing one of the men. Naturally, it was loaded with impossible rescues, incredible escapes from the jaws of death, and Earth-saving confrontations with evil aliens.

So if you accept this as something not quite approaching fiction on a more mature and intelligent level, it's actually quite satisfying.

posted by Akala on October 31, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Couldn't put it down!

    Jeremy Robinson is definitely one of my top favorite authors. I could not put RAISING THE PAST down. A wonderful blend of sci-fi, supernatural, horror, scientific exploration, and a great cast of characters who you feel like you actually know. Some gore included, but it's a "horror" novel. PG-13 RATED. Excellent work Mr. Robinson!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2006

    Raising the Past: A Novel

    'Jeremy Robinson's novel RAISING THE PAST is a rollicking Arctic adventure that explores the origins of the human species. Written in a solid cinematic style, it starts with the excavation of a frozen mammoth in the wilds of the Canadian tundra and ends with a pitched battle for the future of mankind. A story not to be missed!' --James Rollins, bestselling author of MAP OF BONES and BLACK ORDER

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Raising the Past, by Jeremy Robinson

    Another great work from Jeremy Robinson. Raising the Past opens 10,000 years ago as an ancient Inuit woman struggles against a raging ice storm in an effort to reach a destination and save her people from a pervasive evil that is twisting the values of a long peaceful civilization. As the storm builds, she realizes she might not reach her goal, and if that is the case, all hope might be lost.

    Jump ahead ten millennia and an archeological dig in the frozen tundra of Canada uncovers a perfectly preserved mammoth buried in the ice. An experienced team is assembled to recover the valuable specimen. But without a proper team leader the expedition is already in peril. The entrepreneur financing the mammoth recovery reluctantly agrees to bring on an old acquaintance to lead the expedition. But the teams would be leader is reluctant to join the expedition, still traumatized after a failed archeological recovery that ended in disaster years earlier.

    As the team leader struggles with his haunted past, he is reunited with a crew he has not seen in years. The reunion is bitter sweet in many ways as the team moves north with a dizzying array of equipment that should allow them to recover the priceless mammoth from the ice.

    But the dig uncovers more than anticipated with the mammoth body. And with this discovery, the dig faces dangers that no one could have anticipated. As the team struggles to come to grips with the true nature of their discovery, it is set upon by a small band of Inuit people who seem less than honest about their concern for the dig.

    The story unfolds in a fast paced series of action charged sequences that explains the history of the characters involved as they struggle to survive and escape the fate of the ancient Inuit woman from the stories open. As the story moves on, the reader becomes increasingly pulled into the story as the characters grow in breadth and become more and more compelling.

    This novel is as compelling as it is action packed. A work of science fiction that is engaging and captivating. And in typical Robinson fashion, it builds to a climax that alters the readers understanding of history as a whole. The secrets of the Canadian wasteland turn out to be much more far reaching than expected.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2006

    Raising the Past: A Novel

    Raising the past is the best book Robinson has written so far.I couldn't put it down until I was done and wanted to read it again. Great book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2014

    a great novel based in the frozen Canadian Arctic. diabolical pl

    a great novel based in the frozen Canadian Arctic.
    diabolical plots, deadly weather events, & some fearsome "baddies" shape this "chilling" thriller.
    one of Jeremy Robinson's early works that definitely helped shape him into the fantastic writer that he is.

    A+

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Love this authot!

    What journeys this author takes you on! Each book he writes keeps you on your toes and the action takes you to places that never get boring. Keep up the good work!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great

    Great book. Love Jeremy Robinson. Can't wait for more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2014

    I really enjoyed this story. It had a nice setting, believable a

    I really enjoyed this story. It had a nice setting, believable and interesting characters. Plus the sci-fi element that you come to expect from Robinson. I enjoyed the underlined love story that ran throughout the story that was subtle, rather than in your face, like some stories. I definitely recommend giving this book a read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1