Customer Reviews for

The Rake

Average Rating 4.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    love her books

    She is one of the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Read it twice.

    Read it twice - worth it both times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    So good

    I really liked the story. It was nice to have a well developed couple with a past. I did not want to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2012

    This is one of my favorite stories by Suzanne Enoch. Loved Tris

    This is one of my favorite stories by Suzanne Enoch. Loved Tristan and Georgiana and all of the borhters.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    Chapter 13

    The best.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Don't let the cover fool you

    I really wish that historical romance novels would have different covers. They get so ridiculous they turn one off from reading a book. I am glad I didn't let this silly cover keep me from meeting Tristan and Georgiana.

    Their relationship was delightful and it's always nice to read about a couple with history. I was a little curious as to what would make Tristan do what he did to Georgiana but one is glad to find his true reasons and intentions. Georgiana is no shy lady and I am so glad she was always breaking her fans on his nuckles. She was funny in all her plotting and I loved that Tristan was not a complete rake, just a little.

    The drama at the end seemed sort of unnecessary but I still rather enjoyed their story. Can't wait for Lucinda's and Evie's

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Missed this one.

    I had somehow missed Tristan's story. I really liked this book. It wasn't what I expected in a good way. I liked that the drama wasn't drug out for no reason. I liked both Georgie and Tristan as characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    "A promising start to the series, with delicious lessons in love!"

    Suzanne Enoch can be expected to deliver on a good story, yet what I like about The Rake is the numerous interactions between the main characters and how each learned to trust the other again. I like that Georgiana and Tristan talked and shared things, outside of the bedroom. The ending is wildly romantic, especially when Tristan made his proposal, when he laid all his cards on the table, vulnerable and hopeful. I like that both characters learned something about love and life and each other. Reviewed by Carole for The Raving Readers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2006

    ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL

    I can't say enough about this amazing book. I read it so many times that I had to buy a new copy after my first fell apart. The hero, Tristan Carroway, Lord Dare, is a man to die for - witty, charming, clever, handsome, and so much more. His relationship with his family melts the heart. His love for Georgiana, the heroine, is enviable. Their repartee is unequaled. You can't go wrong with this book. If you are a romance fan - this is an absolute must!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2002

    I'm impressed!

    This is the first Suzanne Enoch book I've read, but I'm definitely a convert. I read this book in one night, which isn't unusual with my favorite authors. Although the basis of the story is a little weak (she chooses someone she supposedly hates to teach a love lesson to), the overall effect is entirely engaging!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    entertaining escapist tale

    Georgina Halley, Lucinda Barrett, and Evelyn Ruddick discuss the arrogance of men with money. They agree to teach a particular lord how to care for a woman. At the soiree hosted by her aunt, Georgina selects Tristan Carroway when she observes him apparently mistreating innocent heiress Amelia Johns. Six years ago Tristan broke Georgina¿s heart and her virginity in a wager. Now she plans to make him fall in love with her before destroying him so that he crawls back on his knees to Amelia. <P>Georgina persuades Tristan¿s elderly aunts to allow her to move in as their companion. This stuns him to see her blithely sitting at the dinner table. Separately Georgina and Tristan think back to that dumb bet of his that cost both of them everything. He regrets what he did to her, but now he needs money to keep the estate and his family afloat. Georgina is wealthy, but he must stick with Amelia who is also rich. However, both begin teaching the other a lesson in love, but an abundance of pride stands in the way of a future together. <P>An entertaining escapist tale based on a weak premise turns into a fun frolic because of the strong eccentric cast. Besides the delightful battling lead couple, his family provides amusing depth to THE RAKE, but Amelia subtracts from the triangle, as she is just a nasty work. Fans of Regency romances will enjoy Suzanne Enoch¿s first With This Ring tale and want to read the upcoming stories starring Lucinda and Evelyn. <P>Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3