BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Rama II (Rama Series #2)

Average Rating 3.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Rama 2

    Great work to read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    not really recommended

    This book is the second in a series about a second huge alien, unpopulated spaceship (Rama II) that is wending its way through our solar system (and then out again)and then is investigated by a much smaller spaceship of humans. The first book, Rendez-vous with Rama, was an excellent space adventure thriller by Clarke. The second book, Rama II, was written with a co-author Gentry Lee, and was more a socio-psychological study of the crew with very little adventure or science fiction involved. I haven't read Rama III or Rama IV but I wouldn't waste my money on them after reading Rama II.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2008

    Garden of Rama/Rama Revealed are coming!

    This book is a little 'not there'. There is so much explanation of the inside of Rama that it takes a lot of time and imagination to try to make it out and keep it in perspective. However, Nicole des Jardins does play the pivitol role in the next two books. I read this book quite some time ago and just went back to reread some of it to better understand The Garden of Rama. The Garden of Rama is fantastic - I can't say enough about it. The imagination that went into it is nothing I have ever read before. I have just started Rama Revealed so I can't comment on that yet. But keep going and read at least Garden of Rama - you won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2006

    Book two in awesome series

    It's tough to follow up a novel like the original 'Rama'. Arthur C. Clarke does so very well, although there are setbacks in annoying characters and lengthy character development that takes up most of the pages. On the bright side, we are introduced to Nicole des Jardins, who becomes the pivotal figure in the later books. She is Clarke's most respectable hero/heroine, in my opinion. This book is a necessary staple in the Rama series and sets the stage for the next two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2004

    Disappointing

    This as just a terrible book. It had a few good moments, but overall is poorly written. As a long time fan of Clarke's work I was surprised and dismayed. The story and character development is rather haphazard. Rama is more a backdrop in this book for socialogical drivel. The story focuses on several things that never really culminate. Plot points are developed to an unnecessary degree and then just abandoned with no resolution. I think at this point I am done with this series judging by the reviews of the remaining books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2004

    Description makes for action-packed book.

    Clark, Arthur C. Rama 2. New York: Bantam, 1980. ¿Rama 2¿ is about an alien space craft that enters our solar system. At first everyone thinks that it is an asteroid but they find that it is so symmetrically perfect that it can¿t be. Earth sends astronauts, scientists and, mathematicians to explore this alien craft. When they explore the craft, they find that it is actually an uninhabited world. ¿Rama 2¿ is well-written. It keeps readers attention throughout the story. Clark uses big descriptive words through out the book which in turn makes for a good action-packed book. The words carry a lot of meaning and this makes it less boring to read. This book is one of four in the Rama series and it makes you want to read the rest of the series. Clark does a very good job in making this series because each book is long but full of action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2003

    If you are an Arthur C. Clarke fan pass this one up!

    Warning! This book was written mostly by Gentry Lee, with only a few good bits here and there by good old ACC. You will find very little of the awe and wonder of the original book here. What you will find is page after mind-numbing page of 'character developement'. Minute details of dreams certain characters had as children, dishwater-dull dinner parties, long drawn out phylosophical discussions, and endless petty bickering among the crew of the new exploration party. In the first Rama book, ACC showed us the fantastic world of the alien vessle. In this book Gentry Lee shows us that despite his excelent hard-science background, he isn't really interested in science fiction, but would rather write political commentaries. If you liked Gentry Lee's first colaboration with ACC, 'Cradle', you should love this book. If you are looking for the magic we all expect of Arthur C. Clarke, leave this one on the shelf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2003

    Wonderful!

    This is a wonderful book that gave me the chills in many places. One of the best books I've read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2000

    U must read it

    What can I say about Rama II, well this is very nice book. If U are a scifi lover, then U must read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1