Customer Reviews for

Rakkety Tam (Redwall Series #17)

Average Rating 4.5
( 99 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2007

    Must Read

    This has to be one of the most amazing books Brian Jacques has ever written. It is filled with a mixture of war, adventure, honor and love (kid-friendly of course). If you want to read one of Brian Jacques finest books, here it is.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2006

    Absoballylutely splendiferous, wot wot!

    Brian Jacques is the best book writer. I have read all of his books, and this one tops it. When Gulo the Savage steals and massacres a community, Rakkety Tam and Doogy Plumm go after him to resign from their leigelords control. Soon they must save two redwall maids from Gulo's vermin. Accompanied by hares of the Long Patrol they set out to save Redwall Abbey.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2006

    This is a smart, fun thrill ride with kind people, cracking villains and a thrilling final battle.

    Those are the things a good book needs! Not to mention all the glorious feasts! (Brian Jaques now has a Redwall Cookbook out, and now I can't get enough of Redwall cuisine!) This is a good book for fantasy geeks, strategy geeks (like me,) and charming animal tales alike. Admittedly it is a little violent, but if you have ever seen S.W.A.T. then I think you won't be bothered.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2006

    A Fan of Redwall

    OHH MY GOSH! This book is the best book i've ever read (and I'm fifteen by the way). The story is full of action, suspense, and a awesome epic fight between Raketty Tam and Gulo the Savage. I still give it five stars but please Brian Jacques make the books at least 100 pages longer because the book is over before it begins. Having said that even though it is a little short I will re-read it over and over again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2006

    Rakkey Tam McBurl

    In a riptide of thrilling actions and events, Brian Jacques has succeeded in creating a most intriguing and exciting tale, his style obviously apparent in one of my favorite of the Redwall series. The comical hares, wise moles, limber squirrels, and a large host of other woodland creatures return to deliver comic relief to a thoroughly breathtaking adventure. I loved how Gulo's savage ways contrasted with the warrior's honor that Doogy and Tam possess, and how the woodlanders' wit was used extensively to defeat the invading forces of evil.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    very good book

    The peace and security of Mossflower Country and Redwall Abbey is threatened by the most vicious adversary since the time of the legendary Martin the Warrior. From the frozen northern wastelands, cannibal Gulo the Savage and his vermin cohorts pursue his brother, Askor. Askor has stolen the symbol of power, the Walking Stone, for which Gulo murdered their father. Gulo and his horde find Mossflower's woods and its creatures much to their "taste" as they pillage and devour all in their path. But there is help from the highlands-soldier of fortune Rakkety Tam MacBurl and his valiant companion, Wild Doogy Plumm, will march with the hares of the fabled Long Patrol Regiment, wielding the sword of Martin as Redwall's newest champions.The peace and security of Mossflower Country and Redwall Abbey is threatened by the most vicious adversary since the time of the legendary Martin the Warrior. From the frozen northern wastelands, cannibal Gulo the Savage and his vermin cohorts pursue his brother, Askor. Askor has stolen the symbol of power, the Walking Stone, for which Gulo murdered their father. Gulo and his horde find Mossflower's woods and its creatures much to their "taste" as they pillage and devour all in their path. But there is help from the highlands-soldier of fortune Rakkety Tam MacBurl and his valiant companion, Wild Doogy Plumm, will march with the hares of the fabled Long Patrol Regiment, wielding the sword of Martin as Redwall's newest champions.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2006

    The drums are beatin' braw

    I've read every one of the Redwall books (as of Jan/06) and although I adore all of them, Rakkety Tam really stands out as one of the best books I've read. Period. It's well balanced, action-packed, great characters and the usual Jacques' touch! I really suggest this for anyone just starting out with Redwall!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2005

    Excellent Reading

    This is an excellent book for children and adults. The writing is wonderful and very expressive. This is the first audiobook that I have listened to by this author and I will definitely listen to more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2005

    Rakkety Tam

    Brian Jacques will have quite a time topping himself after writing Rakkety Tam. Undoubtedly my favourite book in the series! (so far) I always have found the hare officers hilarious, and Sergeant Wonwill especially lived up to my expectations. Rakkety Tam and Doogey Plumm (both squirrels) make quite the pair! Doogey and Ferdimond the Hare are head-butting until Sergenat Wonwill has them box it out (wot wot). I'm not going to tell you how the match ends. Sister Armel and Rakkety Tam (for all you Redwall readers) are almost as Cornflower and Matthias, only the relationship is not quite so obvious at first! Jacques depicted the relationship well! Yoofus Lightpaw is Gonff gone bad, and all the other creatures add to the story positively in one form or another even the villians as there would be no story without them! I enjoyed the entire book. Brian Jacques' books keep getting better! If you don't already crave Brian Jacques' Books, You'll be hooked on Rakkety Tam! ~Matt

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2005

    AAAWWWWWSSSOOOMMME.

    I'm 24 and I've read all of his books and I can't wait for more. Brian Jacques is one of the best authors I have come across.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2005

    Best Redwall Book Yet!

    I love this as much, if not more than 'Mossflower' & 'Redwall' my 2 all time favorites. I loved all of the characters (Except the evil ones, of course), and Doogey Plumm was so funny!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2004

    Rakkety Tam is the BEST!!

    I looove Rakkety Tam. It is Brian Jacques best book. My favrite charecters are Wonwill, Rakkety Tam, Wild Doogy Plumm, Armel and many many others. I was so glad that this story is out now after all the suspence. Haway the brae!!! Redwall!!!Eulalia!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2004

    Great Book!

    I loved this book! Although it wasn't as good as my personal favorite (Martin the Warrior)it was still and outstanding book. I absolutely loved the characters, they were so cool. The story makes you want to jump right into the book with them. I recommend this book to everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2004

    Best Book Ever!!!!

    Rakkety Tam is now my new favorite book! I used to think Taggerung was the best but now I think Rakkety Tam is 5 times as good. I recommend this book to every one, although some parts are kind of gross.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2004

    Great addition

    This series is unbelievable. It contains some of the best characters and i highly recommend trying the series out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2004

    Awesome truly specatacular

    A wonderfull book full of wonderous things.Excitement and passion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2004

    The Best Redwall Book Yet!

    I mean it, this latest book in Brian Jacques's Redwall series is THE BEST!!! I love all of the characters, definately Jacques's most loveable cast. Doogy and, especially, Tam are the best characters ever!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2004

    One of the best in the series

    wow....i was quite impressed with this...i went into it with caution for the last couple of books by Brian Jacques were..not his best. but i was completely blown away...Rakkety Tam has serious potential to rival his earlier classics like Martin the Warrior and Mariel of Redwall....though nothing can touch The Long Patrol(my personal fave:) i highly recommed this....i am 15 going on 16 and...yes...i still read the redwall series because it takes me away from the real world for a bit and leaves me wanting more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2004

    I can't wait!!!!!!!

    I have been waiting a year for rakkety Tam to come out (basically since i finished Loamhedge). This one looks to be a great addition to the excellent redwall series..... I just wish they were longer. I finish books like this in a day, but it would be nice to find a book that it would take me a week to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2004

    I read anything and everything

    As soon as I read the title I knew it would be one of my faviorites. I can't wait until it comes out!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5