Customer Reviews for

Raked Over

Average Rating 3.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

SMB : > WONDERFUL

Great characters. I especialy like that Lily is older and not a professional sleuth. Plot was interesting with lots of twists. Only negative is that there are no more books available on Nook by this author. Hope this changes soon.

posted by Anonymous on May 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

!

Thanks to ad for the heads up that this book is about gays. I wish bn would put a disclaimer on the overview about this. This type of book is offensive is some.

posted by 8888649 on May 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    !

    Thanks to ad for the heads up that this book is about gays. I wish bn would put a disclaimer on the overview about this. This type of book is offensive is some.

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Confusing

    I read for enjoyment not to read about politics - also I don't knowingly buy books with gay/lesbians - not my cup of tea, no matter how much it is forced on all of us.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    SMB : > WONDERFUL

    Great characters. I especialy like that Lily is older and not a professional sleuth. Plot was interesting with lots of twists. Only negative is that there are no more books available on Nook by this author. Hope this changes soon.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    While it did have a lot of references to music and the main cha

    While it did have a lot of references to music and the main character is a lesbian, who cares! Raked Over was still a great book. It had humor and kept me turning the page to find out what happens next. I would definitely read another book by this author.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    read it in one sitting

    Kept my interest, a little slow at the beginning.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    580 pages long

    This book is about 590 pages long. The grammer is horrific. The punctuation isn't much better. The main character, Lily is a lesbian. She is a fiftyish, overweight woman, who owns her own landscape business. This book seemed to focus on the music preferences of the characters more than anything else. I got tired of reading about what was playing on the radio, cds, or stereo, now or in the past. If references to music, name calling and cursing were left out, this book would be about a hundred pages shorter. This book has a lot of characters. If you read it, mske a list of who's who, you will need it to keep everyone straight. There is a lot of violence in this novel. Some of it is very descriptive. There is no sex. A lot of the characters are gay. The plot is convoluted. It was easy to figure out whodunit, not so easy to figure out why. For adult readers of both sexes. This book was hard to get into and did not hold my attention very well. It is set in Colorado, but the heroine, Lily, drives drives all over the place including New Mexico, trying to find clues to her friend's death.

    AD

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    I liked this book! Interesting characters, clever little plot tw

    I liked this book! Interesting characters, clever little plot twists, inviting descriptions, and funny. It was hard to put down because it kept me involved in the story and characters, and I wanted to see who done it. Now I want to buy the soundtrack, too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    I was looking forward to a light-hearted mystery with Raked Over

    I was looking forward to a light-hearted mystery with Raked Over, but was disappointed to find it laced with petty anti-Christian & anti-conservative jabs. Lily went from describing the preacher as “a sweating man in a shiny tan suit…” to stating “the man started going on about GOD-dah and Our Lord-dah and how everyone’s a sinner… I couldn’t stand it. I needed air.”

    A few chapters later, Hannah states. “Seriously, Lily, that preacher guy had me convinced I was sitting in hell that very moment.”

    Later, she visited the dead girl’s great aunt, Bernice. Bernice is described as a whacky church-goer who collects plastic knickknacks. When speaking with her, Lily thinks, “I thought I’d try one more tactic to stop the Jesus tirade.”

    Bernice’s “crotchety” neighbor, from whom Lily is trying to get info, enthusiastically voices his support for a congressional candidate who’s “too right wing” for Lily. Then she stereotypes conservatives in describing the candidate (even though this is a total diversion from the mystery) with, “One way he sought political power was by demonizing immigrants and stirring up xenophobic fear. His idea of supporting his rights usually meant stepping on others’ rights.”

    Whether or not one agrees with these derogatory sentiments is irrelevant. The fact that these “preachy” comments (pun intended) are there is distracting and does nothing to further the mystery. Such comments only serve to diss half her readership.

    It’s quite a shame because the mystery portion has me intrigued. I’ve managed to get through a scant ¼ of the book, but don’t think I will continue to force myself to bear with the distorted, hateful stereotypes.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Ok

    Interesting plot. Unfortunately, author promoted lots of political agendas throughout ( immigration, NRA are only two of many.) What was the point of anti NRA since characters who saved key character has guns?

    Lesbian warning altho no sex, however, it's bantered about with excessive rough language, violence, and rambling.

    It took me a while to slog through due to rambling. Unfortunately, key clues were hidden within the ramble, plus i figured out the clues way in advance. Some nice twists tho.

    Good Southwest imagery and interesting landscape references.

    Did like the fact that female work nemesis was eventually reaping payback rewards. The LGBT stuff, tho mild, wasn't really necessary and seemed surfacey as the author tried to make it all appear folksy and andy of mayberryish. Men were portrayed as ridiculous with "shoot em in the privates" references. (my phraseology - the book's were of course crude)

    Lots of inconsequential characters. Reminded me of an inexperienced Rita Mae Brown in some ways (the pets, smart older characters).

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Grrat

    Realy enjoyrd this book. Would highly recommend

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    "Raked Over" is a treat! The plot grabbed me--couldn't

    "Raked Over" is a treat! The plot grabbed me--couldn't put it down--and the interesting characters kept me involved to the end. Loved the details of the music and landscape, and want more of the main character, Lily Raffenport!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1