Customer Reviews for

Rammer Jammer Yellow Hammer: A Journey into the Heart of Fan Mania

Average Rating 4.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Death

    Okay

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must for Fans of All Sports

    My name is Daniel, and I am a student at Hewitt-Trussville High School in Alabama. The book "Rammer Jammer Yellow Hammer" is a great book not only for Alabama fans but for anyone that enjoys sports. The book chronicles the experiences of an Alabama fan that follows the team around for a season in an RV. He describes many of the most dedicated fans he meets, including a family from South Carolina, a rich chicken farmer, and a ticket broker. He also discusses some of the psychology behind fandom and what makes people act so differently at a sporting event. The book was a fairly easy read. It is very humorous throughout, and keeps your attention. You do not necessarily have to be a Bama fan to appreciate many of the stories and people he meets. I personally am a Crimson Tide fan who has attended several games, and can relate with some of his experiences. That made the book more enjoyable for me, but any average fan would find it interesting as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2009

    This book was Awesome

    I want to start by saying that this was the perfect book for any Alabama football fan. And actually you dont have to be an Alabama football fan to like this book. Warren St. John did a great job of documenting his crazy times and ups and downs of Fan mania. He actually had me remembering times of when I cried after Alabama lost to Utah in that heart breaking loss in the sugar Bowl. I love how he went through so much trouble to document the perfect story .He also did a great job of finding the absolute craziest Alabama fans. I thought I was a big Alabama fan but then I read about the guy that missed his daughters wedding for a football game, I cant say I wouldn't do the same but he actually went through with it. Also the chicken put my Faness to shame by buying that million dollar RV so he could tailgate at the Alabama games in complete luxury. He also surprisingly did a good job of Documenting the football games too. He gave almost a play by play description of each game except for the Mississippi state game but its not like that will make a huge difference. He also pointed out some good eating spots for when you go to an Alabama football game. Such as the crimson breakfast bar where they serve Alabama shaped A pancakes on game day. I loved the book and I enjoyed hime documenting fans from rich people to poor people and crazy people to regular people. I loved this book. Roll Tide.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book

    Rammer Jammer Yellow Hammer by Warren St. John is about the true meaning of being a sports fan. St. John begins by telling personal stories about his love for sports. In college, he decides to write a book about the nature of real fans. St. John begins riding with Alabama fans that follow the football team to all their games in RVs. This book has many funny and interesting stories about his encounters with these fans.<BR/> I really enjoyed the stories that he has to offer throughout the book. I also appreciate how much research St. John had to do in order to create this work. St. John has the exceptional ability to paint a picture of his journey. He tells some very funny and intriguing stories. This book was able to capture my attention and make me want to read for long periods of time. I can¿t really think of anything I disliked about this book.<BR/> I think that this book would be great for all those sports fans out there. This book is not about the game itself, but more about how we as fans react. This book points out that we as sports fans can somehow allow our emotions to change because of the outcome of a game that we have no connection with. This was probably one of my favorite books that I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2007

    a sports fans dream book

    This was a great book. Being an avid sports fan i can totally relate to this book. The thing about this book that I really enjoyed was that Warren St. John didn't exagerate the facts at all. This was a very real book. When St. John talked about the couple who skipped their daughters wedding to go to a game I even thought that was a little far-fetched then i thought about it and realized I know some people that are like that. I know that this probably isn't the book for everyone but I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2006

    Great Read!

    Rammer Jammer Yellow Hammer is the story of Warren St. John's trip through 'fan mania'. He travels with the Alabama Tide's RV'ers to every game trying to understand where the passion for football comes from. Passion is a major theme displayed throughout the book. The fans have undying support for the team and they typically attend every game. Another theme is the team's perservance to always achieve more. Even in times of loss the team always strives to be more. The team faces trials and tribulations. I really liked this book. It incorporates history, tradition and today in one novel. I did not like how St. John put so much detail into every event. It gets a little excessive. You should read this for a light hearted fun book. I give this book four stars. It is a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2004

    Great insight into the dedication of fans like us!

    Rammer....Is a fantastic look into the dedication of Alabama Crimson Tide faithful and provokes the feeling that many of us have for our college teams. The author takes a simple subject, fans and their dedication, and turns it into a great reality tour and lives the dream! This book is for anyone that has a great love and passion for college football. Well researched and creative, Rammer has a solid cast of characters that are easy to relate to, and is peppered with humor. It's the perfect read during college football season, and I couldn't put the book down. A perfect mix of game descriptions through a 'Bama season and the events leading up to each game...It makes you want to go out and do it yourself, just like the author did, as you'll find out just how much by reading Rammer Jammer Yellow Hammer! Great book, and with incredible description-and highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2004

    I enjoyed it !!!

    I found the book to be a quick and enjoyable read. I found myself laughing out loud several times. The Tide have become my second favorite college team. Go Irish!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2004

    Amazingly True

    From the moment I opened the book i was amazed by the fact that St. John could combine history, opinion, and traditon so easily. The best thing about this novel is the fact that everything that Warren says is how it is. I actually know one of the football fanatics he describes... amazing huh?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2004

    Giving Fans a Voice

    St. John has really accomplished something here. He has given fans a voice and non-fans an explanation. Answering the question every fan has asked at some point, 'why do I care so much,' RJYH is a funny, poignant and intelligent discussion about fans. Anyone who loves a sports team will love this book, and anyone who loves a fan needs to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2004

    A masterpiece

    I bought this book because I read a New York Times review comparing it to Fever Pitch by Nick Hornby, one of my favorite sports books of all times. I didn't know what to expect because it was hard to see how a book about driving RVs to football games could compare to a memoir about being a soccer fan, but I was blown away for several reasons. First of all the book is hilarious without being cliched or unsympathetic towards the characters, some of whom are lets face it, pretty crazy southern country folks. Secondly the writing is like ten notches above the writing of most football books. Thirdly, like Fever Pitch it totally opened my eyes to the experience of what I go through as a fan. With both books I had the feeling that the authors were writing about things I experienced even though I wasn't there myself. I found that pretty impressive because I'm not a soccer fan or a college football fan, at least not in the major obsessed sense. So if you are the type of fan who is curious about the whole experience of being a fan and also who likes to laugh, you will love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2004

    Loved it!

    I am extremely attention deficit and can't pay attention to any.....wait, what was that on TV? Anyhow, for me to sit down and finish a book in one sitting means it has to be very very good. I imagined myself as one of those guys years from now when I can retire and can follow my team around the country.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2004

    I am curious, yellow

    Yawn. Same old cardboard cut-outs of rednecks and low-lifes TV soap operas serve up every day. Warren St. John covers little ground not already well turned over by John Madden's 'Ultimate Tailgating,' and other books about regional parking lot parties at football games. I would have given it one star if it didn't talk about Bama.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2004

    Be on guard for blackwater seals

    This account of Alabama football is a cautionary tale for RV owners, especially those considering buying a used Allegro. Breakdowns, repairs and maintenance are much a part of RVing as Warren St. John shows so well describing the black water spills and annoying electrical glitches he encountered. As the old saying goes: If it has wheels, it's going to have to be fixed, and if it has a sewage tank, it's going to have leaks. My advice for newbies is always to start with a mechanically sound RV, and you can live with the creature discomforts, and make sure you keep a good repair manual by your side. Warren shelled out $5,500 for his Allegro, which was a generous price for 1978, but he's not retired like us who don't have a salary from the New York Times and need those extra dollars. He put another $1,200 into making the Allegro roadworthy. Anyone in the park could have told him that's hardly enough to prevent the emergencies and breakdowns on the way to games. He got frustrated when the Allegro broke down in Mississippi, but the whole idea of leisurely RV travel is to do it at your own pace, and my advice is he should allow extra time to get there so he can take care of life's little problems. My wife looked at the book for recipes but couldn't find any she could use. I tried the Bama Bomb and I liked that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2004

    Genuine, funny, for everyone

    As a casual sports fan whose allegiances run shallow, except for the Army-Navy game, I was surprised to find the pages of Rammer Jammer Yellow Hammer turning faster and faster as the story of one crazy fan¿s RV adventure following Alabama football consumed my weekend. I shook my head at the rich characters, knowing more than my fair share of the types, laughed at the glorious mishaps and jokes, read out great lines to folks who wonder what the hubbub was all about, commiserated with the losses, and even at times questioned where I went to school and the teams I long ago rooted for . . . and yes, by the end of the weekend I was speaking with a slight southern twang. An excellent, well-written book for a great read that would appeal to any one interested in human nature, with a love for life, and a hearty funny bone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2004

    The best sports book I have ever read.

    A really good book for anyone who considers him or herself a 'Fan', a great book if you are a Alabama Crimson Tide Football Fan. The book takes you on a journey through an entire college football season in 1999 with the traveling gang of 800 RV,s as they go cross country from game to game. The writer looks into the psychology of what it means to be a sports fan. Very funny and entertaining to the end. I read this book in about 8 hours over two days, something I very rarely do. A fun non-fiction roller coaster ride!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2004

    I was worried how this would develop...

    As a writer and an Alabama alumnus myself, I admit I was a bit concerned when I first met Warren St. John in the RV lot before one of the games he tells about in this book. Concerned on two accounts. First worry: he seemed to be a nice enough fellow, but he did work for the NY Times. That's the way he was invariably introduced to everyone in the lot, sort of like politely pointing out a slightly addled third cousin at a family reunion. I assumed he would come at us serious college football fans (read: 'crazy as a loon') from the usual perspective. You know: rubes bearing rolls of toilet paper and a Tide detergent box impaled on a 'plumber's friend.' screaming crimson-tinged obscenities at anyone ignorant enough to root for anybody else. Either that or, coming from where he did, he would miss the whole point, that these folks may act a bit peculiar when they pull their RVs into the Law Library lot on Wednesday before a Saturday game, but they are mostly salt-of-the-earth types, people you are proud to have in your army, just like millions of other folks who color their lives in pursuit of pastimes or allegiances that seem absolutely goofy to most of the rest of us right-thinking intellectuals. Certainly no different from rabid Red Sox or Cubs fans, the Dawg Pound in Cleveland or the crazies who show up for Raider games. Just different in the color of our face-paint and the poetry of our cheers. Our poison just happens to be 18-year-old young men on a college football field who proudly sweat and bleed while wearing our school colors. But then, it turns out that St. John is one of us. He understands. And yet he is a good enough reporter to tell the truth about us, warts and all, and do it in an informative and entertaining way. There's the rub. As a writer, I'm damned envious. Man, this guy can put us right in the middle of a tailgate party, a fourth-and-goal with the clock running down, or a scholarly dissertation on the nature of fandom in ancient Rome as it applies to college sports and make it all read like a lazy conversation over a Coors Light at a bar on the Tuscaloosa strip. St. John had me hooked right up front when he described Bear Bryant's 'old growth stature.' Bingo! That's a goodie! This, by the way, is not a college football book. No more than HUCK FINN is a book about a raft. This is a very funny, sometimes serious, often moving, and an always entertaining examination of a phenomenon that surprisingly few have really tried to dissect before. I hope it helps others see why we do the things we do in the name of our beloved Crimson Tide, or whoever 'our team' happens to be. Or gives us better insight into the psyches of the fans of the Red Sox, Cubs, Browns, and Raiders. Maybe even a glimpse into the thought processes of those poor, misguided souls who pull for the Tennessee Vols or Auburn Tigers. No. Belay that. That would be asking too much of any book or writer. Thanks, Warren. You took the ball over the top, into the end zone, and we're huggin' and high-fivin' and lettin' loose a rousing rendition of Rammer Jammer that they'll hear all the way to wherever we tee up the ball next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2